We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Deserves all the praise it has been getting in the different hotel booking & evaluation sites. It is extremely comfortable and charming, you are served (buffet style) a royal breakfast, the personnel are extremely attentive to all your needs, and it is within walking distance to the historic nucleus of the beautiful town of Évora.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    134
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
254
1,114
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Evora is a charming little town in the Alentejo region and our experience was heightened by a great stay at Albergaria do Calvario.

A charming courtyard welcomed us after a short jaunt into the walled city. Parking was a breeze in their underground lot. And, the staff at reception was incredibly welcoming - the warmest we met in our Portugal travels. Specific tip of the hat to Ruth (wonderful) and her colleagues Carolina and another young woman (whose name escapes me just now, but who learned her US accented English from MTV) - their service and hospitality level was superb.

The room was clean, artsy, funky and had a pleasant view of the courtyard.

Breakfast was excellent - with fresh eggs cooked to order and a variety of locally sourced goods.

Public areas were gorgeous, well put together and comfortable.

From what I understand, the property is owned by an American and his Brazilian wife and they've created an experience akin to most boutique hotels that exist in the US, but that I havent seen as much in Europe.


Evora is well worth 2 days/3nights to fully get into the groove of R+R ...sadly, we were only there one night, but will return for a lnger stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GetOutTheMapGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

After 2 months on the road, we are getting critical of hotels. The warmth of welcome at this hotel from all the staff swept aside all cynicism. Their warmth shows through in all the details... the way breakfast is individually cooked... the 5 - minute tour advice when you arrive. The care in parking your car in their garage. This place deserves a booking in your travel plans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and we strongly recommend it to anyone staying in Evora.
The reception staff was very helpful and provided us with a list of restaurants of their choice that were amazing.
The breakfast buffet was made with only fresh ingredients, from the fruits salad to the cakes and bread... the best breakfast ever during our 10-day trip in Portugal !
The room was nice and clean. It was convenient to have an indoor parking as places are limited in Evora.
Also, the location of the hotel is great and very close to restaurants and main attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is as wonderful as it can come.
The reception by the front desk staff( in fact all round staff) was very attentive, kind and useful: a glass of wine and plenty information about Evora while waiting for the room to be ready and the luggage whisked away to the room.
Entering the room, it was very nice to have the room heated in this cold time. Bathroom was very spacious and comfortable.
Restaurant reservations were made for us upon their recommendation, and both lunch (Botequim da Mouraria for great tapas) and dinner (Taberna Tipica Quarta-Feira/ all about black pork) were wonderful.
Breakfast was a feast: extensive buffet + a la carte warm selections.
And there was the front desk staff again, interacting with the guests listening to their stories and giving suggestions.
Upon departure,a bottle of water was provided for each guests.
This was top notch luxury in a top notch location! Access to the hotel was unbelievable easy: just two right turns from the main road.
Thank you to all members of the staff. It was just wonderful.
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norbel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The five star reviews are well earned. The staff are beyond any hotel we have used. In addition, the breakfast is worth a visit alone. I don't know enough superlatives to continue. If you are near Evora, this is a must stay place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA CITY, IOWA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our 10 day trip of Portugal. This was the nicest place we stayed the whole trip. Including our nights in Porto & Lisbon. The breakfast was amazing!! The best we've had anywhere in Europe. It was so nice to have fresh milk on my cereal. We found that the room was small but clean. And we appreciated the quite. After coming from large noisy cities. The shower never ran out of hot water and good water pressure. Which is the most important thing to my husband. It rained all three days that we were there. But the staff was so helpful, finding us ideas on things to do while it was bad weather. I made some request to do some things that were out of the norm and they made it happen. I can honestly say after staying in many high-end hotels all over Europe that this quaint, little hotel offered More hospitality then most of those. Without charge. This hotel made a perfect stop to see Central Portugal by car. And the underground parking was tight but appreciated. Only rent a small car in Portugal! And stay here, you won't regret it. Thanks Michelle & Rute. You were great!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MANDM1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.4 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#7 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing