We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Evora”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Evora”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We did choose this hotel based on all the good ratings given on Tripadvisor by other travelers. The hotel is as good as described with very service minded employers. We enjoyed our short stay there and will come back on a later occasion to this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1959late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    134
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
254
1,114
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melecas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed over night at the Albergaria during the winter and had the most wonderful stay. We were with our teenage daughter so had a 2 bedroom suite which was exceptionally comfortable, lovely and warm and spotlessly clean. We received a very warm welcome from Nina, the owner, and her staff when we arrived (Peter was away at the time) and an offer of a drink which was very thoughtful.

We especially liked the useful information provided about restaurants in Evora and had a great meal at a local establishment. We really enjoyed walking around Evora and visiting the various monuments and churches - it is a great place to visit with so much history and beautiful buildings.

Breakfast was just amazing: delicious home-cooked bread and cakes, freshly cooked eggs to order, lots of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, meats, cheese....

Nina and Peter have really thought of everything possible to make their guests' stay the best ever and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit this area. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyPennyCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hard to imagine a more perfect place than this. The helpfulness and thoughtfulness of the staff must surely set new standards of excellence (even to the point of being able to explain why my hire car was "stalling" - problem solved!). The breakfast was extraordinarily varied, inventive and delicious - easily superior to any other hotel on our 8 week trip. Good underground parking serviced by a lift (they will happily park for you as the turn to the ramp is a little tight if you're not familiar with your car).
Rooms and bathrooms comfortable, light, quite spacious, very thoughtfully appointed and quiet (in October anyway). Beds were nice and comfortable. Only minor suggestion is for better bedside lighting; those shaded fittings so common in hotels might be great for mood lighting, but they are a trial to read by.
This hotel was booked for us by Portugaltrails, so it was a complete surprise and delight to us when we got there. Location is great and it is easy to find.

Room Tip: First floor room near the lift was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Albergaria do Calvario had been recommended to us by Sintra Boutique Hotel and we spent 3 nights with them in Evora. This is a lovely hotel where everything was just right: the location in the town, the spacious and well appointed room and bathroom, comfortable beds, absolutely delicious breakfast and the out-of-this-world friendliness of the Staff who spoiled us royally! Thank you very very much for a phantastic stay. We shall be back.
Floridians

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svend P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

we felt, as soon as we arrived, that we had come home and there was a dear family waiting for us. one always wants to feel welcomed, as a special guest, and that is how we felt here. conversations upon arrival, at breakfast, and at any moment with an urban and sophisticated staff - in english - were a large part of the excellence. the owner clearly understands hospitality well. our arranged trips to the neolithic stones with an archaeologist, a private tour of the convent, restaurant recommendations tailored to my vegan diet, it seemed that everything was easy for them. we will certainly pass up other experiences to return here and delve a little more deeply into alentejan culture. bravo.

Room Tip: as i am vegan, we were offered the suite off the patio because it has a kitchen, and the staff were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We came for a weekend when the whole country was hit by a storm. Despite the cold, strong winds and heavy rain, our stay was perfect. And it had a lot to do with this hotel. The staff is beyond friendly and willing to help you in everyday. The room was big, clean and the bed so comfortable. The breakfast offered plenty of variety with local and biological products - the juices alone are worth it! Great value for money, we'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Level Contributor
133 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a treasure this small hotel was. We flew to Madrid from USA east coast, had a long day drive across to Portugal, found the hotel, and were welcomed by friendly staff, a lovely room, and a great bed. Even ironed sheets! Parking was right under the hotel, so easy! Ask for the list of recommended restaurants. We found a great one, within easy walking distance. (Since we were still on east coast time, we were exhausted and were literally waiting for the waitress to open the door: Restaurante “O Trovador” on Rua da Mostardeira, 4. Excellent, light meal.) I had a google map of the hotel location, which is right inside one of the gate walls, but look for the aqueduct as landmark for turn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnOurWay038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.4 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#7 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing