We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Portugal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergaria do Calvario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Portugal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel wasn't the fanciest hotel that we stayed at during our two week vacation to Portugal but the service blew all the others away. When we first arrived to the hotel we were greeted with a complementary beverage. My husband had a local beer and I had fresh juiced apples. For the first night we were upgraded to a room with a balcony and they were helpful with getting everything moved over to another room the second night. We were charged for the upgrade but Rick Steve's book said upgrades were no charge if available.

Breakfast is worth staying here! It is the best breakfast I have every had at a hotel. Everything is fresh, local, homemade and delicious! You can choose from the extensive breakfast buffet or order off a menu. We sat outside in their adorable courtyard but they also have a inside dining room. We also had a late lunch there which was very good as well.

There is a cozy area for playing games and enjoying cocktails in the evening. We played backgammon each night here.

The owners and other staff were helpful in recommending delicious restaurants and things to do in the area. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divindaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,519
    133
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
253
1,096
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in late October as part of our honeymoon.

Very attentive service, great recommendations, wonderful little nooks and corners in the hotel for couples to read/ write/ email. Great wifi all round. Great breakfast served by the owners!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 821royc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
488 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Great service. They were not busy so upgraded us to Room 19, with a little private balcony. Spacious room with very comfortable bed that is proper North American king size ( in Europe King can mean anything from 5ft to 6.5ft.). Fantastic breakfast, great snacks and a good bar. The food prices are very competitive, but after the breakfast lunch is a stretch. A terrific base.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We spent 14 nights in Portugal, traveling to every region in the country. We logged over 1600 km. This was the best experience in the entire country. It started when we parked the car in the underground garage. We were greeted by the proprietress and asked if we would like a beverage. We opted for wine and expected a bill, but none was forthcoming. Then the proprietor came out and we heard American English for the first time in ten days. Peter was wonderful chat with and made us feel welcome. The best thing about the hotel is the entire staff share that passion for welcoming guests. We felt like we were guests in their house, not a hotel. Breakfast was amazing too. We wished we had more days there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This wonderful hotel offers a relaxed retreat among the many touristic attractions of Evora. It is cosy and stylish, but what I liked especially is the wide range of services they offer and the amiability of the concierge. They give you advice on how to make your sta in Evora truly memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent one night here as part of a 10 day trip around Portugal.
A boutique hotel with tasteful dark wood decor. On arrival we were greeted with a choice of refreshing drinks. Our car was helpfully parked by the staff in the hotel’s own underground car park. The room was nice enough, I'm sure if we'd stayed more than one night, we could've got a bigger one.

But what set this apart from the other hotels was the level of service and quality of the breakfast. Whatever diet you’re on or whatever tastes you have, you’ll find something for breakfast here. Different types of fresh juices, different types of meat, cheese, bread, homemade cake, even different types of egg! The American owner was an attentive breakfast host, keeping the kitchen moving, making conversation with guests (in an impressive number of different languages). We were informed that everything was fresh and locally sourced, and we felt that nothing was too much trouble.

The town is small but pretty (the hotel is inside the historic centre) and was pleasant to walk around at night. The reception staff advised us on what to see, recommended some restaurants and gave us a map. Even when we left we were given bottles of mineral water and were advised on where to eat in our next destination (even pointing out that our chosen restaurant had closed down and offering an alternative).

In summary a great hotel with unbeatable service and the most diverse breakfast we’ve ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeRudeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I can't say enough about the lovely accommodations, the superb breakfasts and the warm, informative and friendly staff at this little hotel. Everything was great and they really go out of their way to make your stay a treat.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with a terrace which was really unexpected and we enjoyed it immensely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landarchNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.0 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#9 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing