We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hard to imagine a more perfect place than this. The helpfulness and thoughtfulness of the staff must surely set new standards of excellence (even to the point of being able to explain why my hire car was "stalling" - problem solved!). The breakfast was extraordinarily varied, inventive and delicious - easily superior to any other hotel on our 8 week trip. Good underground parking serviced by a lift (they will happily park for you as the turn to the ramp is a little tight if you're not familiar with your car).
Rooms and bathrooms comfortable, light, quite spacious, very thoughtfully appointed and quiet (in October anyway). Beds were nice and comfortable. Only minor suggestion is for better bedside lighting; those shaded fittings so common in hotels might be great for mood lighting, but they are a trial to read by.
This hotel was booked for us by Portugaltrails, so it was a complete surprise and delight to us when we got there. Location is great and it is easy to find.

Room Tip: First floor room near the lift was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Albergaria do Calvario had been recommended to us by Sintra Boutique Hotel and we spent 3 nights with them in Evora. This is a lovely hotel where everything was just right: the location in the town, the spacious and well appointed room and bathroom, comfortable beds, absolutely delicious breakfast and the out-of-this-world friendliness of the Staff who spoiled us royally! Thank you very very much for a phantastic stay. We shall be back.
Floridians

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svend P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

we felt, as soon as we arrived, that we had come home and there was a dear family waiting for us. one always wants to feel welcomed, as a special guest, and that is how we felt here. conversations upon arrival, at breakfast, and at any moment with an urban and sophisticated staff - in english - were a large part of the excellence. the owner clearly understands hospitality well. our arranged trips to the neolithic stones with an archaeologist, a private tour of the convent, restaurant recommendations tailored to my vegan diet, it seemed that everything was easy for them. we will certainly pass up other experiences to return here and delve a little more deeply into alentejan culture. bravo.

Room Tip: as i am vegan, we were offered the suite off the patio because it has a kitchen, and the staff were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We came for a weekend when the whole country was hit by a storm. Despite the cold, strong winds and heavy rain, our stay was perfect. And it had a lot to do with this hotel. The staff is beyond friendly and willing to help you in everyday. The room was big, clean and the bed so comfortable. The breakfast offered plenty of variety with local and biological products - the juices alone are worth it! Great value for money, we'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a treasure this small hotel was. We flew to Madrid from USA east coast, had a long day drive across to Portugal, found the hotel, and were welcomed by friendly staff, a lovely room, and a great bed. Even ironed sheets! Parking was right under the hotel, so easy! Ask for the list of recommended restaurants. We found a great one, within easy walking distance. (Since we were still on east coast time, we were exhausted and were literally waiting for the waitress to open the door: Restaurante “O Trovador” on Rua da Mostardeira, 4. Excellent, light meal.) I had a google map of the hotel location, which is right inside one of the gate walls, but look for the aqueduct as landmark for turn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnOurWay038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel, we were surprised it is rated as the number one hotel in Evora. The facilities and the rooms were nothing special. However we soon discovered why. The service is just superb. All staff are very attentive and always looking to help. On our second night we were upgraded to the private villa outside town, with access to a private swimming pool. That was fantastic.
The breakfast at the hotel is amazing. Huge selection of local fare, both sweet and savoury. Hard to stop eating.
Upon checkout, we left a tip. Within half an hour of leaving the hotel, we had received a thank you email from the staff. How often do you get this? The staff at this hotel are second to none.

Room Tip: Get the private villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

In July, we took our kids for holidays in Portugal. One of the places we decided to visit was Évora, in the Alentejo area. We had heard wonderful things about Albergaria do Calvário through Trip Advisor and other sites and we booked it through Booking.com.
When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised at how pretty and nicely decorated the entire place was. You could tell that every detail was well thought off, from the refreshments in the reception area, to the rooms decor and the courtyard set up.
The staff was wonderful. I can't stress how helpful they were, in giving us information on local attractions, to calling the hotel we were going next to change the arrival date once we decided to stay an extra day in Évora. They were very gracious and concerned hosts.
The breakfast was really good, and you can definitely tell they are used to North American tourists (the manager or owner is American) by offering to make you omelets and/or pancakes aside from the buffet style breakfast options already offered. The brunch style breakfast gave us enough sustenance to endure the days of touring or walking with our kids in the city.
The location is also nice, inside the old city, right by the city wall. Easy walking distance to main attractions.
The beautiful courtyard is a perfect and agreeable place to relax in the evening, with a glass of wine or even a light dinner that they can prepare for you.
There is free Wi-Fi in this hotel, which is nice, as we didn't encounter that in half of the hotels we stayed in Portugal.
We highly recommend this hotel for both families and couples. It was the best hotel of our 2 week trip in Portugal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel and Clau... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 27 in Evora
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 27 in Evora
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 27 in Evora
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $119 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing