We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Convento de Evora
Nearby Hotels
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Evora(Evora)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Moov Hotel Evora(Evora)(Great Value!)
$57
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (884)
Filter reviews
884 results
Traveler rating
477
275
94
26
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
275
94
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroman templebeautiful cloisterdos loiosclaw foot tubshower curtainmonk's cellssitting roompublic areas areconverted conventorange treesrooms are smallperfect locationhistoric buildingbreakfast and dinnera wonderful stayunique experiencesuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 884 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014

i could swear i wrote a review last year shortly after our stay in may 2013, but it is gone!

we were disappointed with our stay - our booking (although we had received email confirmation showing 2 beds) incorrectly showed 1 bed - the checkin staff (very friendly and helpful) changed our room to a junior suite in order to give us 2 beds

the suite however was on the inside of the building - the 'view' from the bedroom looked directly onto the dining area (as in people able to look into our room while they were eating, and us being awakened quite early by staff setting up for breakfast) - the view from the sitting room area was a single small window high up, and looked onto an interior courtyard - so the room was very dark, especially when we closed the bedroom drapes for some privacy

we understand that the beautiful building was not meant for luxury by any means, but we did book months in advance, and feel that we were victims of a mistake (by giving us a last-minute room to accommodate our need for 2 beds)

the dining area during dinner time was very crowded (there seemed to be a tour group taking up most of the premises), and so service suffered - although the waiters seemed to want to give us more attention, they simply did not have time to do so

again, the staff at the front desk were very sweet, but the room and crowds in the dining room were big disappointments

Room Tip: do not take an interior room unless you're desperate
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Pousada dos Loios I would like to sincerely apologize for the mistake made by our Reservations Department. We tried to solve your problem the best way we could but we were not able to leave you satisfied and for that we do apologize.

I can assure you that no comments made by our clients are removed from the page because we feel that each comment help us to improve.

If you feel like giving us another chance in the future to change your opinion, please let me know.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed in one of the special rooms so I did not have the experience of staying in a former monk's cell. The suite I stayed in was enormous and lavishly decorated.

The suite consisted of a huge, ornately decorated, sitting room with a large private terrace attached overlooking the garden, a large bathroom area with the tub and shower in separate rooms and a very large bedroom with king size bed.

The bedding and bath linens were very nice. My only real complaint is the hair dryer device that was attached to the wall. One sees them all over Europe and they just done work.

The common areas of the hotel are unique and lovely. The location is perfect for exploring Evora by foot. The most famous landmark, the ruins of the Temple of Diana, is immediately outside the hotel. I was able to park my car right in front of the hotel without charge. I arrived in town very late at night and couldn't find it and the front desk person came outside to find me which was very much appreciated.

This is a very comfortable place to stay in a unique historic building.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your very nice comments.

It is comments like yours that makes us proud and motivate us to do better for each client.

Indeed our location is perfect within the city center and is just outside the Roman Temple. You can visit all the best monuments within a walking distance. Your suite was the Presidential Suite and it is something unique and full of history like you could experience.

I am also very happy to hear that our front desk person went outside to help you find the Pousada. It is always our main goal to make each and every client happy.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in our Pousada.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A very pleasant experience for a couple of nights. Very good restaurant and very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Huge hallways but tiny rooms... Excellent food, some very good restaurants in this small town with many things to see and visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review.

Our main objective is to make each stay of each client a memorable one and it makes us happy to know that we made you feel special during your stay.

We work together with the opinion of each client to try to get the best gastronomy experience possible and it makes us proud to know that you found our Restaurant very good.

We do hope that you visit us again.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This 15 century monastery has been converted to a wonderful hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with attention to detail. There are many wonderful antiques in the hotel. The breakfast was very good with lots of variety.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan78339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments about our Pousada.

Early this year we have changed our breakfast and our main objective was to improve even more in the quality and variety of the products that we offer to each guest. We are very happy to know that in your opinion our breakfast and restaurant was very good.

Our main goal every day is to be attentive to each detail and to each guest.

We do hope to count with your presence once again in the Pousada.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This former 15th century convent has been converted into a comfortable hotel. The former "cells" have been made into rooms which are bright and happy. One wakes to church bells. The marble staircase, the cloistered garden, decorative arches, and antique furniture all combine to make this an unique experience not to be missed. No elevators but hardly missed with all the history which surrounds the pousada. Lovely lobby with bar area. Evora is a quaint little village with lovely shops and very friendly. Not to be missed is the Chapel of the Bones in Evora.

Room Tip: Loved the third floor but no elevator and dark staircase but worth it. Room had wonderful view of village.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler6102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your visit to the Pousada dos Loios and to tell you that we appreciated very much your comments about the Pousada.

We do try to make it a unique experience to all our guests and it makes us very happy when we read comments like yours were we know that we managed to meet your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Pousada.

Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews