We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved evrything about this pousada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Convento de Evora
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our room was fabulous the staff excellent and the entire building magnificent. Evora was our favourite Pousada. The church that was a part of the convent is one of the most beautiful we have ever seen. This hotel in in the best location and the costs were most reasonable given the high quality of the rooms and the service. We did have a very large suite and so did not see the standard rooms.

Room Tip: ask for the presidential suite - well worth the extra charge
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all let me thank you for staying at the Pousada dos Loios in Évora. There are words such as yours that actually encourage us and motivate us to continue and improve our work. We were very happy to read your comments about our staff and rooms. Whenever you pass thru Évora, please give us the pleasure of welcoming you once again.
Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Convento de Evora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 800 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The pousada is well situated atop a hill in the center of town. Not every hotel has a Roman ruin just outside of the front door. The rooms are adequately sized. The breakfast buffet was very good.

What detracted from our stay were some minor detriments that added up. The rooms are very dark. They could spring for higher wattage light bulbs. Even the lounge was dark, making reading difficult.

Some places could use new coats of paint.

The doors to the rooms stay shut only when locked. If one person is in the room and the other outside, one person can't enter or exit without the other unlocking the door.

Free WiFi is available in the lobby but you have to pay 18€ for WiFi in your room. Budget motels all have free WiFi so why not this upscale pousada?

I can recommend staying here but with reservations.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all let me thank you for staying at the Pousada dos Loios in Évora. We appreciated very much your kind words. Regarding your comments, it is our main goal to meet our clients expectations, and with this in mind, I can already say that we are changing all the light bulbs in the rooms to more powerful ones, the Wi Fi now is free in the common areas and we are solving the problem with the lock in the few rooms we had this problem. Again, thank you very much for your comments and I hope to see you again at the Pousada de Évora.
Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Located in the center of town, this renovated convent has a lot of character. Vaulted ceilings and arched corridors along with courtyard swimming pool is quite appealing.
Our room was adequate, a former cell of the monk with two beds, writing desk, flat screen TV,etc. A bathroom with a tub, bath robes and toiletries.
Excellent restaurant, very elegant with great service. Free public parking provided.

Room Tip: Chose a superior room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all let me thank you for staying at the Pousada dos Loios in Évora. There are words such as yours that actually encourage us and motivate us to continue and improve our work. I would like to specially thank you for your comments about our Restaurant. It is our main goal to meet all our clients expectations. We hope that you visit us once again. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in Pousada de Évora.
Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's a converted monastery so don't expect to get a big room.
The exceptional service and the unique location more than compensate for the small rooms.
We actually stayed in an original monk's cell. Car parking was at a premium but this is not a problem, a member of staff took my keys and parked my car for me.the in house restaurant was very good.
Nothing was too much trouble for the very welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polytechnic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all let me thank you for staying at the Pousada dos Loios in Évora. We appreciated very much your kind words, especially regarding our restaurant and staff. We always try to be very attentive to all our client’s needs. Whenever you pass thru Évora, please give us the pleasure of welcoming you once again.
Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights in an old cloister..!! Interesting, although small the room was nice enough , bedding excellent. The bathroom could do with an update and i found the bath awkward to use, much prefer a walk in shower. However the rest of the hotel is beautiful with historical and luxurious decor . Restaurant served very good breakfast and dinner in beautiful surroundings. The location couldn't be better as was easy walking distance to all places of interest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stef586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference in Pousadas of Portugal as well as the dispatch of your sympathetic views on your stay at Pousada dos Lóios. They are words such as yours that actually encourage us and motivate us to continue and improve our work. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again in Pousada de Évora.
Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent three nights in a room that was formerly a nun's room. Room, though very small, is clean with excellent bedding excellent. it was not a comfortable room, i.e. no sitting chair. I should have requested that the maid does not spray the room with a deodorizer each morning, had trouble breathing until I aired out the room each morning. Only place to sit comfortably to read or visit is in the lobby. Wifi is available in the lobby only. We had "cell" 119 which I don't recommend for a couple even though it has a double bed. Breakfast is ok. Dining room is the former cloister that is enclosed during the cold months. Great location!

Room Tip: if you are over 6 feet tall, avoid room 119..the entrance door is about 5 ft 10 inches tall.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference in Pousadas of Portugal as well as the dispatch of your sympathetic views on your stay at Pousada dos Lóios. Regarding your comments, it is our main goal to meet our clients expectations, and with this in mind, we have changed to a more neutral products to clean the rooms. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again in Pousada de Évora.
Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We very much enjoyed our short stay. We were tired after a long journey so it was very great to have our car parked for us and our luggage taken to our room. Our suite was very luxurious and we enjoyed just relaxing in comfort for the first couple of hours. We similarly enjoyed dinner in the splendid restaurant with its rather unique shape! The staff were attentive and caring at all times and we left the following day fully refreshed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryanjstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all let me thank you for staying at the Pousada dos Loios in Évora. We appreciated very much your kind words, especially regarding our restaurant and staff. We always try to be very attentive to all our client’s needs. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again in Pousada de Évora.
Kind regards,
André Freire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.2 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#7 of 26 in Evora
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento de Evora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento de Evora

Address: Largo do Conde de Vila-Flor, Evora 7000-804, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $125 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Convento de Evora 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Convento de Evora, also known as the Pousada dos Loios, is located in the museum-city of Evora, a World Heritage site. The Pousada is located between the Catedral Gotica de Evora and the Templo de Diana and very close to the Praca do Giraldo and the Colegio do Espirito Santo. The building retains traces of its original architecture, such as courtyard cloisters, a peaceful and serene area where you will find the outdoor swimming pool and an area for you to relax. The Pousada features the Loios restaurant, a bar and a free car park with limited capacity. Almost all of the rooms are individually unique and include Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Convento de Evora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Dos Loios De Evora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing