We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious local food.”

Adega do Alentejano
Ranked #35 of 250 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious local food.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were there for a wonderful lunch. The owner wears a red-checked shirt to match the table cloths. We let him bring menu items he suggested and was most proud of serving. We had a rich, hearty tomato soup and pork prepared with clams.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    149
    54
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great local palate”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Small, off the beaten path bistro restaurant with lots of local ambiance. Red and white checkered table clothes and antiques provide a rustic atmosphere. We have the Migas and pork which was absolutely wonderful. Migas is like a spoon pudding that is cooked with the meat to embue an essence in the dish. There were ribs with pork bits to accompany the Migas. Wonderful house wine is served by the pitcher.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madri
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding value but slow service”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a great family dinner for only 46€ which was very high quality however there were only 2 waiters for the entire place

Helpful?
Thank Hadzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a fabulous meal served by the very kind and welcoming owner. The food was fresh and tasty, the portions were generous, the price was good

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nogah Raanan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Outstanding local place”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had read about this place in a guidebook and had a really good meal here. Their pork dishes in particular are excellent. We splurged with the appetizers and really enjoyed the olives. The place is casual, a little rustic. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The wine is served in jars that are filled from casks - excellent and very inexpensive. Although there were other tourists enjoying meals there, it still had a local feel. It is inside the city walls and easily reached by foot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega do Alentejano also viewed

Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Adega do Alentejano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing