We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've stayed in other walled cities before and Albergaria do Calvario was the nicest hotel with the best staff and parking too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We've stayed in other walled cities before and Albergaria do Calvario was the nicest hotel with the best staff and parking too!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

After a drive south from Tomar to Evora, my husband and I landed at one of the nicest small hotels of our time in Portugal - Albergaria do Calvario. It is inside the city walls, beautiful, incredibly well run and with fantastic customer service. The owners are American and they have several American interns on staff. The team did everything from carrying our ridiculously heavy suitcases (mine with a wheel broken since France) to preparing fresh lemonade, telling us about sites and restaurants, sharing stories, serving a delicious breakfast, and personally researching and booking our next location. We had a standard room and it had plenty of space with an armoire for our things and good sized bathroom. It was on the ground floor, quiet and our window faced the city wall. Upstairs rooms might have better views and some rooms overlook the patio. Evora is walled with narrow streets and limited parking, but the hotel has an underground garage; we loved being able to drive in, park and never moving our car until it was time to leave for the next stop on our trip. Breakfast was excellent with organic products, good coffee and items cooked to order including oatmeal, the only place that offered it on our entire vacation in France, Spain and Portugal. The staff will provide takeaway boxes upon request. There are inviting seating areas both inside and on the patio, a bar, and light food options during the day like tapas which we never tried. We extended our stay since we liked the hotel so much and wished we had stayed even longer. When you walk around Evora, don't miss the university, which has spectacular tiled hallways and classrooms each area telling different stories. We also enjoyed the self-guided tour of the city's water system. A short drive west of the city and you can visit an ancient circle of megaliths.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,597
    136
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
259
1,154
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

It is hard to add anything new to all the glowing reviews of this wonderful albergaria. The staff is hands-down the most friendly and helpful staff we have ever encountered. They are always ready to assist you and service is always with a big smile. Baggage is carried; laundry is done; car is retrieved from the underground garage (SO handy to have the parking right there); dinner reservations are made. The beds are the most comfortable we have slept on in Europe! Luxurious towels too! The breakfast is spectacular with all fresh, organic offerings. Simply put, nothing is overlooked in the pursuit to make your stay 100% satisfactory.

On the practical side, I would add that Evora's location is perfect for day-tripping through the Alentejo and the hotel is very conveniently reached without having to navigate through any city traffic. Easy to reach were Monsaraz, Estremoz, Elvas & Vila Vicosa -- also the megaliths near Evora. We enjoyed driving on the country roads which had little to no traffic at all.

Our favorite restaurant was Botequim de Mouraria - a unique dining experience with an over-the-top friendly owner and great food.

Evora is a delightful town, not a museum piece, but a real working town with lots to explore, very nice shops and restaurants, most at very reasonable prices. We can't wait to return and will definitely stay at ADC!!

Room Tip: We had the room with the balcony, but it was too cool and windy to sit outside. But being away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanapapa-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We loved this hotel. From the moment I booked online to the second we left, everything was lovely. The staff was responsive to emails. They had lots of great info on the surrounding area, recommedations on food, sights and activities which they provided in advance. Our room wasn't ready because we arrived early so they offered us a comfortable place to relax with wine while we waited. The staff brought us a map and talked through all kinds of fun things with us. Not just "here is a list" but truly listened to what we were interested in and made recommdations. They suggested hiking along the aqueduct which was really very cool. The room was nice and clean and well kept. Breakfast was over the top amazing. In addition to a beautiful buffet of food you had many cooked to order choices as well. All were delicious. Most definitely the best place we stayed in our whole two weeks in Portugal.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest room and it was definitely adequate. They budget rooms are smaller but just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

That's my third time in ADC and I am always amazed at how it keeps the level of excelence it has achieved a few years ago. This time, since I was solo and did not have a car, I hired a driver through the albergaria - I asked the frondesk - to take me in a gorgeous saturday to Estremoz and Vila Viçosa, since these were places I had never been in the Alentejo. It was a wonderful trip through the Alentejan fields. For those with cars, this is a very nice drive, and very easy through good small roads.

I have other 2 reviews on ADC, so I don't know whatelse to write. It is a wonderful place and I reccommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the "patio", it's very nice and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouDoRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

If I could choose 10 stars or 100 for the review I would!

We were here in June & from the moment we arrived we were treated so well from the staff. We only had a one night reservation however, we had been very tired from our trip so far & asked if we could extend it to two nights (SO happy that we did).

The staff: Simply Amazing! We were in Portugal for a little over two weeks & this staff was the BEST we experienced. We had been in the Algarve, Sintra, & Lisbon & not one hotel came close to this staff & how they treated us. Our apologies up front for not remembering all of their names.

John: Helped with the car, the bags, beverages & was just a great guy to speak with - loved him.
Michelle: Helped with the rest of our time in Portugal making suggestions to other hotels, places to see & places to eat. She spend a lot of time with us & we SO appreciated all the arrangements that she made on our behalf. This staff wanted to "please" their guests & they did.

They even made recommendations for dinner & it was one of our favorite places to eat. So Thank you to the staff for EVERYTHING!!! Dinner place was 1/4 Para as 9 (amazing)!

Accommodations: Rooms, Hotel & the place was very clean & had a homey feel to it. There were lots of places that you could just sit & relax including their very cute patio outside. The beds were very comfortable & you had plenty of space for your things.

Breakfast: BEST in all the places that we stayed. Fresh juices, fruit, yogurts, nuts, breads, cakes, plus you could order eggs & much more. Best coconut cake & sponge cake hands down!

Evora is one of our favorite places to visit & we will be back. This hotel is in a great location in the city.

We need more of these places & staff in hotels - others can learn from this team!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

When we got to the hotel, we handed over the car keys, dropped off the luggage (too early to check in to the room) and got plenty of suggestions from Peter, the owner, on what we could see on a Sunday afternoon and our driving excursion the next day, plus terrific restaurant suggestions for our 2 night stay.

I'd booked a Superior room through Booking.com and when we returned that evening, I thought oh no, where's the desk? (There was a desk, but the TV was on it.) A quick word about it to the super helpful staff and in MINUTES they brought up a desk and chair, plus suggested they could move us to a larger room the next night but this night they were fully booked. That wasn't necessary, our second floor room at the top of the stairs was nice and quiet, the king size bed super comfortable (2 twins together to make a double), the marble tiled bathroom had plenty of counter space and the additional desk for the laptop made it perfect.

Breakfast was wonderful, delicious treats and other selections on the buffet table plus you can order what you like. Fresh squeezed juice and coffee made to order. Perfect.

THIS is the way to run a hotel!

Room Tip: Our upstairs room at the top of the stairs was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The staff are simply incredible. We we're greeted with warmth, our needs anticipated, and every request met with eagerness and that we be at ease. I cannot praise the front desk personnel enough in the fluency of English and genuine sense of care. Our trip covered several regions and the experience here made this city one of our favorites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 25 in Evora
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#9 of 25 in Evora
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing