We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Evora
hebburn
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Another surprising find. On the road travelling thro Portugal we had popped into Evora, a historic city full of interesting places to see...We were intending drinking coffee in the town then heading south when I came across this old and spectacular hotel. I looked in and asked for rates etc. The room we wanted was on the top floor, without a lift it was no good for us so I declined it. The owner then showed me a more luxurious room on the floor below, it was warm, cosy and attractive. i loved it and after some minor haggling got the room at a knock down price. Included in the cost was the breakfast and car parking. We enjoyed our stay so much. The hotel is close to the ancient city square with lots of shops and cafes. Again the staff were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There is no lift for folks with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DisappointedHebburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    80
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
28
80
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio De Janeiro
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were four, so the room was a bit too small. But otherwise the hotel was a great deal - we payed 63 euros per night for the four of us (a couple with two small children) with breakfast. Very well located, nice breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Riviera is a little bit tired but the service provided by the staff was top notch. The rooms were a little small but they were clean and comfortable. But it is really the location that makes this hotel worth the visit. Just an easy two minute walk to the square with it's shops and restaurants it is also central to all the wonderful historical sites in Evora.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

It has been a while since my last visit to Évora but when I realized that I'd need to stay over here, I immediately called Riviera Hotel and booked a room without even asking the price. It really is like staying home, where you have the welcoming smile of the staff that remembers you, a nice and clean room without too many things, but nothing missing, wooden floors, comfortable bed, ...
The plus? This is probably the only hotel that offers traditional bread, regional cheeses and smoked hams for breakfast! Oh, and the location: it couldn't be more central!

Room Tip: Call directly; ask for a room on the back to make sure you don't hear any noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisbonStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great place right in the very centre of the town just off the main square. Rooms had whitewashed walls and brick exposed ceilings and spotless. Nice atmosphere and would stay again, breakfast was a great selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DollyBirdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is smack-dab in the middle of historic Evora- and it has parking! Unfortunately, to find the place (and the hotel's parking spaces), we had to park our car outside the city center, track down the hotel, then move our car again once they provided us with a map. This was a minor inconvenience for us- but it's worth noting.

Other than the location- which is great, this is a pretty average hotel. The room was a bit dingy and the bathroom was small.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phosphora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Riviera it was very well situated. The room is a good size, very clean.The decoration is not that great, a little bit old and at the minimum. Breakfast is ok but they could do better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syllabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
0.3 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
0.4 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#10 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: Rua 5 de Outubro 47 49, Evora 7000-854, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Riviera Évora
Residencial Riviera Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing