We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking nothing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

As a comment for this site, we had such a wonderful time at the Albergaria do Calvario. It was more than we expected. Our stay was part honeymoon and also for my husband's EuroCALL conference at Evora University.
Firstly, all the staff were very kind and got along together so well, this atmosphere was felt by the guests. We looked forward to talking with staff at reception after coming back from dinner in town. Their faces were always cheerful and friendly. We especially miss talking with Carla and Soraia. One night, we ordered forks to eat our leftover wedding cake we had brought with us. (My husband told staff that we had wedding a few days ago in Sintra) After a slight delay, one of the staff, Rute, brought forks, dishes and a bottle of Champagne and glasses! You can imagine the surprise on our faces. We were so touched by that! Even when my husband got a terrible sore throat, Nina was prepared to have a local doctor do a house call on a Saturday. That's so professional! No request was too big or small - turns the hotels honey & lemon chamomile tea did the trick. We really appreciated the staff's TLC. It made us feel so protected and comfortable.
And the breakfasts!! All the food was organic and every special effort was made to have the produce provided by the local farmers. In addition to the grand assortment of fruits, cold-cuts, cheeses, fresh juices and grains available at the buffet, we could have any hot dish (including coffee or tea) served right our table. We didn't have to wait in line for anything. While syrup is not a local product Peter explained to us the organic process of the syrup made available with our breakfasts. We recommend french toast with Peter made maple syrup! Both Peter and Nina had an excellent way of blending chit-chat with quick service regardless of the customer's language background.
In the end, we felt lucky to stay such a famous hotel!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chiz716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,816)
There are newer reviews for Albergaria do Calvario
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a truly exceptional small hotel. The staff are amazing, they take time to learn what you are interested in doing, and make sure they offer the best possible advice. And the breakfasts were a true delight. Varied, fresh local products, all organic.

The guide services recommended for the Megalithic tours were also of a very high standard.

We elected to get a superior room, which gave us a separate seating area, with nice sofas, perfect for a nap after a long day enjoying Evora! Only five euros a night additional cost compared with standard room.

Tripadvisor needs to establish a six star rating!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xiphias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived early to Evora, parked our car outside the wall and then walked inside to explore the city. In the afternoon, we then found our way to Albergaria do Calvario where we were greeted enthusiastically by a young woman at the desk. She asked us if we wanted any water when a man piped in 'Or something stronger like a beer or a glass of wine?' 'Why yes' we replied! It turns out that he is the owner who also runs a mean breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was the best we had the entire two weeks in Portugal. Lots of organic grains, breads, yogurt, fruits, eggs done any way, you name it, it was there. He ran that place like a well oiled machine and so pleasant! We had a nice chat with his wife upon checking out and got their whole atory on how they came to own the Albergaria do Calvario. Very interesting.
Our room and bathroom was quite large and very nice. It was also a bonus that they have parking available underground.
We wished that we had time to stay for more than one night as it was one of our best stays in Portugal thanks to the friendly and competent staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just spent 3 wonderful days in Evora at the Albergaria do Calvario hotel. It was the highlight of our Portugal visit. If you have plans to go to Evora, I would cancel any other reservations and only stay here. We were greeted by John on our arrival - we were early so room not ready. Offered a cold drink and a seat, then he and the owner Peter, reviewed all that was available in the area. Given a comprehensive list of excellent local restaurants. Signed up for a trip to the monoliths with a local archeologist, Mario . . . . This alone saved us so much time searching for what we wanted to do. Breakfast was incredible with homemade breads, options for a hot breakfast. Room was clean and large for Portugal standard (with a kingsize bed). I can understand why Peter and his crew have received such amazing reviews. Always a friendly face and help with whatever we needed. Thanks Peter, John and "the girls" for a most memorable stay. Keep up the good work. My only regret is not leaving the Algarve area sooner to go to Evora.

Room Tip: we had a superior room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This review is a bit late since we stayed in Evora in May 2013.
We got to Evora by bus from Lisbon. The cab driver at the bus station recognised this Pousada from the booking printout we had brought with us and dropped us right at the doorstep.
The lobby was cosy and the check in extremely enlightening. We were given the beverage of our choice and a map of Evora with things to do. This young girl sat us down and made suggestions while listening keenly to our requirements. I have not had a better check in experience.
The suite we stayed in upstairs was spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. Very tasteful furnishings with no clutter at all. From the seating area ( seperate from the bedroom ) we could look across the narrow street into the home of a local family. Lovely feel of staying in an old city. Toilet was opulent with top class fixtures and marble.
Breakfast was amazing for the variety and quality of organic produce on display besides being delicious.
But the crowning glory of Albergaria do Calvario is the service. Every request was tackled with enthusiasm and a true desire to please. The staff at the Pousada organised a car and found out about an event for us to attend in a different town. Our trip to the Alentejo was complete thanks to the staff.
The dining suggestion we took, that should not be missed : Botequim da Mouraria
Go early .....they have just 8/9 seats.....fabulous local food !
Monsaraz about 2 hours away by car is a romantic medieval town worth a visit for the views and atmosphere. Lots of great deals at artsy shops a few cafes and close to the historical menhirs of Cromeleque do Xerez.
Close to Monsaraz is another gem...... the restaurant Adega Velha in Mourao. The local gentlemen in the neighbourhood drop in at Lunch time and break into song. The atmosphere is wonderful and the food and wine delicious but cheap.
Thanks to the hotel staff for making our trip to Evora so special.

Room Tip: Take the upstairs Suite !
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in early September and can offer the highest praise for all aspects of my stay. The staff are very friendly, highly competent and knowledgable on what to do and where to go.

Biggest Pros
- The Buffett breakfast is nothing short of sensational. A wide choice of hot / cold food & fresh juice. You will not need lunch.
- Hotel staff are excellent, we arrived rather late and there was also a mix-up over one of our suitcases. One of the hotel staff jumped into a taxi to retrieve the correct suitcase.
- Hotel room was very comfortable.

Only Con
- The only negative, and it's a small one, is the lack of an evening menu. A sandwich, tapas, cold meats & salad is the menu. They are tasty, but I would have expected a wider choice. There are many excellent restaurants nearby that the hotel can book for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is outstanding. It is intimate, comfortable, welcoming and homey - and the service is beyond compare. Highly, highly recommend it. It ended our Portugal trip on a very high note. And the food is great - something we found sadly lacking in most other Portugal locations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 26 in Evora
1,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $115 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing