We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable place to stay in”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Barcelona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable place to stay in”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were just a few days ago, and we found everything was excellent about this little hotel. Rooms are comfortable and small (but not too much), and the decoration seemed carefully choosen. Both the TV and the air conditioned worked fine, and everything was clean and tidy. Common areas were also nice and comfortable. Wi-fi reached all the areas of the hotel.
Continental breakfast was not really variated, but it was fine anyway. Prices were adequated, and the man in the reception was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielvicario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    82
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
28
81
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stumbled on Hotel Riviera in Évora, Portugal, on accident after we left our reserved hotel (ÉvoraMoorsHouse) in disgust with the filth. Around the corner we glimpsed Hotel Riviera and immediately thought it looked nice and welcoming. It was more than that. The wonderfully kind man at the reception showed me the rooms he had available and alerted me that there was a bar below the hotel that sometimes got loud. He told us about the preserved ancient Roman wall that was behind glass in the lobby. He single-handedly carried our luggage up the stairs. We took two double rooms and they were both spotless and roomy. The A/C worked well and the showers had strong pressure. We did hear the bar noise a little bit until about 2:00 a.m. but the windows had double-paned glass so it wasn't a problem. There was free parking nearby and the hotel location was near the Temple of Diana. Highly recommend anyone stay at Hotel Riviera.

Room Tip: I guess you could ask to be on the opposite side of the bar below, but the noise is not really that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToEuropeWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our second stay, this time with friends.

It is a comfortable, well established hotel in an older but renovated building in a very convenient location for wandering around historic Evora. It is is a pedestrianized little street (but beware the odd vehicle!) and has 5 parking spaces nearby next to the cathedral (Se’) and for which a small charge is usually made. Getting there was difficult this time due to building work closing the main access and the signs sent us around very tiny streets, but we arrived safely. A good tip for finding it is to follow the signs to the Roman temple, as it is just beyond this and below the cathedral.

The staff are welcoming and will help with luggage, especially helpful as it is rather a rambling building and some rooms are on the second floor. Thus it may not be suitable for those with mobility problems, though our friend who uses a stick managed fine. We have stayed both at the front and back of the building and had no problems, but this time our friends who were at the front, like some reviewers, experienced considerable noise outside till 5 a.m. Hotel staff have protested to the Police to little effect.

The rooms are well fitted and comfortable, have A/C, Wi Fi, TV including English language news, and thoughtful and modern bathrooms. Most rooms on the first floor are larger and correspondingly more expensive.

Breakfast is very pleasanrt and is the usual Portuguese buffet of fruit and cereals, breads, cold meats, cheeses and delicious jams with tea and coffee.

Evora, an UNESCO Worldf Heritage Site, has a history back to Roman times and which can be explored in museums and the graceful buildings. It has a cathedral, a convent now a pousada, an university, lovely squares and little roads to explore, and city walls. It is in the Alentejo, the big grain growing area of Portugal and so has expanded into a larger more modern city.

Room Tip: Some people staying at the front of the hotel have experienced noise from the street until 5 a.m., a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Riviera is very well located downtown Evora, between the Sé Cathedral and the Giraldo Plaza. It's an old building, nicely renovated and transformed into an hotel. We use it often in our terracottajourneys bike tours. The service is good and I recommended to all my friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms are nicer than others. As a rule of thumb, the ones facing the R. 5 Outubro are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terracotta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hotel has good staff that made us feel welcome. Situated in the old town on a quiet pedestrian street. We had difficulty locating Hotel as GPS takes you in via a number of closed (at the moment) streets which are now only for pedestrian. We worked it out. The Hotel has five marked parking spots quite close to the Hotel - which we were not charged for. Good value. As we stayed on the week end, there were several noisy drinking groups throughout the night. I believe this in an ongoing concern. Something to keep in mind, but rooms were clean with enough room. Would stay again due to location and value.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the rear - less noise from drinkers late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We arrived at this hotel during low season, without a reservation.
They welcomed us in and showed us to a room right away.
It is a good, clean hotel, with a decent included breakfast and free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Very good place, excellent location, nice staff (all the hotel employees I have met have been extremely kind). Wi-fi connection works pretty well. Rooms are very charming. Breakfast is also good, but biscuits are really excellent.
I have noticed only one (minor) problem: if you need an hair dryer, you need to ask the receptionnist.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fab_1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.5 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#10 of 25 in Evora
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: Rua 5 de Outubro 47 49, Evora 7000-854, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Riviera Évora
Residencial Riviera Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing