We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre servise, old furniture, nice pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
M'AR De AR Muralhas
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a disappointing experience, despite the fact that the hotel building is nice and the structure interesting.

Positive: the location is good enough to walk all over Evora. The garden and pool are very nice. We enjoyed sitting by the pool and walking around. Sun beds in the pool area are OK. Unfortunately the pool water was ice-cold, but that is a common problem all over Portugal. The hotel has long corridors and open spaces which are agreeable.

Negative:
• The most unsmiling staff. They looked unhappy and unwelcoming to customers. The receptionists were among the most disagreeable ever encountered.
• Service was slow; for instance, breakfast table were cleaned only after the customers left. You could keep piling up used crockery without anybody bothering to remove it from the table.
• The choice of food for breakfast was minimal, and for all the reasons mentioned above we decided not to dine in the restaurant.
• We had drinks at the pool and another guest told us that they served him a whole litre of sangria without informing him that you had to take the whole carafe because sangria cannot be sold by the glass. Price: 20 Euro.
• The room needs renovation, starting with the rickety and dirty night lamps. In our room the bathroom door was off level with the floor, scraping it every time we closed it.
• Since our room was above the entrance to the restaurant we had lots of noise twice early morning, as a group of French people touring on bus went for breakfast, speaking at the top of their lungs.
• We had a terrace with great view on the garden. Unfortunately, due to heat, it could be used only early morning or late evening, as the sun umbrella did nothing to protect from the sun. The two chairs on the terrace had old and very used mattresses, smelling of mildew.
• Cleaning of rooms was performed at odd hours, usually very late afternoon, just when we were back all sweaty from the city tour and wanted to take a shower.
• Personal pet peeve of mine: the bathtub (no shower) had one of those unhygienic plastic curtains that stick disagreeably to your wet skin…

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant are risky ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dierregi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 891 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a wonderful hotel and in a wonderful spot. Set inside the walls of old Evora, you could not wish for more. We stayed two nights as part of two weeks in Portugal and would definitely stay here again, hopefully for longer. Must admit we spent the two days in the city rather than at the pool but coming back in the evening for a dip was a must.

Room was tasteful, stylish and very comfortable with a view of the gardens. We had use of the underground carpark which was brilliant as parking was not that easy around the town.

Breakfast was very good and a lot of choice and weather was warm enough to sit outside overlooking the pool. Staff very attentive and friendly.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August 2012, hotel offers cheap underground parking (5euro per night) and is approx 5minute walk to the town square. Staff were so polite and friendl and when I checked in I was given a map of the town and directions on how to get to the towns main sights. I was really delighted with this service. The room we had overlooked the gardens and the pool which was lovely and the room was spacious with a comfortable bed. Bar staff were great and made super cocktails for us and the terrace was so nice to sit out on. Great breakfast too! Great hotel, good price and location too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and young twin girls. We booked a Junior Suite. Lovely spacious room, tastefully and comfortably decorated. Huge bathroom. Like an apartment really. Great attention to detail throughout and very helpful and plentiful staff. The hotel seems to attract a very nice, respectable clientele. Though there were a lot of families with kids and couples too, the whole place was very relaxing. The outdoor lounge area is great and a lovely place to retire to at night. The pool and kids pool is excellent. Easy walk to the centre of Evora. Hotel´s carpark is free to guests which is a plus. I wouldn´t rave about breakfast. It could be a lot better but it was adequate. The price of drinks at the bar was very reasonable. I initially liked the music that played in the background throughout the public areas but the same playlist is repeated over and over and eventually became a pain by the end of the second day. A minor complaint and an easy thing to rectify. I would definitely stay here again and could have easily stayed for a week. A great alternative for those who holiday in August but want to avoid the busy coast. Evora city is beautiful too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelecg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on our tour through the Alentejo. We really enjoyed the hotel: old but very carefully redone, lovely furniture and things everywhere in the hotel. Very friendly service. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The hotel is perfectly situated because you can easily walk to the center. Breakfast was all right, the variety could be better.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are overlooking the pool and have a big balcony. Lovely to sit on until late into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

When a place is bad, you here it from me, but when its great, then I like to let people know. This was one of the best places my wife and I have stayed in. We are usually budget minded, not backpacker rates, but somewhere between $80 and $130 suits our budget. We found this place on TripAdvisor and it more than met our expectations. We were a little skeptical when we arrived, driving to the parking garage side, which is what you see first as you approach by car. There were a few weeds growing in the steps and the place looked a little unkempt. After we parked, we found the entry to the hotel, which is somewhat understated. When I went to the desk, they had our reservation, but the clerk said he had tried to reach me, that they didn't have the shower I requested, but would show me the room. It turned out that it was a minor understanding, they thought I wanted a shower cabin, when I just wanted to be sure that there was a shower on the wall, which I found to be the case, in the tub, in what was in one of the most beautifully appointed baths I have seen in a hotel room. We were there early, and my wife wanted a king-size bed, and because we were early, we had our pick of several rooms. The clerk was patient and allowed us to view several rooms, and we were given the room we requested. We were very pleased by all the features of the room, a large flat screen TV, refrigerator, and room safe. We hadn't eaten and it was getting on to mid-afternoon, so I wanted to eat at the hotel, though the menu looked a little pricey. It turned out they had a special daily lunch menu, which offered a drink, including beer or wine, the starter, main course and desert for 10 euros, it was all delicious, served on a white table cloth by attentive servers. We had a view of the pool from our table in the shade, it was a great way to start our stay in Evora.
While there, we also enjoyed the beautiful pool. They give you big towels at the pool and there is a big lawn or lounge chairs to lay on. It is a very friendly family experience.
If I just wanted to go some place for a week, to be pampered on a budget, I would choose this hotel. Evora is a very interesting historic city, and this place made the stay very special.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the rear have a view of the pool and the old wall, beautiful landscaping. Some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonetofrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Do you need a vacation to rest, with a great location, a nice pool, a very good service ? Then this is the one. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The breakfast is also very good, good variety, the bread was awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjmfaustino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
998 reviews
2.6 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.4 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M'AR De AR Muralhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M'AR De AR Muralhas

Address: Travessa da Palmeira 4 | ex. Hotel da Cartuxa, Evora 7000-546, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Evora
#6 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#8 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $87 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — M'AR De AR Muralhas 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your M'AR De AR Muralhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m`Ar De Ar Muralhas Hotel
m Ar De Muralhas Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing