We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, even better price”
Review of Ibis Evora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Evora
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Evora
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location, even better price”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We chose to stay at the Ibis in Evora after comparing prices with other accommodation options in town. The Ibis was by far the cheapest, at 35 euros per night, for which we got a decent, en-suite room with tv. Our room was facing onto the carpark and was very quiet at night. Despite the 30c+ temperatures, the room was pretty cool, and we had a good nights sleep on both nights. There is also a bar area downstairs, and free internet access in the lobby.

Parking is free in the outdoors car park, although this did seem to get full every evening - there is also the option to pay to use the indoor car park, but this doesn't seem at all necessary in Evora.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel - as in the rest of Portugal, there are loads of cafes in the town which serve a basic, and cheap, breakfast. The location is also a real plus - easy to drive to without having to negotiate the narrow old-town streets, but close enough to be able to walk into town easily.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here, and would recommend the Ibis if you're looking for a clean, cheap base for exploring Evora.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    484
    219
    37
    11
See reviews for
209
498
37
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Excellent location, it was very convenient to walk to the walled city which is just across the street. Some good restaurants within easy walking distance. Parking is available. There is a normal Ibis, rather clean, but a little bit outdated (bathroom definitely need to be renovated!). Very quiet. The room has good closet and a desk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_and_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much in this Ibis Hotel, except for one thing - the fact that there is no wireless internet in the rooms. It makes for a much more enjoyable stay in a hotel when we can come back to our room after a long day of sightseeing and sit on the bed or at the desk after a nice shower and, in the comfort of our room, use wireless internet to check our email and to check up on what is going on back home. It is SO inconvenient to have to lug our laptops down to the lobby to use them there. This was for us the big downside to this hotel.
That aside-
The pros of this hotel: Excellent location - the walled city is just across the street, so it was very convenient to walk to. There are several good restaurants within easy walking distance. If you opt to have these in your room rate, there is great covered parking and a good breakfast with plenty of choices. Our room had a king bed which was very comfortable. The room has good closet and desk space and was very quiet with hardly any street noise. When we stayed here, apparently all the TV's had just been updated in every room because all the old TVs were sitting in the hallways. The hotel was very clean and looks like it is kept up very well. The lobby is nicely decorated and the staff at the front desk were most helpful with any questions we had.
The cons of this hotel: No wireless internet
This hotel is an excellent value and internet issue aside, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in a room with a double bed and a single bed for our daughter.
The room was quite small and the decor a bit dated. The bathroom was a good size with a bath tub which is a rarity in Portugal. I found the mattress on the double bed very hard and uncomfortable. The single bed had a better foam mattress. The TV is still an old CRT model which had about 20 or so channels in Portuguese, English, Spanish and French.
.
The lobby, bar and restaurant all look new, like they have been updated recently. It was nice sitting at bar after a day of sightseeing. The Wi-Fi worked fine and we were lucky enough to have a room above the lobby which meant we could access the internet for free.

The staff were very helpful and spoke English very well.

Location wise it's just outside the town walls. We caught a bus from Lisbon and it took us about 10 minutes to walk from the bus station to the hotel. The walk to the centre of Evora only takes about 5-10 minutes. We found an entry at the Parque Infantil (children's playground) near the Evora Arena. There are many nice typical Portuguese restaurants near the Park.

Overall we had a pleasant night in Evora.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
185 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed in Ibis Evora for 2 nights in December/2011. Expect standard Ibis amenities, no frills, a decent bed and bath and regular breakfast. On the other hand, location in amazing, just in front of the city walls, just convenient for walking tours and getaways. In a city with some overprized options, Ibis Evora is just a nice option

Room Tip: Even tough the front rooms have a nice view of the walls, it is a noisy option as the main city road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e1000lewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed in Ibis Evora for 2 days.

Good location: is just outside the city walls, into the centre of the old city. Good parking.
Good bar and lounge. Breakfast choices ample, good quality.
Reception staff friendly.
Good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serene85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 25 in Evora
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 25 in Evora
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#9 of 25 in Evora
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dom Fernando
Hotel Dom Fernando
#14 of 25 in Evora
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Clara Evora Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Evora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Evora

Property: Ibis Evora
Address: Rua de Viana 18 | Quinta da Tapada, Urbanizacao da Muralha, Evora 7005-410, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Evora
#2 Best Value Hotel in Evora
#4 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Evora 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Evora hotel is 700 m from the town centre, opposite the municipal park and close to the arenas. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the UNESCO World Heritage listed old town centre and is an ideal place from which to visit the nearby Roman temple andto explore the megalith sites 12 km out of Evora. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, book one of our 87 rooms and make use of our 2 meeting rooms, a restaurant, bar and terrace area with snacks available 24hrs, free parking and WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Ibis Evora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Evora
Ibis Hotel Évora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing