We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergaria do Calvario

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Large room and bathroom. Clean. Outstanding breakfast selection. Baked goods are tantalizing. Hotel seems to be staffed by university students well schooled in customer service. Staff is courteous, helpful and well informed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    133
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
253
1,095
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on Feb 14th, 2014 and were extremely impressed by how warm, welcoming and professional the staff were. Michelle was amazing and went above and beyond to make sure our visit to Evora was a great one. We arrived late in the afternoon on Valentine's day and Michelle tried calling 4 different restaurants on our behalf to book a table. In the end, we decided to stay in and enjoy Tapas in the cozy lounge area at the hotel. The food and wine was excellent! The best was yet to come in the morning with the fabulous breakfast buffet. Never in my life have I had such a amazing assortment of fresh, organic foods for breakfast. The french toast was too die for!!! Better than the French toast I had in France even! I've traveled for years all across North America, Europe and beyond and this by far is the best hotel experience I've ever had. Plus, the price is great and the hotel is very very central. You can't go wrong, some of the larger and supposedly luxury hotels like the Four Seasons etc. could learn a few things from this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeronicaSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very well located, parking inside the hotel. Employees very kind and full of good advices. Room was BIG. The atmosphere there, make you feel like like enjoying more of the hotel with a nice bottle of white wine from Alentejo, on the terrase or inside where you'll find some nice relaxing sofa. Breakfast was very good, special note to the Fresh squizzed Clementine juice and the Organic Poached Eggs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This is one of those places you hate to leave. The staff are very genuine about wanting you to feel comfortable and welcome. We had great tours of the area by day thanks to recommendation by the staff and wonderful restaurant recommendations for the evening. Our stay was perfect. Thank you Albergaria do Calvario for making our time in Evora a welcoming experience. We will be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lrlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel from the moment we were greeted by the super friendly staff with wine for us and hot chocolate for our son. David in particular (who is American ) made our stay so pleasant. The room was perfect comfortable bed nice and clean large bathroom and we were able to get a room with a door and smaller room attached for our son. There was parking and as it was close to the walls of the city it was very easy to drive in and out to visit nearby sights. The experience felt very personal and is the best hotel I have ever stayed as far as customer service all in a lovely building- fine to stay and hang out at the hotel -games and a bar with light fare menu. Oh and a superb breakfast !

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Wow what a special place Albergaria do Calvario is. It was like being welcomed home. The food, tapas at any time, or breakfasts,was all organic, locally sourced and cooked and really gave you the taste of Alentejo. Feeling poorly one night I asked for honey and lemon and in seconds a lovely pot was rustled up and brought to our room. All the hotel recommended restaurants were excellent, and different. Our trip to the Neolithic monuments was really good, Mario being full of information and passion about his subject and about Portugal. Big roomy sofas, an eclectic library, DVDs, games, good lighting, a bar open all night.......Brilliant. We were in a standard classic room, can't wait to go back and upgrade!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelifeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Too bad it was only one night. The staff was extremely friendly. I'd recommend and return. It was not luxury but very much cosy.
They have a internal parking and good tips in a Evora and around.
I've changed my trip fri Obidos to Evora and was a good choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank betocamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.0 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.4 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#9 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing