We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 10 all around!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Wonderful, wonderful little hotel. Beautiful, comfortable, and very personal. Loved the staff and the common rooms. Breakfast was fantastic...my God, that was good yogurt!! Perfect location!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,818)
There are newer reviews for Albergaria do Calvario
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2009

We picked this hotel after reading all the Trip Advisor raves and we can only add another rave review. We tried to find something to complain about, but no luck. We were warmly greeted by Hugo, who after checking us in took lots of time to tell us about Evora and about great places to eat. We booked a suite, as we were celebrating our 25th anniversary, and were delighted with the room: the decor, the comfortable bed, the premium linens, the spacious marble bathroom, the bottled water that was replaced everyday, the organic soap, the fluffy towels. As for breakfast, it is hard to explain how wonderful it is. Everything was delicious: the fresh organic juices, the wonderful fresh brewed coffee, both regular and ,decaffeinated, served with a jug of warm milk, the home made cakes, the fresh organic bread etc etc. To top all of this off, Hugo made the rounds, greeting guests, asking if anyone needed anything, if we had slept well. I was only sorry we were staying for two days instead of a month. We will be back in Evora to stay at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Kind welcome. This hotel is nice, clean and cheap. A good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slymod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

My wife and I booked two nights at this hotel based on the reviews we had read on Tripadvisor. I was a bit apprehensive to begin with given the fact that the hotel seemed to be in the centre of the town; from experience these are notoriously difficult to find and park. I was so relieved when we got to Evora and realised my fears were groundless. Following the map posted on the website of the hotel, it was very easy to find. We picked up signs to the hotel almost immediately and followed these to the door, using the city walls as a point of reference. The hotel is located just inside the walls of the city, and as Evora is a very small town, it only takes about 5 mins to walk to the main square and 10 to the other side of the town. Parking was also no problem, we found space just outside the main building, but the hotel has underground parking if you so wish.
We can’t but voice the comments already posted in another review entitled: “At last a hotel which really understands what discerning guests want”
From the moment of arrival we were delighted by the setting and the most helpful of front desk staff. No request for information or advice was too much trouble.
We arrived tired and a little grumpy (it had just started to rain as well), and there had been a mixup somehere in the booking process which we had made through an online agency; we were allocated a twin-bedded room instead of a double. As the hotel was exceptionally full, there were no more double rooms available, but we were promised a double the next day. To our surprise, Nina (the owner) gave us a junior suite which we believe was the best, as it had a delightful covered balcony which we’ve earmarked for our next stay. The mark of a good hotel is how the staff react when something has gone wrong regardless where the fault lies. In this case it was only a small thing, but Nina made sure our stay would be the best. In this she and her staff succeeded. They had moved our bags when we returned later in the day.
Nina and Peter together with all their staff, were extremely welcoming and helpful, they all went the extra mile and round the corner to please. They have a great list of restaurants and activity suggestions for guests and are very willing to give advice and help. This is a beautiful hotel, immaculately clean and very comfortable.
The night of our arrival the young lady at reception, I think her name was Fanny, suggested booking a restaurant for us which was most helpful and thoughtful when you’ve just arrived somewhere and everything is a bit strange.
The selection at breakfast was impressive - the best we have had for a long time even in top quality hotels, and the service - once again - was superb. There was a selection of freshly squeezed juices, fresh fruits, breads, cheeses, honey and jams, besides various breads and cakes. There was also eggs and bacon on offer cooked to order. Pleasant relaxed atmosphere and a good start to the day.

The last evening we enjoyed reading a book in the comfortable lounge listening to some excellent background music attended to by the attentive Hugo who served us some wine and bar snacks from their well stocked bar. There is an adjoining TV lounge if you want some entertainment. Not to be forgotten is the complimentary wireless internet access throughout the hotel as well as a guest PC in the lounge, a free service which is chargeable in many more expensive hotels.
Two nights in Evora was not enough time, so we hope to return soon if only to stay at this delightful hotel.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Rockmonkeys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

The staff were super friendly and helpful, the room was very spacious and clean and the price was very fair. I tend to be very critical and moan about loads of things, but there just isn't anything negative i could possibly say about albergaria do calvario.

the staff speak many languages (perfect english and italian -which i appreciated as an italian speaker). i needed to iron a shirt during my stay, they ironed it for me and didn't even charge me for it. staff are very friendly and it's great fun just engaging in a conversation with them. the breakfast is quite good. the room i stayed in was huge and had all amenities you would expect from an excellent hotel. so really, no need to look any further, just book this hotel.

the hotel is located just inside the walls of the city. so it might appear as if it is located on the outskirts, but evora is a very small town, so effectively you are bang in the centre. it only takes about 5 mins to walk to the main square.

i booked though an online travel agency, but i think the hotel also has a website, so you can book straight with them. the price i paid (i think it was around 70 euros or so a night for a single room), which i thought was excellent value for money. sure it is a hotel in the portuguese countryside, but i received an excellent service. some friends of mine stayed in hotels in and around evora and they paid more, but received much less for their money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbiter_elegentiae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We booked two rooms here with friends, and we also had our 9 month old baby with us. The rooms were impeccable, charming, and spacious. On arrival they had already set up a baby cot in our room, and it was a very comfortable stay. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful, they have a great list of restaurants and activity suggestions for guest, a great bar, and one of the greatest breakfasts in all of Europe! We would return to Evora just so that we could stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirtak99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

The staff is welcoming and the breakfasts are fabulous. I want to go back. I have a gluten allergy and they immediately offered to get me bread for the following morning. In addition, the rooms are lovely and spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolcamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 26 in Evora
1,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $115 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing