We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best breakfasts I've had anywhere in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best breakfasts I've had anywhere in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

A very characterful little hotel with very caring staff and the most delicious breakfasts. It seems like a modern building but with some old features - for example an exposed old wall here and there. Apparently it was once the olive press of the Convent of St Hilda. Bright (possibly gaudy is the word) random colours are a theme in public spaces - you enter thru big metal gates in a sort-of modern archway, into an inner courtyard with tables with deep pink parasols on multi-coloured oriental rugs. Inside, bright rug hangings and modern art, terracotta tiles everywhere, some older furniture, some modern pieces, plants in pots. Bedrooms in softer, muted colours (at least mine was) overlook the narrow cobbled streets of Evora, v quiet. In rooms, nice solid, rustic furniture, v comfortable big beds and lovely fat soft pillows. Excellent chocolate on the pillow at night time. Nice classical music in public spaces. Reception sells good local olive oils, that chololate again, natural salt and rustic soaps. Breakfast was brilliant including hot stuff - a choice of eggs, pancakes, French toast. Amazing freshly-squeezed juices - carrot and orange, strawberry and orange, apple... Fresh tomatoes with delicious peppery organic olive oil, lovely garlicky fresh tomato sauce, fresh cheese with dark organic honey, bowls of cherries on every table, organic dates, organic yoghurt, and to sprinkle on it organic sunflower seeds, hemp seeds, 'bee pollen from Evora', good, if very sweet, doce de aborbora (pumpkin and cinnamon jam). Nice organic coffee, good herb teas. Best breakfast every in Portugal, once of the best breakfasts I've had anywhere in the world. Definitely a hotel for 'Foodies'. Very nice, helpful staff. There's an underground carpark accessed thru the courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wortleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    134
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
254
1,114
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san clemente
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

I know this is redundant, and i am almost compelled not to write a review. the previous entries say it all, and better than i will. nonetheless, i will still write a raving review of this property. the staff, all of them look you in the eye and make you feel important to them, and that they honestly are there to help and make your stay more than enjoyable. the breakfast is drop dead delicious. the room impecable. the grounds beautiful. the location great. while traveling we developed colds. the owner spent time to help us with the pharmacy, and ultimtely gave us her medicine to try and help. i have traveled a ton, and frankly this is one of my most memorable experiences. they are starting to serve meals at night, and that too was fun, and enjoyable. this was a great stay, with amazing people.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
283 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

We booked this hotel due to the reviews on TripAdvisor, which are 100% correct. This small hotel inside the city wall is quite cozy and beautiful along with free parking on the premise. We had a room with a balcony where we sat in the afternoon enjoying a bottle of wine and cheeses. There is also an open outside sitting area where other guests enjoy doing the same thing. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful with the area map & sites. Their favorite restaurant recommendations were always the best. Even when we checked out they were on the internet getting the best directions to our next destination. The breakfast was fabulous. You can order the hot breakfast and still enjoy all the breads, cereals, yogurt, fruits, and desserts. Evora is a beautiful town and it great this beautiful hotel is a part of it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

My husband & I were so very pleased with this hotel. The young couple who now own it have brought an excellence to the service, the food and the cleanliness. It is difficult to find any new words to describe this small hotel - it has all been said in previous reviews. Breakfasts excell, beds are wonderfully comfortable, bathrooms are modern and efficient, outside patio is lovely. The highlight to me though was the service - we were greeted with such smiles, offered a beverage in the downstairs lobby bar, assisted with our luggage. I love that they include wi-fi for all rooms. The furnishings and art in the main salon are so tasteful and whimsical - the yarn covered cubes and benches are wonderful - I wanted to take them home with me.

Travel hint - Evora makes a lovely one or two day trip from Lisbon. It is not necessary to rent a car. We arrived Lisbon airport, caught a taxi (from the upstairs taxi queue where there was no line) to the Sete Rios bus station near the zoo. It was easy to purchase bus ticket for the express bus to Evora. (The buses are very deluxe.) Once in Evora take a taxi to the hotel. We had no problem with taxi driver overcharging us - I just kept the Lisbon map in my lap and made sure the meter was on.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelapalmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

All those positive reviews sure don't lie. This place is great. Really really nice Owners & staff who give everyone such personalized attention.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelledchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramrod Key, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful experience here. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast is divine. There is a heavy emphasis on organic and local food. The owners, Peter and Nina, made one feel like this was a "second home" and took great pains to give us wonderful sightseeing destinations and recommendations for great restaurants. There is a pleasant outside patio and an equally pleasant "great room" where one can enjoy a cool beverage and meet very interesting people from all over the world. Evora is a very interesting city (recommend the walking tour) and the countryside is very beautiful with numerous vineyards , olive trees, and cork trees. There are several small cities to visit nearby which are quite beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramrodcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
367 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

I was completely impressed with this hotel. The owner clearly understands the importance of customer service and he takes time at breakfast to personally speak with each guest. Every single one of the hotel staff treated us with 5 star service. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and to make site seeing and restaurant choices. The room itself was perfect...roomy, comfortable, and charming. The bathroom was spacious also...although the shower door leaked water all over the floor. This seems to be a European specialty! Still, the bathroom was big and had plenty of counter space.

The breakfast was possibly the most interesting of any I've ever had. There were many offerings from the region with signs showing where the food originated. I can't remember everything on the buffet but the breakfast alone is worth staying at the hotel. Plus, the owner speaks with each guest at breakfast and offers to make you something from your home country (in our case, eggs, bacon, and pancakes - but who wants those when the buffet is so varied and interesting?)

Hotel parking is free and is onsite - a big plus if you want to walk to the historical sites but not worry about driving or parking. The parking spaces are a tight squeeze but you just have to take your time driving in and out. The hotel itself is immediately inside the old city walls.

We've stayed at a number of hotels in Europe but this one is in a class by itself. For the price I don't think you can beat the service, food, location, and ammenities.

Our thanks to the staff and to Peter (the owner) for a very memorable stay in Evora. I heartily recommend this choice if you'll be staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.4 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#7 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing