We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in historic monastery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Convento de Evora
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our family of 4 (2 adults, 7 yr old and 3 yr old) stayed in a suite at the Pousada dos Loios de Evora. I read many of the reviews here and was skeptical, but my husband convinced me that we should stay and experience the history of the pousada and town. I generally tend toward more modern, contemporary hotels and apartments. Since I knew the pousada would not deliver on that front, I managed my expectations and had a good time.

The suite we had was very large and roomy with a separate living room with sofa, desk, etc and with a separate bathroom and a separate shower area. It was more than enough room for 4 of us. The kids had a great time playing "castle" with the big key and old door locks. Our room overlooked the courtyard which was nice and quiet.

As expected, the furnishing and decor were very traditional and a bit dated, but that lends to the charm of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom itself had a clawfoot tub, toilet and sink, but there was a separate shower only room across the way. Interesting layout. The room was clean but I wouldn't say spotlessly so. I did notice some dusty areas in the room/bathroom which I wouldn't expect to see at a hotel of this price level.

The staff were friendly with the children and helpful enough. We asked the bellboy for a restaurant recommendation, and he told us to try Luar de Janeiro which was great. The food was better than the restaurant recommended in all of our guidebooks. We did not eat dinner or lunch at the hotel.

The location of the hotel was great, right next to the Roman temple ruins and church. We walked all over town which was nice, didn't have to move the car and find parking. There are many restaurant options a short walk away.

Breakfast at the hotel was decent, included in our rate. There were plenty of choices including eggs and sausages, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices, bread and pastries. While it wasn't the best breakfast ever, it was a nice way to start the day before sightseeing. The space is a bit awkward as the tables are set along the corridor and people are walking back and forth to get food, but we didn't mind as we didn't stay long in the breakfast area.

Overall, we had a nice stay and really enjoyed exploring the pousada and exploring the town of Evora. If you're looking for a chraming, historic place, this would be it. If you're looking for contemporary decor, you'd have to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ciaotuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you and your husband for having chosen Pousada de Évora, while staying in this town.
We appreciate you thoughtful comments on the suite, the staff and on the breakfast service.
The Housekeeping Staff was informed of your feedback on the cleanliness of the bathroom and they will be extra attentive.
We are glad you have enjoyed the historical atmosphere of the city and its Pousada and we hope to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 827 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was the first pousada we stayed in on our romantic trip to Portugal. We LOVED it. We had room 112 - a beautiful 2 room suite with chandeliers and awesome paintings. The bathroom was also nice. Our view onto the courtyard was great ! The pousada is at the heart of the city's main attractions and everything is walking distance. The pousada parked our car and we never used it until we left. Outside is the roman temple, next door is the beautiful Se - a worthwhile trip. Down the cobblestone streets are excellent shops and not too far is the Chapel of Bones (a must see, though morbid).

The staff here were polite and helpful and the experience of staying in an old, well-kept monastery was very special and unique. The bar was also really nice as well - a great place to try white port. The breakfast was great and full of pastries and wonderful options. We LOVED our stay here and hope to return one day !

Room Tip: Consider a suite given that the cells may be smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review with amazing tips about visiting Évora.
We are delighted to know that we were able to provide you a romantic stay and that you have enjoyed the city and its Pousada.
Thank you also for your nice comments on the suite design, the staff performance, the restoration of the convent and the bar and breakfast service.
We would love to welcome you again in a future opportunity,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We found this Pousada to be an absolute gem! Apart from the lack of restaurant advice, the staff here were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and larger than we expected. We ate at the restaurant and the food was good, the service was impeccable. our only criticism would be some of the crockery was chipped and should be thrown away. this converted monastery was enchanting!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delphinium123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Guest,
It is great to know your stay at Pousada de Évora has come to be an unforgettable experience.
We appreciate your nice comments on the staff performance, the room and on the Restaurant food and service.
Thank you for your feedback on the crockery. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I thought that when in Evora we might as well stay in an historic building in the oldest part of the old town.
However, I must admit that having seen the mixed reviews for this place, I wasn't expecting it to be anything like as good as it was. You can see from the photos that you are getting an unrivalled location and a lovely building. But I also found pleasant and helpful reception staff, a sizeable room which included a sitting room, bathroom & bedroom with air con & 2(!) TVs, and an ample breakfast.
We didn't dine in, and so can't comment on the restaurant, other than it certainly looks the part in its candlelit cloister.
All this, added to a reasonable rate by booking early, and this pousada really contributed to a great trip around Portugal.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know you have had a wonderful stay and that Pousada de Évora surpassed your expectations.
It is located in the former Monastery of the S. João Evangelista, founded in 1485, where part of the Evora’s Castle had existed.
Thank you for sharing your experience and for such nice comments on the atmosphere of the building, the reception staff, the room and the breakfast service.
We are glad you have enjoyed your trip around Portugal and would love to welcome you again. Until then,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

If you want something different than a typical hotel, you must stay in a Pousada when in Portugal. Plus, you get the added bonus of it being adjacent to the ancient Roman Temple of Diana. This Pousada is located in the heart of historic the center of Évora which is a city classified by UNESCO as a World Heritage site. Be careful driving up the hill to the entrance.

The Pousada Évora, Lóios, was originally a convent and in 1965 the convent opened its doors as the Pousada de Portugal. The former cells of the Cónegos Regrantes (the congregation faithful), were converted into hotel rooms. But remember "cells" were very small then and I suggest you request a Superior room. At 190 Euros/ night it might break the budget for some, but I thought it was worth splurging.

The historical aspects are very fascinating and the public areas are gorgeous. Our room was fine, but not super luxurious. It was modern with a clean bathroom, but you could tell that some of the furniture should be replaced. Nevertheless, the tradeoff was worth it and I would stay there again. Breakfast buffet was ample but not as good as some of the other hotels I stayed at. Regardless, you'll have plenty of food to choose from.

Room Tip: Suggest Superior as the Standard Rooms can be smal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Dear Guest,
We are glad you were able to enjoy the historical aspect of staying at Pousada de Évora and we are delighted to read your review. There are 4 segments of Pousadas: charm, historic, historic design and nature and Pousada de Évora is historic.
Thank you very much for your nice comments and for sharing such useful tips.
In order to improve, we will take into account your feedback on the furniture and the breakfast service.
We would be delighted to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Yes-there is ambience and it indeed, does feel like an old monastary, including the tiny monk's bedrooms. We were not impressed or comfortable. The books soke about great food but, again, we did not agree at all. We found the food mediocre and the restaurant staff not particularly helpful or friendly. The front desk staff was helpful and very nice. We switched hotel after one night in this Pousada. We switched to The Hotel Adquauct which was a delight!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apolwestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
We sincerely regret that Pousada dos Loios didn’t meet your expectations and that the historical feeling of the building didn't appeal to you.
We would like to apologize for the performance of the restaurant staff and for the disappointing meal. The restaurants of Pousadas de Portugal are known for their sophisticated cuisine with the best of the traditional products of each region.
Thank you also for your nice comments on the desk staff.
We hope to welcome you again in Pousadas de Portugal for an unforgettable stay,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at the pousada in Evora in early June. The building and public spaces are beautiful. Situated at the tallest point in Evora, alongside Roman ruins, it is an impressive structure and convenient to visiting historical sites in the town. The hotel’s entrance way opens into a cozy, but dimly lighted, sitting room and bar. To the side of the entrance is a massive staircase filled with sun and lined with tapestries and paintings.

We asked for a quiet room and received one on the second floor overlooking the pool. Our room or monk cell, while small, was cozy with a TV and modern bathroom. There was a large clawfoot bathtub with a shower hose for handheld or mounted usage. I asked the hotel staff to bring us rubber mat for the tub so we would not slip and the mat was promptly delivered. We would have preferred a shower stall with walls to avoid stepping in and out of the mounted tub.

Delicious complimentary buffet breakfasts were served in the cloister surrounding the interior garden. Plentiful eggs, bacon, platters of fresh fruit, breads, pastries, yogurts, cereal and fresh orange juice. We spotted a turtle in the garden from our dining table.
The pool and quiet patio were well maintained and there were an abundance of sun umbrellas and cushioned loungers. Hotel housekeeping staff came around frequently to sweep leaves and refold towels.

Downside: The hotel’s reception staff was not as welcoming or informed as we expected. Upon checking in, we asked for a local map and were given an impossible to read, small, unhelpful map. When asked how to get to the town square, the manager waved his hand and said, “It is all done there.” We followed the direction of his hand and wound up on the completely different side of Evora, far away from stores, restaurants and tourist attractions.

On another occasion, when we asked pousada employees at the reception desk for a restaurant recommendation near the hotel, they professed to know none and scurried around for reference materials, coming up empty except for some scraps of paper torn from a book. Later, at the tourist information center in the town square, we found an attractive brochure filled with restaurant descriptions.

A favorable service experience was the reception desk offering 30 minutes of free computer time to check to email on the guest computer on the side of the sitting room.

While we would rate the physical surroundings, comfortable room but small room and convenient location of this pousada highly, we feel the front desk staff does a substandard job orienting and assisting guests.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2TravelersNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Convento de Evora, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Pousada de Évora.
We are glad you have enjoyed the cozy rooms. In Portugal, shower stalls were not very commonly used until recent years.
Thank you also for your nice regards on the location, building and public areas, the breakfast service and, especially, on the housekeeping staff.
We apologize for the reception staff performance and we will definitely have more brochures at the reception desk and make sure the information known by the front desk staff improves.
Pousadas with Internet service provide 30 minutes free of charge for every customer.
We look forward to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.2 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#6 of 26 in Evora
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 26 in Evora
834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#11 of 26 in Evora
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento de Evora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento de Evora

Address: Largo do Conde Vila Flor, Evora 7000-804, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range: $116 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Convento de Evora 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Convento de Evora, also known as the Pousada dos Loios, is located in the museum-city of Evora, a World Heritage site. The Pousada is located between the Catedral Gotica de Evora and the Templo de Diana and very close to the Praca do Giraldo and the Colegio do Espirito Santo. The building retains traces of its original architecture, such as courtyard cloisters, a peaceful and serene area where you will find the outdoor swimming pool and an area for you to relax. The Pousada features the Loios restaurant, a bar and a free car park with limited capacity. Almost all of the rooms are individually unique and include Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Convento de Evora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Dos Loios De Evora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing