We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was our second stay, this time with friends.

It is a comfortable, well established hotel in an older but renovated building in a very convenient location for wandering around historic Evora. It is is a pedestrianized little street (but beware the odd vehicle!) and has 5 parking spaces nearby next to the cathedral (Se’) and for which a small charge is usually made. Getting there was difficult this time due to building work closing the main access and the signs sent us around very tiny streets, but we arrived safely. A good tip for finding it is to follow the signs to the Roman temple, as it is just beyond this and below the cathedral.

The staff are welcoming and will help with luggage, especially helpful as it is rather a rambling building and some rooms are on the second floor. Thus it may not be suitable for those with mobility problems, though our friend who uses a stick managed fine. We have stayed both at the front and back of the building and had no problems, but this time our friends who were at the front, like some reviewers, experienced considerable noise outside till 5 a.m. Hotel staff have protested to the Police to little effect.

The rooms are well fitted and comfortable, have A/C, Wi Fi, TV including English language news, and thoughtful and modern bathrooms. Most rooms on the first floor are larger and correspondingly more expensive.

Breakfast is very pleasanrt and is the usual Portuguese buffet of fruit and cereals, breads, cold meats, cheeses and delicious jams with tea and coffee.

Evora, an UNESCO Worldf Heritage Site, has a history back to Roman times and which can be explored in museums and the graceful buildings. It has a cathedral, a convent now a pousada, an university, lovely squares and little roads to explore, and city walls. It is in the Alentejo, the big grain growing area of Portugal and so has expanded into a larger more modern city.

Room Tip: Some people staying at the front of the hotel have experienced noise from the street until 5 a.m., a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    81
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
28
80
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Riviera is very well located downtown Evora, between the Sé Cathedral and the Giraldo Plaza. It's an old building, nicely renovated and transformed into an hotel. We use it often in our terracottajourneys bike tours. The service is good and I recommended to all my friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms are nicer than others. As a rule of thumb, the ones facing the R. 5 Outubro are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terracotta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hotel has good staff that made us feel welcome. Situated in the old town on a quiet pedestrian street. We had difficulty locating Hotel as GPS takes you in via a number of closed (at the moment) streets which are now only for pedestrian. We worked it out. The Hotel has five marked parking spots quite close to the Hotel - which we were not charged for. Good value. As we stayed on the week end, there were several noisy drinking groups throughout the night. I believe this in an ongoing concern. Something to keep in mind, but rooms were clean with enough room. Would stay again due to location and value.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the rear - less noise from drinkers late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We arrived at this hotel during low season, without a reservation.
They welcomed us in and showed us to a room right away.
It is a good, clean hotel, with a decent included breakfast and free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Very good place, excellent location, nice staff (all the hotel employees I have met have been extremely kind). Wi-fi connection works pretty well. Rooms are very charming. Breakfast is also good, but biscuits are really excellent.
I have noticed only one (minor) problem: if you need an hair dryer, you need to ask the receptionnist.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fab_1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2011

.This is a well run hotel situated on a quiet street in the heart of a medieval town. It is good value for money and the staff are helpful and welcoming. If you are driving, reserve one of the five hotel parking spaces. Parking otherwise is difficult.

The one criticism I would make is the noise from feral drinkers who disturb the streets below the bedrooms all through the night and I mean from 23.00 hours until 07.00 hours .... and we had two nights of this!

The hotel management have complained to the police who are seem powerless to prevent the shouts, screams and other loud noises made by mainly young men and girls. Take ear plugs, there are no rooms not affected in some way or another.

Room Tip: Take your chances!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vvanostade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Residencial Riviera is a very smart choice for your stay in Evora, a beautiful university town with lots of nightly action.

The rooms at Riviera were nice, the bathroom clean, the breakfast tasty, and the location excellent.

The service and reception was perhaps not as warm as I was accustomed to in Portugal, but overall we were satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ale_Viola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solar de Monfalim
0.3 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
0.4 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#10 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: Rua 5 de Outubro 47 49, Evora 7000-854, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Riviera Évora
Residencial Riviera Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing