We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
M'AR De AR Muralhas
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Central Hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a room with the view of the city walls and garden.

We found the hotel staff very helpfull

The room was clean, comfortable and a decent size

I am being a bit picky the room did need repainting, there was a bit too much chipped paint work.

The main square is 5 mins walk away

If you are driving it is easy to findto the hotel and there is good size underground carpark

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    391
    95
    20
    10
See reviews for
241
371
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night, it was average. The staff are a OK, but not overly helpful, the rooms are nice and the pool and gardens are good. The breakfast is generous with many items to choose from. We choose this hotel as it was central and looked great in the photos but having just stayed at the Imani Country House in Evora, this hotel felt a bit less glamourous and nothing special in comparison. We didn't eat in the hotel as it felt to us that it lacked atmosphere. I had one spa treatment which was average, but not special or particularly attentive which one would hope for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Z O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October 2012. Our room had a gorgeous view the hotel pool with the city wall in the background. With the exception of the beautiful view, everything about the hotel was pretty average - rooms, service, breakfast, restaurant and bar. The location was good for us as we like to walk around a new city. Most importantly, we were able to get the much needed sleep we needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I were in Portugal for a total of 3 weeks. During that time we stayed at a total of 7 different hotels. Through Trip Advisor's reviews we chose this hotel mainly for the location close to the old city. We however were not to pleased (though no fault of the hotel) that the main street to the hotel was closed and blocked by a crane for construction reasons. We lost over an hour's time trying to find the hotel because of the windy narrow one way streets. Our GPS didn't help as it kept on repeating directions to the now closed street....the construction crew gave us the wrong directions and the police officer refused to temporarily let us go down a one way lane to get to the hotel that we could see from the street but could not reach....yes it was all frustrating!!
When we finally reached the hotel we were given our room key to room 245 which turned out not to work. My husband had to go downstairs and have it re-activated....it took him over 10 minutes to get this done while I remained waiting in front of the hotel room with our luggage. Finally he arrives and tells me that there was a line up of people that had just arrived for check in and that they were all complaining about not being able to find the hotel due to the road closure too. We bring our luggage into the room and I decide to go to the washroom to wash my hands. Low and behold......no water!! My husband goes back down to the reception and they tell us that the water will be back in about half an hours time!!

Pros: Location of the hotel. Sound proof rooms (except in washroom area). Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Pretty large bedroom and bathroom area, no cramped feeling. Mattress was firm but comfortable. Availability of mini fridge.

Cons: Room 245 facing the city walls had no balcony. Breakfast was mediocre and not exceptional. Bedroom area was clean but found suspect hair on shower wall which didn't belong to either one of us. Outdated furniture....could do with some revamping and room just looks a bit tired and old.

Room Tip: If you require a room with a balcony ask for one with a garden view. Rooms facing the city have no b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarmaTravels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Located in the south-west corner of the town, just inside the walls where the road from Lisbon comes in. Quiet, but still only 10-15 minutes stroll from the old town centre. Interesting building, long and narrow, standard room comfortable and well appointed, and very effective air-con.
Food and staff both good standard without being memorable.
In summary, a good place to stay for both seeing the town and touring the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppnumerianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
244 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a disappointing experience, despite the fact that the hotel building is nice and the structure interesting.

Positive: the location is good enough to walk all over Evora. The garden and pool are very nice. We enjoyed sitting by the pool and walking around. Sun beds in the pool area are OK. Unfortunately the pool water was ice-cold, but that is a common problem all over Portugal. The hotel has long corridors and open spaces which are agreeable.

Negative:
• The most unsmiling staff. They looked unhappy and unwelcoming to customers. The receptionists were among the most disagreeable ever encountered.
• Service was slow; for instance, breakfast table were cleaned only after the customers left. You could keep piling up used crockery without anybody bothering to remove it from the table.
• The choice of food for breakfast was minimal, and for all the reasons mentioned above we decided not to dine in the restaurant.
• We had drinks at the pool and another guest told us that they served him a whole litre of sangria without informing him that you had to take the whole carafe because sangria cannot be sold by the glass. Price: 20 Euro.
• The room needs renovation, starting with the rickety and dirty night lamps. In our room the bathroom door was off level with the floor, scraping it every time we closed it.
• Since our room was above the entrance to the restaurant we had lots of noise twice early morning, as a group of French people touring on bus went for breakfast, speaking at the top of their lungs.
• We had a terrace with great view on the garden. Unfortunately, due to heat, it could be used only early morning or late evening, as the sun umbrella did nothing to protect from the sun. The two chairs on the terrace had old and very used mattresses, smelling of mildew.
• Cleaning of rooms was performed at odd hours, usually very late afternoon, just when we were back all sweaty from the city tour and wanted to take a shower.
• Personal pet peeve of mine: the bathtub (no shower) had one of those unhygienic plastic curtains that stick disagreeably to your wet skin…

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant are risky ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dierregi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a wonderful hotel and in a wonderful spot. Set inside the walls of old Evora, you could not wish for more. We stayed two nights as part of two weeks in Portugal and would definitely stay here again, hopefully for longer. Must admit we spent the two days in the city rather than at the pool but coming back in the evening for a dip was a must.

Room was tasteful, stylish and very comfortable with a view of the gardens. We had use of the underground carpark which was brilliant as parking was not that easy around the town.

Breakfast was very good and a lot of choice and weather was warm enough to sit outside overlooking the pool. Staff very attentive and friendly.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.4 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#9 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M'AR De AR Muralhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M'AR De AR Muralhas

Property: M'AR De AR Muralhas
Address: Travessa da Palmeira 4 | ex. Hotel da Cartuxa, Evora 7000-546, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Evora
#6 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#7 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — M'AR De AR Muralhas 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your M'AR De AR Muralhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m`Ar De Ar Muralhas Hotel
m Ar De Muralhas Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing