We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Convento de Evora
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Needs a lot of work”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was so excited about staying at the Posada Dos Loios......but ended up very disappointed. The public areas are wonderful, but the room was soooo under par. They are very worn and seemed very dark. We stayed as part of a tour group, and received the smallest rooms in the hotel (rm 104). Updating wouldn't be too hard. First, the room had an incredible vaulted ceiling, but because it was painted the same color as the walls, it did not stand out. Paint the ceiling white, so the shadows stand out. Next there is way too much furniture in the room...might I suggest- put the wardrobes in the entrance way, toss out the headboard/backboard thing, hang a light piece of fabric as a headboard and then just mount side tables. The location is perfect, the pool area was nice, the staff seemed friendly, and the breakfast was great.....the main problem is the current condition of the rooms. I do plan on going back to Evora, but for more than 1 night I would look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judinewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We feel very unhappy to see that you were disappointed with your visit to the Pousada dos Loios. We always aim to reach all our guests expectations during their stay. For that, I would like to sincerely apologize. I can already say that we are repainting and repairing all the rooms and we are changing the lights to increase the lighting in the room. We do have different rooms in the Pousada such as the Royal Suites and I do believe that they would please you. If in the future if you come back to Évora and decide to give the Pousada another chance to change your opinion, please contact me.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    230
    82
    20
    11
See reviews for
140
441
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

i read some of the reviews here and i can not believe i am writing about the same hotel. maybe they had other type of rooms which we didn't get and secret elevator we were not allowed to use.. smiling
if you want to stay at a monk cell book this hotel, other then that just visit the location and go to another hotel as we did. The rooms they gave us two options. the were so cramped ugly decor but I guess what you expect from a room that from a monk cell.
no elevator the name must changed to a walk up palace. smiling
the rooms we tiny with green and yellow decor with wool blankets. the smell of 13th century was still in the air.
the service of the staff. the front desk, young suit guy was so mean to us, when we said we don't like the rooms and we will look for another hotel. he purely hate his guests you can tell.
they parked three cars and blocked our car . when we asked to get the cars moved so we can leave. they said they are helping guests first!!! and we must wait. i guess they wanted unhappy guests to stay longer. i guess they were pissed we left. i am really not they type to leave an hotel i booked and paid for. it was just so awful we needed to leave.

Room Tip: please please skip~
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navawritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We do appreciate your comments about the Pousada and respect your opinion. Unfortunately we were not able to meet your expectations. The Pousada dos Loios has very unique characteristics from a 500 year old convent and we do understand that we are not able to please all of our guests. If you felt disappointed we do apologize for that.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel was like a step back in time. The entire property was so peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are definitely small, but true to character. The resatuarant was so good we went back a second night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVLJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your comments were very appreciated by our entire staff. It is comments like these that make us proud of our work and make us want to do more for our clients and reach all our clients expectations. Since the building is a Convent from the 15th Century our ability to change the room dimensions are very problematic, but on your next visit I will be more than happy to show you our Superior Rooms, Suites and Royal Suites. We do hope you visit us again in the future. Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was more expensive than the average 4* hotel and I have nix feelings about it. The location is great. The hotel is a old monastery facing a Roman temple. You cannot get better than this. The room was a bit cramped but I guess you can you can expect that from a monk cell. I'm willing to compromise to taste a bit of history. The common area were fabulous. The dining room was set up in the cloister. We had dinner there and it was very disappointing. Not cheap at all and not tasty either (tasteless fish and chewy chicken). Breakfast was much better. In short, have diner somewhere else and don't spoil your stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite, I had a peek and they look fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for your comments. It is thru the comments of our clients that we are able to improve. Since you were disappointed by the meal at our Restaurante I would like to sincerely apologize. We will do our best to continue and improve our quality of food at our restaurant. If you decide to come back to Évora, please let me know. We will be more than happy to welcome you again and try to change your opinion about our restaurant.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel reproduces the monastic experience of mediaeval Portugal. the rooms were cool in a very hot town. The staff were helpful and attentive. The breakfast buffet was above average. The swimming pool was very welcome.The only negative was that the quality of food in the restaurant was only average and it was quite expensive. There are plenty of other good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanzibar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your visit to the Pousada dos Loios in Évora. It is thru the comments of our clients that we may improve. We will do our best to continue and improve our quality of food at our restaurant.
I would like to thank you as well for your kind comments about our staff. We aim to please all our guests.
If you decide to come back to Évora, please let me know. We will be more than happy to welcome you again and try to change your opinion about our restaurant.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

While on a bus tour of Portugal we had the pleasure of staying at this pousada,I have to say it was both exciting and interesting. While our room, a former monk's cell, was small, it had all that we required to be comfortable. It was nicely appointed and very neat and clean, we lacked nothing but a little elbow room. What the room lacked was more than made up for by the fabulous location, right adjacent to the ancient roman ruins of the temple of Diana, and in the center of town, within easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants. In addition, the breakfast at the facility was exceptional, with piles of fresh fruit, pastries and other delacies that challenged our waistline for the day. All the staff were very helpful, as was the norm in his great country, and if we needed anything it was at our hand just by asking. I would not hesitate to stay here again, if we ever revisit the charming city, it was one of our favorite stops on the tour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure that we read your review and see that we made a difference in your stay. It is always our main goal to give each client a Memorable Moment and in your case we did. That make us very happy and proud. If you decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Pousada dos Loios.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first stay in a Pousada and we were not disappointed. We drove up from the Algarve for just one night and could have stayed longer. The location can't be faulted next to the Temple of Diana and the Cathedral and there was no problem parking the car as one of the helpful staff parked it away during our stay. There's also a great view of the sun setting in the small park in front of the Pousada. We had the standard room which was more than adequate, and the included breakfast was just what we needed. The interior of the Pousada itself is quite remarkable, having been very sympathetically restored. While we were checking in we noticed a flyer promoting a walking tour of Evora which we took the next morning. It was led by an excellent guide - Lucia van der Feltz - who really knew Evora. We walked in a small group of nine taking in the Cathedral, University, Chapel of Bones and more. There wasn't a question she couldn't answer and I would highly recommend her tour if you visit Evora. The temperature while we were there was 100degF and the small pool looked inviting, but there wasn't time to use it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
the entire staff is very happy to know that you have enjoyed our company and our Pousada dos Loios in Évora. Indeed the Pousada is perfectly located in the middle of the city of Évora that allows you to reach all monuments by foot. You can always count on our staff to show you the best locations/monuments or if you prefer just use the walking tour that is made by excellent guides.

I do hope that on your next visit you can find a little time to enjoy the Swimming Pool.

Kind regards, André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
2.2 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.4 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#8 of 24 in Evora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento de Evora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento de Evora

Property: Pousada Convento de Evora
Address: Largo do Conde de Vila Flor, Evora 7000-804, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Convento de Evora 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying the night at the Pousada de Evora, the Loios Convent, means visiting a long distant passed having the privilege of reliving the history of every stone, every object including the simple and rudimental cubicles of the old Canon Regulars' dormitories, which today have been converted into bedrooms with affable decoration. The walls of the city of Evora which have been classified as a Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO hide in their interiors one of most beautiful Pousadas of Portugal. This luxurious hotel in Evora is found in the historical centre of the city, between the Gothic Cathedral of Evora and the Temple of Diana. Here you will find that the history, the finesse and the luxury are the vectors that gave rise to this majestic hotel. The guests of the Pousada de Evora can also go for walks the city centre visiting the Giraldo square with its sixteenth century fountain. The Pousada also has a free car park with a limited capacity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pousada Convento de Evora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Dos Loios De Evora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing