We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place BUT...the owners should not make you feel like they doing you a favor for letting you stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imani Country House
Ranked #1 of 21 Evora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful place BUT...the owners should not make you feel like they doing you a favor for letting you stay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

No doubt about it, this is a beautiful and unique place. We recently spent 5 days at the
Imani with our two small children. After the hecticness and noise of our hectic urban life this hotel offered a much needed respite, with only the noise of nature and the two donkeys! We enjoyed waking up smelling the pine trees and walking out to green on all sides. The place is simply stunning, well renovated and very well decorated with all sorts of quirky details!

The hotel only has a few rooms, and two pools. It has a limited lunch menu of salads and wraps, quiet average actually. The staff is great however and will recommend and book restaurants for you in the evening. Breakfast is included, and again OK...nothing overwhelming with all products (including the croissants, i.e. not fresh) from the discount supermaket Liedl (I recognised the brands).

What spoiled the experience for us was the fact that the owners who live on-site for part of the time - and use the hotel areas, including the pool - do not seem to take any interest in their guests. I have no problem with seeing them out and about but they need to make sure to speak to their guests. For Instance, on the last day I saw the owner as I was leaving our room....I was amazed at the fact that he did not offer his help with the luggage or enquire after our stay! They made us feel
Iike we were imposing in "their" house (we were the only guests at the time). This attitude spoilt the experience for us...Oh and we also found an old Penthouse under the bed which makes you wonder how well they clean!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 72Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    9
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
97
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Imani Country House is a jewel, an unexpected corner of Paradise in the inner Portugal, very close to the magic city of Evora.
Everything at Imani is simply 'perfect', starting from the welcome (at the reception they speak a very good english, quite unusual thing in Portugal) up to the rooms, where every single detail is clearly the result of an accurate choice, driven by an undisputable 'taste' and sense of beauty.
Breakfast and lunch are served in a living room where again you can breath the tradition of that place, that used to be a fram in the past.
the only 'risk' is that you go there to stay one day and one night, but then you would like to spend the rest of your holidays there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simona t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Imani is delightful from the moment you arrive - warm welcome, beautiful surroundings and rooms which are both very comfortable and creatively furnished. The owners and staff were all friendly, kind and really helpful. We hadn't planned on eating there but as we were there at the weekend took advantage of dinner - small menu - very well cooked and accompanied by some great wine. Although the restaurant isn't open on Sunday, they were happy to give us a meal from the snack menu so we could watch England being beaten in the Euros! We would love to have stayed longer - a lovely place to wind down as well as see the delights of Evora. Would highly recommend and would love to return.

Room Tip: Junior suite - room 6 was large and airy with such quiet air conditioning, we hardly noticed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JuliaParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

i spent new year in evora with the kids and everything was great
people were very nice , the suites are very cozy, and the place is amazing
the new year party they arrajed was really nice w champagne, food and late supper very well served
we really enjoyed it

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

A beautiful view, serene surroundings and comfortable amenities...everything and more! This is a luxury country house and the owner was always accessible and extremely kind. All details are thought of to make your stay as welcoming as possible.It was so nice to stay here because it was just so tranquil and relaxing. Near the beautiful city of Evora.
Directions: CASA DI CAMPO

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElisabethvO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We decided to escape from the city for a few days and we wanted a quiet place to relax.
We were seduced by the fantastic photos on the Imani Country House website, and the truth is.. that place is even more wonderful than what you see in the photos.
It was a really great week-end, where our expectations were always exceeded.
We will always recommend and hope to return there soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
8.7 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
7.1 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
7.1 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
7.1 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imani Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imani Country House

Property: Imani Country House
Address: Quinta de Montemuro, Evora 7000-223, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imani Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imani country house is 60 minutes away from Lisbon, 10 minutes from Evora and 2 minutes away from the Cromlech of Almendres, one of most important megalithic monuments of Europe. It is located in a unique in Alentejo, with antique gardens, lawns and a centenarian cedar forest. Five suites and two rooms with areas from 35 to 80m2. Breakfast is served until noon along with the daily newspaper. Imani has also magnificent swimming pools and a restaurant that serves delicious lunches, brunches and dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Imani Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing