We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and magic place for a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pensao Residencial Policarpo
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It may not seem the most beautiful hotel, but there is something special in its atmosphere... The hotel is in 17th-century building and you can actually feel it!
The rooms are little (our was) and simple, but still very clean and comfortable.

It's located right in the Old Town of Evora, although a bit difficult to find. Room rate includes breakfast. Free hotel parking is a great bonus for those travelling by car, as there is limited parking space in the Old Town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kspr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

This 16th century Nobleman's mansion was our favorite place to stay. Finding it was hard tho and the parking lot was tiny ( but free) The room was simple and had a tiny deck. Breakfast was good and sat on the terrace. The staff was very helpful when we were looking for a place to have dinner.

Room Tip: We faced the parking lot and it was quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank champion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very hard to find by car and parking is very tight. Not every room has good WiFi access (202 didn't but the "cyber room" is close and has hi speed). There are lots of stairs and I think they prefer you don't roll your luggage up the ancient stone steps. Everything else was positive. Monique at the front desk was great and had excellent suggestions for eating, including where to go if you preferred to have something before the usual late hour. Standard fare for breakfast but very good quality and all the coffee you want. Our room with a toilet and tiny shower was roomy, super clean and had some really nice furniture. Perfect location (once you find it).

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent a night in Pensao Policarpo in Evora during our trip through the Iberian Peninsula in September. It's a cosy, little, historic place in the heart of the Old Town.
As such it doesn't offer all the modern facilities; instead, there is this unforgettable atmosphere of staying in a centuries old place with a soul of its own.
The rooms offer adequate comfort and the front desk service is great. There is also breakfast provided, free Wifi (not everywhere as thick walls screen the signal but for sure in the common areas) and parking which is a big advantage given the location.
All in all the feeling is of visiting one's grandma rather than staying in a hotel. Definitely reccommendable for all those who seek something different than another chain hotel :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PiotrM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed one night here and I can tell you the rooms are clean, fast wifi, (no air con though) , they have on site parking which is great in this cute small town and they offer a nice little free breakfast in the morning (bread, ham, cheese, jams, cereal, fruit coffee and juice). The location is excellent and you walk all the sites in this town within 10-15 minutes from here. Where they really shine is with their staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and even spoke English pretty well. We would have stayed here longer if our schedule allowed it. Nice stay for a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LanaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Wonderful accomodation and hospitality at this delightful hotel located within walled town of Evora.An old medieval building run by the same family for many centuries.I spent two days there and got a real good feel for the relaxed atmosphere and beauty of the place.I had a fantastic luck to meet the owner, a charismatic man speaking fluently three or four languages.The polyglote staff was extremely friendly .
The room was simple but very clean, excellent price for the location.The bathroom was very modern, well equipped.Breakfast was good;I enjoyed it on a terrace with a splendid view.I could not get the wireless internet from my room but I could from the sitting room next to the lobby or on the outside terrace.
Very interesting decoration;I loved the paintings and fado music in the background.Everything was perfect.I hope to stay again one day in this place.It was impossible to see megalithic area.European Championship destroyed my plans, the trip was cancelled.
Finally, a hotel with a good signage, lugging suitcases through the town is not a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was very good value for the cost. Friendly, very helpful in our quest to visit a winery (without having a car), clean, great location, good breakfast, secure (2 female travelers). In our indecisiveness over the whole wine tour we actually checked out in the morning and ended up checking back in for another night. They acted as if it was no trouble at all. I would recommend this place and we would return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenofiretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.5 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.6 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
998 reviews
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
0.0 mi away
The Noble House
The Noble House
#14 of 26 in Evora
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Residencial Policarpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Policarpo

Address: Rua da Freiria de Baixo 16, Evora 7000-898, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#11 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $75 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pensao Residencial Policarpo 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PENSÃO Residencial POLICARPO occupies a building dating from the end of the 16th century, which was in earlier times the manor house of the Counts of Lousã.This noble house has an imposing principal façade which faces south, and thus offers an impressive panorama over the Alentejan plain.On the other side, the house opens on to a small patio, giving direct access to the reception.A very visible architectural feature is the fact that the house bestrides the ancient Roman wall.These elements, together with the fact that the Counts of Lousã’s manor house has provided hotel accommodation for over 70 years under the direction and management of the POLICARPO family, who has always emphasized a familiar ambiance and conviviality, based on the authenticity of this special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Pensao Residencial Policarpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Policarpo Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing