We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graciousness Personified”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

As soon as we arrived at the Albergaria do Calvario I knew instantly why this hotel is the number one rated hotel in Evora. Were immediately enfolded into the care of this most gracious staff, starting with Sara, who showed us to our lovely room. I had requested a quiet room in my original e-mail, and she repeated to me as she lead us to our room (No. 15) that it was quiet. One of the three Johns working at the hotel took our car and parked it in the underground garage, leaving us free of care. The day was warm and sunny, and the whole hotel buzzed with excitement. On a long table set out in the main salon, we were invited to take a glass of the home-made iced tea, scented with mint, fresh squeezed apple juice or another house-invented juice concoction. A large plate laid with slices of orange cake beckoned. Upstairs, on a bench overlooking the patio, an artist was sketching a view of the colorful scene below. After we unpacked, all three of the Johns, gave us their expert opinions of where to eat dinner. However, in the end, we decided that there was no better place for us, that evening, than the patio to sample the many tapas on offer. We were not disappointed. The salad, served with fresh ingredients from the Alentejo region, was one of the best salads I've ever eaten. The hotel has a policy of serving only farm fresh foods gathered from nearby fields. Even wine from the Duoro River valley was too far away! Of note is the wonderfully tasty sangria, which we enjoyed most afternoons.

Our room was spacious, and overlooked the patio. Despite the fact that the patio was well used, the other guests were very considerate, and kept their voices low. We were never bothered by noise from any part of the hotel. Each room has individual climate control, so we were quite comfortable. The bathroom was marble-lined, and offered a large counter for letting us spread out. The toiletries were very nice, and refreshed daily. The towels were large and fluffy. The hotel also has an elevator, which made the transport of our bags a breeze.

It turns out that we stayed longer than most guests, which was 5 nights. I heard many a guest express their wish that they'd stayed longer as they reluctantly left the hotel. As this hotel makes a perfect base for exploration of the Alentejo, it is a shame not to spend more time here. As such, we were able to enjoy the company of the staff and owners, who were kindness itself. Peter, the owner, hails from Virginia Beach, VA, and his lovely wife Nina is Brazilian, but educated at UCLA. Everyone speaks English (and other languages including Spanish, German and French) so that communications are no problem. It appeared that their sole wish in life was to make their guests comfortable. One day my husband was not feeling well, and the staff were instantly concerned, even coming up with a traditional Portuguese remedy for his malady. It worked! When he was finally feeling well enough to venture out, everyone cheered. This example of their kindness is only a small sample of how the owners and staff of the Albergaria do Calvario took care of us, and we will always be grateful to them for all they did for us.

The common rooms in the hotel, which was remodeled from an old farm house, which supplied olive oil to the convent next door, retain the feel of a home rather than a hotel. They are stocked with books and magazines, comfortable couches and chairs. We also had the free use of a computer, which was very handy. The day my husband was not feeling well, I spent a lot of time in one of the salons, and was almost reluctant to leave! Certainly by the end of our stay, we definitely did not want to leave. Only the thought that our next stop was the enchanting village of Sintra, enabled us to go. We retain very fond memories of our stay, and will definitely return on our next visit to Portugal.

Room Tip: Probably the only room to avoid is the one just off the patio, on the ground level. All of the rooms...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berkeleytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,816)
There are newer reviews for Albergaria do Calvario
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel experience was amazing – primarily because of the staff and it was just peaceful location. It’s not super fancy like a 5 star luxury city hotel but it had all that we needed and more. It had a Mexican/Spanish feel in its architecture and vibe – but that is also the Alentejo region. We loved it and wished we could have stayed longer to just sit and enjoy the courtyard - we stayed two nights/3 days. Incredible hospitality!!! We've never met hotel staff who was this helpful!! From the warm welcome in the lobby (including fresh carrot juice or apple juice lemonade), valeting our car, offering lunch at 3pm, great dinner suggestions to authentic non touristy restaurants, assistance with planning the rest of our travels/ hotel reservations - they literally made calls and emailed hotels and confirmed reservations for us, the yummy breakfast spread and menu items, etc. Each staff member was friendly and of course it helped that most spoke English! Great patio courtyard to enjoy breakfast or a drink, nice lounge with computer access, books, etc, and room was clean and quaint. Liked the UNstocked fridge so that we had room to put our leftovers from Taberna Tipico! Room had a good size bathroom with enough counter space to put out our toiletries. It had a small screen TV that we didn’t watch and a big armoire for a closet; The bed was hard for my taste but ok for Robin. Free wifi; free parking; Cost = $136USD/night including breakfast - booked directly with hotel as the travel sites said it was sold out; The hotel is located just inside the city walls and an easy 10 minutes walk on cobbled stone sidewalk into center of town with shops and restaurants along the way. The only warning is that it was very hot when we were there in early September - like 97F; Don't even consider any other hotel in Evora; I've never read about a hotel on TA that has 100% positive reviews and this place deserves it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia-and-Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our visit to Evora was towards the end of our 3 week tour of Portugal and we thought we had received great service in the hotels before but the Albergaria do Calvario was even better. From the moment we arrived all of the staff including the owners could not do enough for us. The fact that Michelle was an Australian made it even better. The hotel itself is delightful with large rooms a great outdoor area and the best breakfast in Portugal (you could virtually have anything you wanted). Evora is a must visit city in Portugal and the hotel is a "must stay".

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

In all my years of traveling, I have never been as graciously welcomed in a hotel (or resort, or B&B) as I was at the Albergaria do Calvario. The warmth of the staff (each & every one of them!), the attentiveness, the hospitality, and the extraordinary level of guest care is without peer. We were given a map of the city, with info on the hours of all points of interest, as well as a list of recommended restaurants (the two we tried were two of the best restaurants we experienced on our entire trip) and a welcome beverage. Our room was large, immaculately clean, and very comfortable. Breakfast was a dream come true: you want it? They've got it! Peter (the owner & most impeccable host) is there when you need him, ever ready to do whatever he can to accommodate his guests. We were sorry that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank have_time_wil_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a great stay, the service was outstanding! The rooms are clean and very comfortable, and quiet! Although it was a short stay, it was one of our more enjoyable experiences. The hotel provides a clear map and information of Evora so that you can explore on foot, the restaurants that they recommend are also worth exploring, fantastic food in Evora!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Simone_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful surprise in a town which is full of many surprises. We stayed in Portugal for 8 nights, each night in a different town and hotel, and the Albergaria do Calvario was surely the best. A very pleasant setting, attention to details of service and cleanliness, and above all a most friendly staff that makes you feel like a member of the house from the moment you set foot there. Breakfast was likewise exquisite. Our only complaint -- and a very minor one at that -- was that behind the wall of our room there was a concentration of AC motors which compromised the quality of sleep somewhat. If you are sensitive to noise, just make sure you are given another room, and enjoy this wonderful place to the full.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived in reception rather hot after a 20 minute walk from the bus station. It wasn't a difficult walk but we did worry about the wheels on our cases over the cobbles, we'd apparently come the long way round and there's a much simpler, kinder on the cases route around the outside of the city wall rather than the streets within the city wall.

The team at reception were fantastic, we obviously looked in need of refreshment and they immediately offered us all a complimentary cold drink before very efficiently checking us in. Once we felt more refreshed John was very helpful in explaining places to visit highlighting a map for us with all the main sights he even gave us a printed sheet with various restaurants serving local cuisine.

Our room, No.10, was very large with a sumptious queen sized bed and lovely crisp white linen. We always take a travel kettle and there was even an empty fridge where we could keep fresh milk etc and the complimentary bottle of water that was supplied each day which was a lovely touch. The bathroom was a very good size too with plenty of hot water and a powerful over the bath shower.

Breakfast was a delight with a plentiful selection of fresh fruit, cereal, cakes, bread, pastries etc and a hot selection of eggs in various guises cooked to order, the food was mostly organic and locally sourced. There were multiple choices of everything even the tea and coffee, the service from Peter was outstanding he made us feel very welcome.

Everything about this hotel is set up for the comfort of the guests, I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Evora.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 26 in Evora
1,125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa dos Lagares 3, Evora 7000-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $115 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing