We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2009

After a long day of traveling, it was lovely to arrive at such a welcoming hotel. The staff were really helpful and efficient.
The hotel was very inviting and was in and excellent location. We paid 105 euros a night for a double room and felt this was excellent value for money. The air con was fantastic, beds were comfortable. The communal area had a computer with free internet access, and books, and always seemed to be available to use - we loved just hanging out there. Wi-fi was excellent in the room. The outside area was lovely to sit in at night and have a drink or two. Like the other reviews said - the breakfast was outstanding. The best breakfast we had while in Portugal - we traveled around Portugal for two weeks, and it was definitely the best. Staff were also among the nicest we encountered in the two weeks. We had to check out early and we were accommodated with breakfast - before 8am.
The only negative I can give to be honest is that the floor in the bedroom was dirty, it needed a good clean. But this is no way enough to deter someone from staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scallions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2009

My family and I only stayed at this hotel for one night, and I wished our visit to Evora would have lasted longer! I loved this hotel. Hugo gave us a wonderful welcome and the hotel is just beautiful. But, what I was really amazed at was the breakfast! Wow! Freshly squeezed Watermelon, Apple, Carrot juices? Amazing pastries and yogurts and breads and cheeses and meats- plus asking if we wanted eggs and bacon! I was in heaven as breakfast is my favorite meal and this hotel offered the best that I have ever had.
Plus, they had parking, which was a great help in the walled city!
Thank you Hugo!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoritheMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

- Outstanding service! Hugo at the reception is very service oriented and gives great tips about Evora and the region!
- Great rooms with a lot of style! I stayed with my wife on the suite for two nighs and it was just outstanding!
- Breakfast is probably one of the best we have ever had in a hotel, my wife is French and I am Brazilian and we travael a lot but this is really something! Nina is just so nive and all the staff want to make people feel at home!
- Location is also great just inside the Muralhas of Evora

Overall this was an oustanding experience that I recommend to anyone, we will certainly come back! I was a bit scared about the name "Albergaria do Calvario" but this hotel completely exceeded our expectations! BRAVO!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoleilLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

The other reviews are correct in their assessment of the hotel's breakfast. It was one of the best meals we had on our entire trip. I would go back for the food alone, but the price was very reasonable, the staff was helpful, the location good and they had a free parking as well as a computer with internet access. Overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My daughter and I stayed for two nights at this delightful property, and loved it. The hotel itself is beautifully restored with very nice amenities. Peter and Nina and the entire staff were so helpful and responsive to our needs and took extra care to make everything wonderful. The organic food at breakfast, the candles lit in the evening, and the beautiful spacious furnishings all led to an extraordinary stay. Evora is also spectacular, with many wonderful sights and the best food and drink in Portugal in my opinion. The staff also pointed us in the right direction to find these things. Ahh, what wonderful memories I have now! Thanks, Peter and Nina!!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeriMinneapolisMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

What a find, we booked this hotel about a week before travelling after deciding we should stay a night in Evora (en route from Beja to Sintra) after reading reviews of the city. Wish we'd read the reviews properly as we'd have spent 3 nights here and just one in Sintra had we known how great it is. The welcome we recieved from Nina was A1 and she was extremely friendly and helpful and called us (as well as other guests) by our christian names. Once shown to our fantastic room.....WOW we were lucky enough to get the balcony room overlooking the courtyard. Furnishings in the room were good quality, tasteful and well looked after, as were all the common areas of the hotel. It was lovely to be able to sit in the courtyard soaking up the sun and enjoying a bottle of wine, before walking around the beautiful city with so much to see and do. The reviews all raved about the breakfast but it far outweighed our expectations - lovely fresh, home made food. Freshly squeezed strawberry & orange juice, carrot juice, apple, tomato... lovely breads, cakes, cheese, tomatoes all organic.The tomato jam is lush ! Also other items like scrambled eggs available on request. My wife never eats breakfast but had a 3 course one while we stayed here.... can't say on here how she decribed it ;-) ............ Nina and Peter lovely hosts who made us very welcome - thank you and your staff very much. We know you'll go from to strength and we can't wait to come back
P.S. Took Peter's advice and went to Guincho - fantastic beach - thank you !

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaiButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Our only regret was staying just one night! We loved this place. From the moment we checked-in, we were treated with warmth and thoughtful help. The location is fantastic - really easy to get your car into the 'edge' of Evora, then walk everywhere from the hotel. (Nice underground parking garage!) The hotel itself is lovely - the common rooms are nicely decorated with a warm feeling - up to date but yet historic. And the room we had was wonderful - delightfully air-conditioned (for July) and spacious. But the staff is what most made us want to stay longer - everyone is so welcoming and gracious (and fluent in English as well as lots of other languages!). They were full of good suggestions for places to eat (including the best gelati of the trip!) and sightseeing suggestions.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoiledSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 27 in Evora
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 27 in Evora
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 27 in Evora
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $119 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing