We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It never disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is the 3rd time in one year we stay at this hotel. Each time they meet all our expectations and make us feel very welcome.
I mentioned on their comment card that it would be nice if staff would wear a name tag with their first name.
They are so friendly, accommodating, that you feel embarrassed you can not address them by name.
Besides their friendliness, the location is top. easy to find by car, right in the Old Town Center so you can walk everywhere.
The area is especially beautiful in spring when all is fresh green, blossoms around. The towns of Arraiolos (castle and rugs), Estremoz (castle with beautiful tower) and Vila Vicosa with its grant marble palace, are wonderful to tour. And closing it off with a visit at a vineyard is great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norbel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Things we loved:
The friendliness, warmth and welcome staff gave us. Nothing was too much trouble.
Beautiful spaces - bright weaving, beautiful cushions, carpets.
Waking to birdsong in the morning.
Play of lights: by day - sun and shadows in the courtyard, by night myriads of candles flickering in lovely shades
Interesting selection of books to borrow
Almond cakes at breakfast time!
All in all exquisite and absolutely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We visited Evora and intended to stay in the Pousada however having seen the reviews for Albergaria Do Calvario we changed our kids and booked here instead. Great decision.
I cannot add much to the reviews other than to say this was one of the nicest and most welcome hotels we have ever stayed in.
The staff renumbered our names throughout the visit. Our suite was spacious and very reasonably priced. You are provided with list of suggested restaurants and sights all from the personal knowledge of the staff. The food is exceptional.
We are already planning to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Four of booked this hotel some months ago. We knew little about it except it was Evora. What a fantastic surprise - lovely rooms, elegant breakfast, exceptional parking within the walled city, and simply the kindest, most efficient and knowledgeable, most hospitable staff we encountered on our three visit to Portugal. If you decide to book a room, stay two nights for there is much to do and enjoy in Evora and the time at the hotel will be worth every moment of your stay in Evora.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

(a) Proficient in English staff, educated and helpful ; (b) homemade breakfast; (c) organic food; (d) if you need ask to leave your car in the garage for a couple of hours after checking out; (e)comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank First_Advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Everything was EXCELLENT Could not ask for more, from the moment of our arrival to our departure.
Albergaria Do Calvário is a 4-star hotel housed in a 16th century olive oil mill.
With an ideal location inside the walls of the historic city of Évora,Just stroll out of the hotel and enjoy all the City has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

What makes this hotel so exceptional are the staff. They were all cheerful, helpful, welcoming and apparently genuinely concerned that their guests have a good time. Perhaps they should open a hotel training school as a side-line?! We stayed an extra night, so got to try out two rooms. Both very well-appointed with extremely comfortable beds.

Breakfast is second on the list of what made it a great place to stay. I have never had such a wonderful breakfast in any establishment anywhere in the world. Everything you could want was on offer, all local and of the highest quality. We ate tapas in the hotel one night and that was excellent too. Great wine.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are larger. No. 19 has a great balcony. The other (21?) was a small apartment. it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cornish Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 26 in Evora
1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $114 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing