We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Put at the top of your "todo" list when you visit Portugal !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ebora Megalithica Guided Tours

Ebora Megalithica Guided Tours
Ranked #1 of 19 Tours in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have a passion for megaliths. And sharing this passion is our mission.Present day Evora is in the center of an ancestral landscape that has a significance for all Humanity. Here you can find the remains of some of the oldest monuments of mankind in Western Europe.The early farmers and shepherds that created them, some 7500 years ago, didn't just create beautiful and impressive monuments - they have envisioned an entirely new way of relating with their world and have set the foundations for our current way of life.The megaliths, embodying the new ideology of this period in it's fullest - the domestication and transformation of the natural environment - remain today as distant messages, hidden in the fullness of time.Join one of our tours and discover more about your own history.
Manitouwadge, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Put at the top of your "todo" list when you visit Portugal !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

This guided tour with Mario was a great and amazing learning experience for all of us ! A true highlight of our recent 6 week tour of Portugal ! You won't be disappointed !

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank FredA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“priceless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

A tour of this calibre is not to be missed. The knowledge, passion and insights shared by Mario were invaluable to anyone with an interest in prehistory and the development of the human race. The scenery is pretty good too.

Helpful?
Thank tassietige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great tour with knowledgeable guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I took this tour by chance - we wanted to visit the sites, and this just happened to be the tour we picked. We lucked out, because it could not have been better. Mario is very knowledgeable about the sites and archeology and his passion for the sites and their preservation shows. We learned a lot about the history of the area, and about the expansion of people through Europe in prehistoric times. Mario was even kind enough to allow us to take the tour the next day, when I fell ill the day we originally scheduled.

The tour itself is with a small group, and very personal. Mario took plenty of time at each site to explain everything and answer questions. We never felt rushed and were able to get a real understanding of the history and meaning of each site.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Thalia291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best of Evora -- Ebora Megalithica Guided Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

This morning visit to 3 monuments included a hotel pick-up and drive to the monuments. Once our driver parked, we had only short walks on rustic paths through fields of cork-barked trees. Our interpreter, Mario, an archaeologist, gave an interpretation of the sites that offered us a deeper understanding of the city, Evora. We really liked that we were in a small group so that all our questions could be answered. We took lots of pics and some water for along the way. Even our baby (in a carrier) had a good time :o) I'd advise to discover this Portuguese treasure before the rest the world does. Currently, one can see the sites up close... close enough to touch ... not sure how long that will or should last though.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mltrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best three hours during our two-month trip in Portugal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We learned about different phases of Europe's neo-lithic history / saw some distinctive sites / learned about the state of archeological preservation (and neglect) in Portugal.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ebora Megalithica Guided Tours also viewed

 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Ebora Megalithica Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing