We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast in the Cloister”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada Convento de Evora
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
santa monica
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast in the Cloister”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in a suite with frescos on the walls. Thought that was the coolest, until we got to breakfast. The old cloister of this convent has been glassed in from the small orange grove garden, and is used as a restaurant. There was homemade quince marmalade, which I did not want to stop eating (but, alas, did) and pumpkin jam, which was suprisingly delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvercuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
on behalf of all the staff of the Pousada dos Loios we would like to thank you for your kind words. They encourage and motivate us every day to do more and better towards meeting the expectations of our clients. We thrive to make every product that leaves our kitchen as good as we can so that every client can enjoy it as much as they can. We do hope to see you again in Évora and in Pousada dos Loios.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    243
    86
    23
    12
See reviews for
154
464
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Pousada is located right in the center of Evora, next to the cathedral. They did a wonderful job refurbishing this old convent and everything was done in good taste. The bedrooms were evidently built in place of the cells of the monks and they are not luxury bedrooms, but they are comfortable, quiet and clean. The restaurant is located in the old cloister and the decor is beautiful, but the food is not outstanding and the service is somewhat hurried.

Overall it is a very good place to stay in Evora.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlington_VAJc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
on behalf of all the staff of the Pousada dos Loios we would like to thank you for your kind words. They encourage and motivate us every day to do more and better towards meeting the expectations of our clients. We will try our best to improve the service and the quality of our restaurant so that on your next visit we may change your opinion. I can assure you that it is not normal having the service being hurried and we do apologize for this day. We do hope to see you again in Évora and in Pousada dos Loios.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The building is quite nice, but our room at the second floor was of poor quality.
Someone expects such a room in a 2-star hotel, the room is adequate in size, but poorly furnished. The carpet is worn, even fraying.
The paint on the rabbets of the windows is peeling, there are even pieces out of the rabbets.
We saw ants walk from the roof into the room.
We suppose the rooms on the lower two levels are much better. Unfortunately we did not stay there.

Room Tip: If you intend to stay in this pousada then ask for a room at one of the two lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ovar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in Evora (of the 15 nights we stayed in pousadas). Again our GPS managed to take us up through the narrow streets to the pousada instead of an easier more direct route on much better streets. Location of this pousada is ideal for exploring this historic town on foot. We only had breakfasts at this pousada since we wanted to try the restaurants in town for lunch/dinner... also we decided that the meals at pousadas were ok quality but probably cost double that of meals you can get in local restaurants. Still it is worth trying the pousadas for dinner from time to time depending on what other options are available.

The rooms here are a bit small and the showers are challenging. Breakfasts in the cloister were very nice. Our first night there, we were kept awake by loud music coming from outside the building... apparently the local university students do this at the beginning of every school year as some kind of initiation/celebration. Apparently the police can't do anything about it since it doesn't cause unacceptable noise levels inside the hotel...earplugs were needed that night for the noise which continued till around 4AM. The next night things were quiet.

We visited the Cromlech of the Almendres megalithic complex after we left Evora (worth travelling on some rough roads to get there) and stopped for lunch at the pousada in Crato on our way to next pousada in Ourem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canoeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
on behalf of all the staff of the Pousada dos Loios we would like to thank you for your kind words. They encourage and motivate us day by day. I would like as well to apologize for the noise coming from the outside, but as it was explained then, every time we call the police to measure the noise level they say it is within the noise level permission. I can tell you that we took your advice and already bought some earplugs to provide to our guests on these days. We hope to see you again in Pousada dos Lóios.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Really expensive for what is offered. We have been to many Pousadas and this, by far, is the worse. Poorly run, run down, and expensive. Evora itself is not much to write about. If you are near by stay at the pousada in Estremoz - much better!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BjornCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the staff at Pousada dos Loios, I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience at the Pousada. I can assure you that our main objective is to make each and every one of our guest happy to stay here. We have already changed all the carpets in every room, we have been painting all the rooms and we are trying the best we can to solve all the problems keeping in mind our guests satisfaction. I do hope to see you again in a next visit so that we can try to change your opinion about the Pousada.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay here - upon learning from one email where I'd mentioned in passing that it was a special occasion, they upgraded us to an amazing, huge and character-filled suite that was just fantastic. Exploring the old building was fun and being able to walk out the door and see the temple and turn the corner to find a historic cathedral was great. We booked ahead and got the room at a significant discount; I'm not sure I'd be so happy had we not been upgraded to the suite and paid a cheaper rate but all around a very enjoyable stay - and, for what it's worth, do definitely take an overnight stay in Evora if you're already in Lisbon.

Sure, it's an older building (that's why you're staying in a pousada) and with that come a few drawbacks such as a clawfoot tub that was pretty but also vaguely dangerous and slippery and was all but impossible to use without water going everywhere and the staff could have been more forthcoming about certain features of the hotel, but we loved the location and the feel of the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrintiFiBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
on behalf of all the staff of the Pousada dos Loios we would like to thank you for your kind words. They encourage and motivate us every day to do more and better towards meeting the expectations of our clients. We will try our best to improve the maintenance of our rooms and be more forthcoming about all the features of the hotel. We do hope to see you again in Évora and in Pousada dos Loios.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Pousada commands a grand presence inside an old monastery but at that point the magic is gone. We had dinner in their dining room. The service was slow, food terrible, and check came incorrect. Doesn't make you want to return!

Room Tip: stay at the Algergaria do Calvario and eat at Fialho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Lois, Gerente geral at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
on behalf of all the staff of the Pousada dos Loios we would like to thank you for your opinion. It is thru the comments of our clients that we may improve in the future. They motivate us every day to do more and better towards meeting the expectations of our clients. We will try our best to improve the service and the quality of our restaurant so that on your next visit we may change your opinion. I can assure you that it is not normal having a slow service and poor quality and we do apologize for this day. We do hope to see you again in Évora and in Pousada dos Loios.
Kind regards,
André Freire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.2 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#9 of 26 in Evora
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento de Evora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento de Evora

Property: Pousada Convento de Evora
Address: Largo do Conde de Vila-Flor, Evora 7000-804, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Convento de Evora 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Convento de Evora, also known as the Pousada dos Loios, is located in the museum-city of Evora, a World Heritage site. The Pousada is located between the Catedral Gotica de Evora and the Templo de Diana and very close to the Praca do Giraldo and the Colegio do Espirito Santo. The building retains traces of its original architecture, such as courtyard cloisters, a peaceful and serene area where you will find the outdoor swimming pool and an area for you to relax. The Pousada features the Loios restaurant, a bar and a free car park with limited capacity. Almost all of the rooms are individually unique and include Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Convento de Evora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Dos Loios De Evora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing