We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location close to EVora's Historic Sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
M'AR De AR Muralhas
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a very stylish hotel within 5 minutes walk of the central square and 10 minutes of the Temple of Diana. It has a very pleasant exterior overlooking pool and gardens with the high walls keeping any traffic noise at bay.

All public areas were comfortable and the staff attentive and pleasant. Breakfast covered everything from cereal, fruit, toast, bacon, eggs, etc., the same each day but you certainly had plenty of choice within that. Meal and drink prices are not excessive for the standard of the hotel.

The single most annoying aspect was the charging for internet access in rooms. It is free in public areas but they charge outside of that. I stayed here as part of a group, but it would be the one single thing that would make me think twice about staying there again as an individual.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking garden/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrillyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 888 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We've stayed two nights last week.

Everything would be more than decent if I hadn't paid 85 euro a night in Evora, Portugal.

At this price, I find the wardrobe quite cheap, there was some dust under the beds, the beds were bouncy, and the paying access to Internet has a bitter taste.

Otherwise, perfect location, nice view and and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shinken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel as an over night stop during our drive back to the UK. We were not disappointed. We arrived in the pouring rain to a very friendly welcome from Reception and an early offer to move our car to the underground car park which we readily accepted. The Moorish/North African lobby is very welcoming as are all the public areas and having regard to how cold it was outside the whole hotel was very warm. The evening meal menu that was included in the over night price was very good as was the food and its presentation. The table service was attentive but not intrusive. Whilst others have commented that the breakfast could have offered more we found it to be very adequate, particularly as this was also included in the over night price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Meldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at MAR De AR Muralhas with my partner for one night on the 16th March 2013, room 231. The hotel is located close to one of the city’s fortress doors, right next to the city wall (Muralhas means Wall, in Portuguese). It’s a 5 minute stroll to Évora’s city centre, Giraldo Square (Praça do Giraldo).
This is a 4-star hotel, quite a large 2 storey building, yet uninspiring and quite bland from the outside. I suppose this was on purpose, to reduce as much as possible the hotel’s visual impact on the city’s landscape of white-washed small buildings. The hotel has a small garden and an outdoor swimming pool (which we didn’t use, as it was cold and raining).
My impressions are:
Things I thought could be improved:
Nothing much, actually; just a few issues:
- No free Wi-Fi in the rooms, but available in the common areas. Unfortunately, this is quite common in Portugal. I don’t see how extending Wi-Fi availability to the rooms would bring a major loss to the hotel (if that’s the reason). Definitely, a big NO!
- There was a humming noise, probably from the ventilation, which was unnoticed when the TV was on or when talking, but was rather annoying when everything else was silent. It basically ruined our afternoon nap (. The hotel seems to be aware of this, because the noise disappeared at night and came back in the morning (around 10.30 am). Again, it doesn’t ruin your night’s sleep, but can get on one’s nerves during the day.
- Just after our arrival (around 4.30 pm) we noticed that someone had left a tray with a left over sandwich and drink on a sofa next to the lift on the second floor. When we left the following day, around midday, the tray was still in the same place, untouched. This doesn’t say many nice things about the hotel’s housekeeping. A needless spot on an otherwise excellent service;
- The room’s wardrobe looked cheap and old inside. Of course, the doors covered this up, but I don’t think it would be too costly to correct this;
Things I liked:
+ The reception staff was very friendly and professional, making for a quick check-in and check-out. We felt welcome, even on the way out!
+ The room was quite nice, with a rustic, fresh décor, typical of this region of Portugal (Alentejo). All details seemed to have been considered: the TV was white and perfectly integrated in the room’s atmosphere; the bathroom had a cute divide for the bidet and wc, etc.
+ Despite the room’s stone floor and the cold weather outside, the room was really warm (very warm indeed, we had to reduce the temperature), which was great and contributed to the general “coziness” feeling;
+ What called immediately our attention when we entered the room was the smell: it smelled clean and fresh. In fact cleanliness was one of the hotel’s main features (except for a certain tray with leftovers…);
+ The rooms seem to be extremely well sound proofed. We could see at breakfast that there were a lot of guests in the hotel, including a large group. However, we couldn’t hear a thing in our room and had a very quiet night (the humming noise had gone, too);
+ The common areas are nice and particularly the bar B’AR is cozy and welcoming;
+ Breakfast is plentiful and with a good selection of fruits, cereals, local delicatessen, eggs, sausages, etc. Staff is friendly.

All in all, we quite liked our stay at MAR De AR Muralhas. The hotel is a good base to explore the Évora region, which won’t take you more than 2 or 3 days, at a very relaxed pace. Considering that you’ll probably be out of the hotel most of the day, the Wi-Fi “problem” is not too bad (nor the trays lying around…).
At € 79 B&B per night the double room, plus the friendly service and comfort, makes this is a very good value for money option to which I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulolisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We've stayed one night, during winter. The room was confortable, with a balcony and view to the swimming pool and the city walls. Its pretty much the standard new hotel with one or two details related to the surroundings.
The breakfast was good, but I expected more varity.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pipas365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent the night here in late December having taken the train from Lisbon. Has a wonderful feel in the lobby, very Moorish / North African, large room w/ a great terrace. Helpful service. Easy walk to the sights in town. Nice restaurant, good menu and food. Nice, cozy bar area. 5 minute cab ride from the train station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlieinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Friendly helpful staff and clean. Some of the furniture in rooms due for a makeover and not really a 4* more like a 3*. A little expensive for what you get. All standard rooms similar as we saw a few.
Noisy air con not possible for us to sleep with air con working.
Breakfast nothing special not up to usual 4* breakfasts.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chunkyMONKEY52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 26 in Evora
1,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M'AR De AR Muralhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M'AR De AR Muralhas

Address: Travessa da Palmeira 4 | ex. Hotel da Cartuxa, Evora 7000-546, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Evora
#6 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#8 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $78 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — M'AR De AR Muralhas 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your M'AR De AR Muralhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m`Ar De Ar Muralhas Hotel
m Ar De Muralhas Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing