We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, big hotel.”
Review of Evora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Evora Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Evora
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the 'Evora Hotel' during a conference that could create a chaotic environment, but that was not the case.

The 'Evora Hotel' is located outside the historical center which makes it more distant from your day -to-day sight seeing, but grants you less confusion from other travellers.

The hotel is big: its size is visible from the outside as well as on the inside. Getting from the end of the hall to the closest elevator will take a bit of courage. However, extra interior and exterior space is not left to waste. There is a large outside pool (although the weather and time of year denied a chance of using it) and the lobby area is full of tables, sofas and places to have a talk, relax, work and have some fun.

The rooms - at least the one I stayed in - was spacious and had everything you need and expect. A double bed, television (mix of portuguese and spanish channels), a sofa, a 'table', your mini-bar, a safe; the bathroom also had your hygiene offerings. We were also able to grab a room with a view to the pool. The only problem with the room was the sound isolation. You could easily hear when others were taking a shower or leaving/entering their rooms (or talking in the hall).

Lastly, considering breakfast, it too had everything you would expect: cereals, eggs and bacon, fruit, cofee, toast, cake.

The personnel are polite and helpful and the value is acceptable (even though we got a special price because of the conference).

In general, while a bit out of the center, the spaciousness is worth the stay. It's a nice, big hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Customer´s opinion is very important to evaluate our service and guest satisfaction index. We are very pleased that the hotel was at your taste. It is true that we are a big hotel, and we try to satisfy the different needs of the ones who visit us. Hope to seeing you soon in Évora, may be in another conference.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 848 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in early October and liked the hotel. It proved to be excellent value for money. The included breakfast buffet was of a high standard and as the hotel is a little outside town we ate at the hotel buffet one evening and found a large selection of local dishes on offer. What really stood out for us was the service offered by the waiter Armando - he provided extensive local information, recommended an excellent local wine (invisivel from Ervideira) and local cheese (Serpa).

The pool is good the hotel has good Wifi throughout and has a local wine store on site and staff are very knowledgeable on local vineyards to visit as well as the key sites to see.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool don't get as much sunshine as those to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highland_Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013
Google Translation

Caro visitante,

Obrigada pelos seus comentários acerca da sua estadia no Évora hotel. Ficamos contentes que a sua estadia tenha sido do seu agrado, assim como a qualidade do pequeno-almoço, buffet do jantar e principalmente o serviço, bem como as recomendações acerca do que visitar, e os vinhos. Esperamos por si numa visita em breve à nossa cidade.
Melhores cumprimentos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Calm, Relaxing and a great Sangria :)
I spent a weekend with a friend by the easter (we found a great promo on booking.com) and we loved it. A 5* Breakfast with everything we can ask and more... I just miss the great outside pool...it was too cold.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank MissPaulinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013
Google Translation

Caro visitante,
Obrigada pela sua avaliação, e pelos seus comentários sobre o hotel. Esperamos vê-lo numa próxima visita a Évora.

Cumprimentos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Pros : lots of space, nice views, nice gardens and swimming pools, wine shop, balcony, good service at swimming pool bar, free parking.
Cons : awfull restaurant service, dangerous (very slippery) carpets at the entrance, ridiculous in room safe ( opens with a big - absent- key ). No seats provided on the balcony. You need a car in order to visit town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misseghers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear visitor,

Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel. We appreciate your analysis of the positive aspects on the hotel (parking, swimming pool, wines and gardens) as well as the less positive ( the safe deposit and balcony). As far as location is concerned, we would like to add that Evora Hotel is a 5 minute distance from the historic center, and a taxi to the city center costs 4 €.
Hope to seeing you soon in Evora hotel.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

There was a special offer: 3 nights, pay 2 and so it fell in our budget.
The hotel seems a large, classic, hotel for business man. And it has all the facilities one excepts in that case. Seems too expensive to a vacation....
But, it was not, in stead of only 3 nights, we stayed 5.

The rooms are nice enough to spend some time in the room if wanting so. No internet in the rooms, must go to the lobby.

Very spatial room, good bathroom, very good breakfast-buffet. The swimming pool was really big and nice. The wind however made it was a bit cold too spend too much time in the pool (first half of June), but, we wanted to visit Evora and its surroundings.
The hotel has special attention for kids.

Room Tip: At the back-side the rooms -with a small balcony- look over the parking, have evening sun, but, in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking your time to make these comments. As you mentioned, Evora Hotel offers several vacation packages, specially designed for those families who are looking for pleasant holidays, at a fair price. Children are always present in our hotel philosophy, whether in the pool or in the restaurant and even in the gym..so thank for referring our "attention for kids".

As you mentioned, our hotel is also a business hotel...however business groups have more attendance during the week, so we are very careful that we meet both segment needs, ensuring an enjoyable experience for both, without prejudice none
Hope seeing you in our hotel soon
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Although not the best hotel I've ever been, it is more than reasonable. The hotel have a great entertainment facilities such as Gym, Interior and Exterior pool, Golf Driving Range, and so on.

The rooms were ok. Although I saw that some rooms have a view for just some dead plants, I had a pool view that was really good at night.

I had a buffet at the restaurant. Not the most variable food I've ever seen, but the quality was really good. Only complain in here was the price of the wine, really expensive.
The barman gave us some wrong informations about the restautant price, which lead us to an unwanted discussion.

All in all, was a good stay and we really did had some great resting time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karlithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the stay, and had time to have a good time rest. Thank you for your comments on the hotel entertainment facilities such as Gym, Interior and Exterior pool, Golf Driving Range, and so on. Also, we took note of your comments regarding the wine prices and information that it was given by out staff, and we will clarify the information so that it won´t happen again.
Hope to seeing you soon in Evora Hotel.
Best Regards,
Ana Sousa Uva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I was on the trip of the commenter below (Bethany W) - and I was the one who actually woke up to bed bugs crawling in my bed. The bugs were literally crawling on the walls - and my roommate, upon taking her luggage home and inspecting it, found a dead bed bug that had traveled home with her.

This was slightly alarming, since I had asked the hotel staff who came up to the room if they would clean our clothing/luggage. They informed me that this was not necessary. Last I checked, this was a standard precaution for bed bugs.

The hotel was completely unprepared and uneducated as to how to deal with this sort of infestation. While they did make a meager effort to accommodate us (moving us to another room of the same quality, covering our meals), their lack of awareness about the severity of the situation was disturbing.

As you can see in the hotel's rebuttal to Bethany W's review, their report showed that the bugs were mosquitos. It is common knowledge that mosquitos fly, and are hard to spot. They certainly do not crawl in beds by the dozens, look large and black, and leave bites that draw a significant amount of blood.

I usually don't care enough to leave hotel reviews - but this was just a nightmarish experience. The hotel staff here are disillusioned, and either are inept when it comes to identifying basic insects, or are trying to cover up the fact that their hotel did indeed have bed bugs.

Did I mention that several students developed scabies (mites that live in your skin and are highly contagious) after staying at this hotel? No? Oh well then yes - at least four. Overall it was a horrible experience that followed us for the next three weeks (as we had to get treatment and were forced to avoid contact with other people).

I'm glad I've said my piece and now I hope I never have to hear the words "Evora Hotel" again in my LIFE.

Room Tip: Check for bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
1.1 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
1 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 27 in Evora
772 reviews
1.5 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 27 in Evora
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#11 of 27 in Evora
1,034 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
1.3 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evora Hotel

Address: Avenida Tulio Espanca, Evora 7006-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Evora
#5 Family Hotel in Evora
#10 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $83 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evora Hotel is situated in the World Heritage town of Evora. We are at a five 5 minute distance (by car) from the historic center. In "Sol Poente" Restaurant we offer award-winning dishes, and our menu is based on the rich regional gastronomy of Alentejo. Our rooms are all well equipped and have all the comfort you need. We have a heated indoor pool, an outdoor swimming-pool for children and grownups,a tennis court, a last generation health & fitness club, sauna, Jacuzzi,Wellness Center, snooker and extensive gardens. We have a Driving Range where you can practice Golf, a Kids Club with babysitting service, upon request. Besides all the Hotel facilities, our front office representatives have the best advise on various spots you may visit around the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Evora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evora Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing