We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 5 Reasons You Should Stay Here:”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top 5 Reasons You Should Stay Here:”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

1) The staff at Albergaria do Calvario are not just friendly & helpful, their hospitality and graciousness exceeds any I've experienced in a hotel throughout my 30+ years of avid travel. From the many languages spoken fluently by the staff, to their thoughtful restaurant recommendations and making of reservations, to arranging wine tours, to providing us with transportation schedules... the staff repeatedly went above and beyond by providing an excellent level of service and seemed authentically committed to ensuring that each guest has a fabulous stay in Evora.

2) The rooms at Albergaria do Calvario are clean and spacious, comfortably air conditioned, and well-appointed with a small refrigerator (perhaps, like me, you'll find you need to take some of your enormous dinner portion of black ham to-go). The towels are thick and the beds are super comfy.

3) The included breakfast buffet is truly superlative. And this comes from a connoisseur of breakfasts around the world! Everyone who knows me well, knows that I like a substantial breakfast. In contrast, my traveling companion likes an espresso and something light. Albergaria do Calvario provides perfect options for every traveler. Their daily buffet includes a variety of local & seasonal fruits, fresh squeezed juices, frittata, quiche, yogurt, choice of breads and cakes, cheeses, etc. Even I was totally satiated by the buffet! But don't fret if you fancy an omelette or french toast, as they have an additional menu you can order off of as well (also included in your room price).

4) Their attention to aesthetic details is impeccable. The owners of Albergaria do Calvario have created a charming and soothing retreat in their shared spaces. There are a couple lounge rooms in which to relax and the patio is a fabulous spot to sample their selection of local wines in the evenings, enjoy their tapas menu (don't miss the fabulous local cheese that they serve baked for spreading on fresh bread), and chat with the international crowd.

5) On top of all of this (see reasons 1-4), Albergaria do Calvario is an amazing value. For this level of service, comfort, hospitality, and beautiful setting inside the Roman walls of Evora, we were quite pleasantly shocked by the total on our bill.

I plan to travel back to Portugal in part so I can stay at Albergaria do Calvario again. I hope you get to enjoy it too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,597
    136
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
259
1,154
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The customer service is excellent, it is the best we have ever experienced. Peter, his wife and staff know how to treat their customers. We were welcomed with a beer and glass of wine. They recommended excellent restaurants, provided directions, made reservations and always greeted us. The breakfast was excellent and prepared with the freshest ingredients and everything is homemade, including all the jams. We had the apartment which was very spacious, and the courtyard is a very nice place to relax and enjoy a drink. We highly recommend you pick this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNow1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A lovely stylish hotel with fantastic service. Staff are the most friendly and helpful we have experienced. We loved our room and the secluded garden courtyard where we enjoyed a glass of wine and ate a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent two nights at the Albergaria. The reviews had all been terrific so we were expecting a lovely experience and that's exactly what we had. The staff are all young, multi-lingual, enthusiastic, well-informed, gracious, and attentive. They must be extremely well trained because they remember everything and they greet you with questions that indicate that they've paid attention to what you've said you intended to do and where you planned to go. They have good suggestions for restaurants, too.

Breakfast is amazing thought almost a bit too attentive. There is always someone there ready to refill your coffee (or bring you hot chocolate, too); They focus on local food sources and healthy and organic foods and their selections are yummy.

The location is perfect for exploring the city on foot or for traveling to the countryside to visit vineyards or other local attractions.

Evora is a beautiful, immaculate city which enjoys a lovely climate. It's a perfect destination for people who have spent days in the dizzying traffic of Lisbon.

Definitely the right place to stay in this region!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babznlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was phenomenal. It has been our best hotel experience by far. We felt so warmly greeted by our host and treated like special company. The breakfast was exquisite and lavish, including fresh local ingredients and embodying the slow food movement. The room was quiet, clean, and had ample space, parking was easy and onsite, and we were given great ideas for day excusions outside of the village. The special experience of staying at this hotel made our trip to Evora memorable, and we loved every minute of our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 555erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tularosa, NM
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Excellent staff, helpful, good breakfast, comfortable room, convenient location, and good recommendations for sightseeing and dining--I wish we had planned on staying longer! We stayed on the ground floor in a large room. Everything very comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

As soon as we arrived at the Albergaria do Calvario I knew instantly why this hotel is the number one rated hotel in Evora. Were immediately enfolded into the care of this most gracious staff, starting with Sara, who showed us to our lovely room. I had requested a quiet room in my original e-mail, and she repeated to me as she lead us to our room (No. 15) that it was quiet. One of the three Johns working at the hotel took our car and parked it in the underground garage, leaving us free of care. The day was warm and sunny, and the whole hotel buzzed with excitement. On a long table set out in the main salon, we were invited to take a glass of the home-made iced tea, scented with mint, fresh squeezed apple juice or another house-invented juice concoction. A large plate laid with slices of orange cake beckoned. Upstairs, on a bench overlooking the patio, an artist was sketching a view of the colorful scene below. After we unpacked, all three of the Johns, gave us their expert opinions of where to eat dinner. However, in the end, we decided that there was no better place for us, that evening, than the patio to sample the many tapas on offer. We were not disappointed. The salad, served with fresh ingredients from the Alentejo region, was one of the best salads I've ever eaten. The hotel has a policy of serving only farm fresh foods gathered from nearby fields. Even wine from the Duoro River valley was too far away! Of note is the wonderfully tasty sangria, which we enjoyed most afternoons.

Our room was spacious, and overlooked the patio. Despite the fact that the patio was well used, the other guests were very considerate, and kept their voices low. We were never bothered by noise from any part of the hotel. Each room has individual climate control, so we were quite comfortable. The bathroom was marble-lined, and offered a large counter for letting us spread out. The toiletries were very nice, and refreshed daily. The towels were large and fluffy. The hotel also has an elevator, which made the transport of our bags a breeze.

It turns out that we stayed longer than most guests, which was 5 nights. I heard many a guest express their wish that they'd stayed longer as they reluctantly left the hotel. As this hotel makes a perfect base for exploration of the Alentejo, it is a shame not to spend more time here. As such, we were able to enjoy the company of the staff and owners, who were kindness itself. Peter, the owner, hails from Virginia Beach, VA, and his lovely wife Nina is Brazilian, but educated at UCLA. Everyone speaks English (and other languages including Spanish, German and French) so that communications are no problem. It appeared that their sole wish in life was to make their guests comfortable. One day my husband was not feeling well, and the staff were instantly concerned, even coming up with a traditional Portuguese remedy for his malady. It worked! When he was finally feeling well enough to venture out, everyone cheered. This example of their kindness is only a small sample of how the owners and staff of the Albergaria do Calvario took care of us, and we will always be grateful to them for all they did for us.

The common rooms in the hotel, which was remodeled from an old farm house, which supplied olive oil to the convent next door, retain the feel of a home rather than a hotel. They are stocked with books and magazines, comfortable couches and chairs. We also had the free use of a computer, which was very handy. The day my husband was not feeling well, I spent a lot of time in one of the salons, and was almost reluctant to leave! Certainly by the end of our stay, we definitely did not want to leave. Only the thought that our next stop was the enchanting village of Sintra, enabled us to go. We retain very fond memories of our stay, and will definitely return on our next visit to Portugal.

Room Tip: Probably the only room to avoid is the one just off the patio, on the ground level. All of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkeleytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 25 in Evora
747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#9 of 25 in Evora
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Property: Albergaria do Calvario
Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing