We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite albergaria in Portugal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My favourite albergaria in Portugal”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

That's my third time in ADC and I am always amazed at how it keeps the level of excelence it has achieved a few years ago. This time, since I was solo and did not have a car, I hired a driver through the albergaria - I asked the frondesk - to take me in a gorgeous saturday to Estremoz and Vila Viçosa, since these were places I had never been in the Alentejo. It was a wonderful trip through the Alentejan fields. For those with cars, this is a very nice drive, and very easy through good small roads.

I have other 2 reviews on ADC, so I don't know whatelse to write. It is a wonderful place and I reccommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the "patio", it's very nice and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouDoRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,596
    136
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
259
1,153
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

If I could choose 10 stars or 100 for the review I would!

We were here in June & from the moment we arrived we were treated so well from the staff. We only had a one night reservation however, we had been very tired from our trip so far & asked if we could extend it to two nights (SO happy that we did).

The staff: Simply Amazing! We were in Portugal for a little over two weeks & this staff was the BEST we experienced. We had been in the Algarve, Sintra, & Lisbon & not one hotel came close to this staff & how they treated us. Our apologies up front for not remembering all of their names.

John: Helped with the car, the bags, beverages & was just a great guy to speak with - loved him.
Michelle: Helped with the rest of our time in Portugal making suggestions to other hotels, places to see & places to eat. She spend a lot of time with us & we SO appreciated all the arrangements that she made on our behalf. This staff wanted to "please" their guests & they did.

They even made recommendations for dinner & it was one of our favorite places to eat. So Thank you to the staff for EVERYTHING!!! Dinner place was 1/4 Para as 9 (amazing)!

Accommodations: Rooms, Hotel & the place was very clean & had a homey feel to it. There were lots of places that you could just sit & relax including their very cute patio outside. The beds were very comfortable & you had plenty of space for your things.

Breakfast: BEST in all the places that we stayed. Fresh juices, fruit, yogurts, nuts, breads, cakes, plus you could order eggs & much more. Best coconut cake & sponge cake hands down!

Evora is one of our favorite places to visit & we will be back. This hotel is in a great location in the city.

We need more of these places & staff in hotels - others can learn from this team!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

When we got to the hotel, we handed over the car keys, dropped off the luggage (too early to check in to the room) and got plenty of suggestions from Peter, the owner, on what we could see on a Sunday afternoon and our driving excursion the next day, plus terrific restaurant suggestions for our 2 night stay.

I'd booked a Superior room through Booking.com and when we returned that evening, I thought oh no, where's the desk? (There was a desk, but the TV was on it.) A quick word about it to the super helpful staff and in MINUTES they brought up a desk and chair, plus suggested they could move us to a larger room the next night but this night they were fully booked. That wasn't necessary, our second floor room at the top of the stairs was nice and quiet, the king size bed super comfortable (2 twins together to make a double), the marble tiled bathroom had plenty of counter space and the additional desk for the laptop made it perfect.

Breakfast was wonderful, delicious treats and other selections on the buffet table plus you can order what you like. Fresh squeezed juice and coffee made to order. Perfect.

THIS is the way to run a hotel!

Room Tip: Our upstairs room at the top of the stairs was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The staff are simply incredible. We we're greeted with warmth, our needs anticipated, and every request met with eagerness and that we be at ease. I cannot praise the front desk personnel enough in the fluency of English and genuine sense of care. Our trip covered several regions and the experience here made this city one of our favorites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were a group of 10 multi national cycling friends who as largely fussy and pampered international travellers are not easily impressed. But we were blown away here! We stayed here for a night in early June on our second stop of our 5 day tour and almost cancelled our onward journey. They just get everything right- great rooms, great breakfast, warm feel and ambience, welcoming staff, gracious and flexible , with wonderful attention to detail. And their attitude is : " the answer is 'yes' , are there any other questions?". My wife, our two Portuguese friends and their wives , and I had stayed here in November on our reconnaissance visit and we knew we were onto a winner. We did not even consider the 5 Star hotel across the road. You can't go wrong staying here and you are within walking distance of the sights and the restaurants. I'm not always this kind or generous- see my review on Horta da Moura in Monsarez. Praise can be delivered succinctly, criticism needs more time so as to be specific and not small minded.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is one of the best properties we have ever stayed at. All of the staff were so happy and helpful. Our room (#19) had its own private balcony which was fabulous. The breakfast which is included in the room rate was by far the best ever - You wanted for nothing. You could walk to the center of the village so we never needed a car once we got there which is always a big plus for us.

Room Tip: Room #19 which has a private balcony on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The four of us stayed at the hotel in May, for one night - but we all wish it was much longer. Everything was excellent, but, in addition, the hotel exceeded our expectations consistently, in every area. There is no point repeating other reviews, so I will just say that our visit the beautiful Evora was so much enhanced by the Albergaria do Calvario that not even the persistent rain managed to dent our enjoyment. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 25 in Evora
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#9 of 25 in Evora
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing