We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring A Flashlight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Convento de Evora
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a modestly furnished but large suite but it suffered from the dimmest lights I've ever encountered in a hotel. Our friends encountered the same in their room. This made reading in bed a laughable endeavor and my wife's attempt to put on her makeup virtually impossible. Nevertheless, the staff couldn't have been nicer and made an excellent recommendation for dinner - Luar de Janeiro.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobvigersk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for your comments. It is thru our clients comments that we are able to improve and in this case, I will check the lights of every suite so that we can check and improve the lighting power in these rooms. I would like as well to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your wife.

Nevertheless I am happy to know that our staff was helpful during your stay.

If you have the chance, please visit us again so that we are able to change your opinion.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Convento de Evora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 800 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

We arrived in Evora by bus, and chose to walk to the pousada... I'd recommend a taxi, the stand is right at the bus depot, and costs under 5 Euros, worth it. The reception experience was so very nice,a treat.We stayed in Cell 115, perfect temperature, comfortable beds and linens. With the pousada's history, I'd expected it to be sparse, but it was lovely! A soak in the deep tub, with the Laura Kayal toiletries....mmm..relaxing after busy sight-seeing. Then to walk just outside the door, and see the ancient Roman ruins! Being able to go to Evora, a walled city, with UNESCO designation, only a couple of hours by bus from the Algarve, or one hour from Lisbon, was a wonderful experience. Staying right at the pousada made it more special. Thank you very kindly!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iconblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was an honor for us to have received you in the Pousada dos Loios. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to improve and to treat each client as unique.

Indeed the Pousada has a unique location just in front of the Roman Temple in downtown Évora. And after a day walking and sight-seeing our bathtubs seem very relaxing.

We hope that you visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We benefited from a very attractive Valentine weekend deal and stayed 2 nights at Dos Loios Pousada. Beautiful historic place, centrally located in this fascinating UNESCO City. The Suite we stayed in was very comfortable , although we missed direct outside views . Food , both breakfast & Dinner is good , like service.Ample parking space.

Room Tip: If you book a suite ask for one with windows with a view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are extremly happy to know that you have enjoyed your Valentines day in our company. For us it was a pleasure to make it a special day.

Thank you as well for your very nice comments about our Restaurant O Claustro in Pousada dos Loios.

We hope you could give us the pleasure to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Right in the historical center of Évora, next to Diana’s Temple, this is an excellent place to stay if you are looking for a luxury level. Once a convent, the building dates from the XV century. Rooms are spacious, well decorated and equipped including mini-bar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HANGARinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments about the Pousada dos Loios.

Indeed we have one of the best locations possible inside Evora. The Pousada is a very old XV century Convent where you meet all the history from ancient times.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again in the Pousada dos Loios.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

i could swear i wrote a review last year shortly after our stay in may 2013, but it is gone!

we were disappointed with our stay - our booking (although we had received email confirmation showing 2 beds) incorrectly showed 1 bed - the checkin staff (very friendly and helpful) changed our room to a junior suite in order to give us 2 beds

the suite however was on the inside of the building - the 'view' from the bedroom looked directly onto the dining area (as in people able to look into our room while they were eating, and us being awakened quite early by staff setting up for breakfast) - the view from the sitting room area was a single small window high up, and looked onto an interior courtyard - so the room was very dark, especially when we closed the bedroom drapes for some privacy

we understand that the beautiful building was not meant for luxury by any means, but we did book months in advance, and feel that we were victims of a mistake (by giving us a last-minute room to accommodate our need for 2 beds)

the dining area during dinner time was very crowded (there seemed to be a tour group taking up most of the premises), and so service suffered - although the waiters seemed to want to give us more attention, they simply did not have time to do so

again, the staff at the front desk were very sweet, but the room and crowds in the dining room were big disappointments

Room Tip: do not take an interior room unless you're desperate
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Pousada dos Loios I would like to sincerely apologize for the mistake made by our Reservations Department. We tried to solve your problem the best way we could but we were not able to leave you satisfied and for that we do apologize.

I can assure you that no comments made by our clients are removed from the page because we feel that each comment help us to improve.

If you feel like giving us another chance in the future to change your opinion, please let me know.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed in one of the special rooms so I did not have the experience of staying in a former monk's cell. The suite I stayed in was enormous and lavishly decorated.

The suite consisted of a huge, ornately decorated, sitting room with a large private terrace attached overlooking the garden, a large bathroom area with the tub and shower in separate rooms and a very large bedroom with king size bed.

The bedding and bath linens were very nice. My only real complaint is the hair dryer device that was attached to the wall. One sees them all over Europe and they just done work.

The common areas of the hotel are unique and lovely. The location is perfect for exploring Evora by foot. The most famous landmark, the ruins of the Temple of Diana, is immediately outside the hotel. I was able to park my car right in front of the hotel without charge. I arrived in town very late at night and couldn't find it and the front desk person came outside to find me which was very much appreciated.

This is a very comfortable place to stay in a unique historic building.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your very nice comments.

It is comments like yours that makes us proud and motivate us to do better for each client.

Indeed our location is perfect within the city center and is just outside the Roman Temple. You can visit all the best monuments within a walking distance. Your suite was the Presidential Suite and it is something unique and full of history like you could experience.

I am also very happy to hear that our front desk person went outside to help you find the Pousada. It is always our main goal to make each and every client happy.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in our Pousada.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A very pleasant experience for a couple of nights. Very good restaurant and very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Huge hallways but tiny rooms... Excellent food, some very good restaurants in this small town with many things to see and visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review.

Our main objective is to make each stay of each client a memorable one and it makes us happy to know that we made you feel special during your stay.

We work together with the opinion of each client to try to get the best gastronomy experience possible and it makes us proud to know that you found our Restaurant very good.

We do hope that you visit us again.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.2 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 26 in Evora
1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento de Evora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento de Evora

Address: Largo do Conde de Vila-Flor, Evora 7000-804, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $125 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Convento de Evora 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Convento de Evora, also known as the Pousada dos Loios, is located in the museum-city of Evora, a World Heritage site. The Pousada is located between the Catedral Gotica de Evora and the Templo de Diana and very close to the Praca do Giraldo and the Colegio do Espirito Santo. The building retains traces of its original architecture, such as courtyard cloisters, a peaceful and serene area where you will find the outdoor swimming pool and an area for you to relax. The Pousada features the Loios restaurant, a bar and a free car park with limited capacity. Almost all of the rooms are individually unique and include Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Convento de Evora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Dos Loios De Evora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing