We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit chaotic.”
Review of Evora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evora Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Pros : lots of space, nice views, nice gardens and swimming pools, wine shop, balcony, good service at swimming pool bar, free parking.
Cons : awfull restaurant service, dangerous (very slippery) carpets at the entrance, ridiculous in room safe ( opens with a big - absent- key ). No seats provided on the balcony. You need a car in order to visit town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misseghers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear visitor,

Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel. We appreciate your analysis of the positive aspects on the hotel (parking, swimming pool, wines and gardens) as well as the less positive ( the safe deposit and balcony). As far as location is concerned, we would like to add that Evora Hotel is a 5 minute distance from the historic center, and a taxi to the city center costs 4 €.
Hope to seeing you soon in Evora hotel.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Evora Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 806 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

There was a special offer: 3 nights, pay 2 and so it fell in our budget.
The hotel seems a large, classic, hotel for business man. And it has all the facilities one excepts in that case. Seems too expensive to a vacation....
But, it was not, in stead of only 3 nights, we stayed 5.

The rooms are nice enough to spend some time in the room if wanting so. No internet in the rooms, must go to the lobby.

Very spatial room, good bathroom, very good breakfast-buffet. The swimming pool was really big and nice. The wind however made it was a bit cold too spend too much time in the pool (first half of June), but, we wanted to visit Evora and its surroundings.
The hotel has special attention for kids.

Room Tip: At the back-side the rooms -with a small balcony- look over the parking, have evening sun, but, in o...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking your time to make these comments. As you mentioned, Evora Hotel offers several vacation packages, specially designed for those families who are looking for pleasant holidays, at a fair price. Children are always present in our hotel philosophy, whether in the pool or in the restaurant and even in the gym..so thank for referring our "attention for kids".

As you mentioned, our hotel is also a business hotel...however business groups have more attendance during the week, so we are very careful that we meet both segment needs, ensuring an enjoyable experience for both, without prejudice none
Hope seeing you in our hotel soon
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Although not the best hotel I've ever been, it is more than reasonable. The hotel have a great entertainment facilities such as Gym, Interior and Exterior pool, Golf Driving Range, and so on.

The rooms were ok. Although I saw that some rooms have a view for just some dead plants, I had a pool view that was really good at night.

I had a buffet at the restaurant. Not the most variable food I've ever seen, but the quality was really good. Only complain in here was the price of the wine, really expensive.
The barman gave us some wrong informations about the restautant price, which lead us to an unwanted discussion.

All in all, was a good stay and we really did had some great resting time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karlithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the stay, and had time to have a good time rest. Thank you for your comments on the hotel entertainment facilities such as Gym, Interior and Exterior pool, Golf Driving Range, and so on. Also, we took note of your comments regarding the wine prices and information that it was given by out staff, and we will clarify the information so that it won´t happen again.
Hope to seeing you soon in Evora Hotel.
Best Regards,
Ana Sousa Uva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I was on the trip of the commenter below (Bethany W) - and I was the one who actually woke up to bed bugs crawling in my bed. The bugs were literally crawling on the walls - and my roommate, upon taking her luggage home and inspecting it, found a dead bed bug that had traveled home with her.

This was slightly alarming, since I had asked the hotel staff who came up to the room if they would clean our clothing/luggage. They informed me that this was not necessary. Last I checked, this was a standard precaution for bed bugs.

The hotel was completely unprepared and uneducated as to how to deal with this sort of infestation. While they did make a meager effort to accommodate us (moving us to another room of the same quality, covering our meals), their lack of awareness about the severity of the situation was disturbing.

As you can see in the hotel's rebuttal to Bethany W's review, their report showed that the bugs were mosquitos. It is common knowledge that mosquitos fly, and are hard to spot. They certainly do not crawl in beds by the dozens, look large and black, and leave bites that draw a significant amount of blood.

I usually don't care enough to leave hotel reviews - but this was just a nightmarish experience. The hotel staff here are disillusioned, and either are inept when it comes to identifying basic insects, or are trying to cover up the fact that their hotel did indeed have bed bugs.

Did I mention that several students developed scabies (mites that live in your skin and are highly contagious) after staying at this hotel? No? Oh well then yes - at least four. Overall it was a horrible experience that followed us for the next three weeks (as we had to get treatment and were forced to avoid contact with other people).

I'm glad I've said my piece and now I hope I never have to hear the words "Evora Hotel" again in my LIFE.

Room Tip: Check for bed bugs.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

They have 2 restaurants, one with tipical portuguese food, that unfotunatelly we didn´t try it, and one vegan buffet restaurant with great food and a romantic mood. 5stars breakfast!!
Loved the pools, jacuzzi and the tennis court, that has a great floor.
Definetly an hotel to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 719limpiana719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments on our Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the vegetarian buffet. In a future visit don´t miss the "Sol Poente" Restaurant where you will find a menu based on the rich regional gastronomy of Alentejo. Hope seeing you in a next trip to Évora.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I was staying at Evora Hotel for a couple nights during a 2 week trip throughout Portugal. The first morning, I was having breakfast with my friends only to hear the reality of bed bugs that were infesting their room. When they woke up they looked at the sheets and they noticed the spots of blood that had been where the bugs had been squished while they were sleeping as well as a few live ones on their pillows and the sheets. The hotel "upgraded" the room, to the same exact room down the hall, yet they were extremely rude and nonchalant about it. Instead of being apologetic they just brushed it off. We had never experienced this, and they were not able to help us at all. Their excuse to us was that the bugs came from the trees because they had an 'interesting summer'...

After we left for the day, we got another call saying there was a possibility of two other rooms being infested. They moved the belongings of those rooms to new ones, but low and behold another one of our students had been bitten. She had an extreme allergic reaction, and when it was brought to their attention again, they had the same reaction. They offered no information, and tried to brush it off. It was as if they believed we were not important customers because we are young. The young woman who had the allergic reaction, has to head back home early because she could not continue on the trip she had been bitten so bad.

Another night at dinner, two of the girls from Latin american countries tried to order their food in Spanish. I understand that we are in Portugal, but in the hotels that we had been in before the hotel requested that they spoke in Spanish because it was easier to understand them. Instead of asking politely, the young waited made a huge scene and yelled at the girls telling them "We are NOT in Spain, speak to me in English!"

Overall, it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. My team and I feel disappointed that your stay did not go well, and we apologize for the inconvenience that this episode caused you and your colleagues. According to the desinfestation offical report, the rooms were affected by a plague of mosquitoes, and this happened because we had a very humid and awkward summer. After acknowledging what happened, the hotel took immediate action regarding this situation: the customers were transferred to another room; the hotel paid for extra expenses, and accompanied the "affected" guests all the time. We did everything it was necessary and we invite you to come to our hotel, so that you see the improvements we have done. Please feel free to contact myself if you are traveling to Évora so that I may personally take care of you and your group during a next stay.
Once again, please accept our apologies and I hope that the remainder of your trip to Portugal was most enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed with my wife for a week in the sun. Staff could not have been more helpful. Food was good. Evora is a beautiful and interesting historic town which has not been overrun by tourists as yet. Having a car was helpful to visit areas of Portugal that we had not see before, but do make use of the minibus service which reception were always ready to call to het onto and out of Evora

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otter313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel. We are pleased that you liked the food and the region of Évora. In a next visit, don´t miss our selection of tourist routes, recently launched. These routes are about Monsaraz and various Wineries in Alentejo, places to visit in Évora (Évora heritage city), etc. I am sure this information will be useful. Hope to see you in next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
669 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
974 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#11 of 26 in Evora
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 26 in Evora
1,125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Dom Fernando
Hotel Dom Fernando
#16 of 26 in Evora
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evora Hotel

Address: Avenida Tulio Espanca, Evora 7006-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Evora
#7 Family Hotel in Evora
#10 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $76 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evora Hotel is situated in the World Heritage town of Evora. We are at a five 5 minute distance (by car) from the historic center. In "Sol Poente" Restaurant we offer award-winning dishes, and our menu is based on the rich regional gastronomy of Alentejo. Our rooms are all well equipped and have all the comfort you need. We have a heated indoor pool, an outdoor swimming-pool for children and grownups,a tennis court, a last generation health & fitness club, sauna, Jacuzzi,Wellness Center, snooker and extensive gardens. We have a Driving Range where you can practice Golf, a Kids Club with babysitting service, upon request. Besides all the Hotel facilities, our front office representatives have the best advise on various spots you may visit around the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evora Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing