We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Price and Fun Factor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Evora Inn Chiado Design
Ranked #6 of 20 Evora B&B and Inns
Tomar, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Location, Price and Fun Factor”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a great place for anyone looking for something different from the usual bland hotel stay. We recently stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms bookending a trip to Alentejo. The Nostalgia room had a great bed and a view onto the square, but the bathroom was seriously lacking in roominess and amenities. Our second night was in the Exuberancia room across the hall--same great bedding and view but with a perfectly acceptable bathroom arrangement.
There's a nice but small rooftop terrace. There is no elevator in the building, so if stairs present a problem for you, think twice.
What makes the place extra-special is the boundless enthusiam of the ladies who run it with an energetic sincerity that is so typical of Portugal.
We would return here in a hearbeat.

Room Tip: Exuberancia is on the lowest floor with good bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravennarose96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    81
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
72
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This design guest house is located right in the heart of Evora, with lovely managers who show proactivity and kindness. The whole thing is a kind of evoluted guest house, upper level, with many design furniture pieces and even selling some, as it is also a sort of gallery. It is preferrable to park outside the city walls (where it is free of charge and it is just 350mts away). But first come and check in, they will explain where and how to park your car. We had a lovely wide room (it could host a couple + 2 kids!) which was called the Pop suite and we loved it, plenty of smart colours, vintage renewed pieces and pop art design items. Air conditioning and any kind of comfort were there. In the reception on the second floor there are some laptops and internet for guests free use, although I got a wi-fi available also from my room, nearby the window and so could use my Ipad. You can also order breakfast which is not included in the standard rate, but on the main historical square just outside the main entrance you have plenty of tipycal cafes. This all lovely experience came at a very affordable price. I've seen the other alternative hotels in Evora and this is by far the smartest and coolest of all! Recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Monicajoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed two nights. They did not service or clean room even after asking. The two ladies running the place seemed a little neurotic ! The hotels WiFi did not work but with the window open I used the WiFi from the small Restaurant in the alley behind the hotel ( they gave me the code and OK to us it ). The room was very small but the poor service is why I would not return. Loved Evora!!! Just stay elsewhere .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This could be an isolated sewer problem but the bathroom was soo smelly that after waking at 5:00am we couldn't fell back asleep. Tried to open the room window but some guys were yelling down the street. So smelly that we didn't want to take the shower in the morning. Ran away as fast as we could.

Too bad, room was definitely very pretty and central. Staff is very nice too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigidou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a comfortable B&B located right in the center of Evora. I stayed there only one night, mainly due to its location, reviews in Linkedin and pictures. It is fine just for one night. It has no lift. Wifi does not reach all the floors. Rooms are just fine if your expectations are not too high as they are not very wide and bathroom is small. Breakfast is poor in variety. It is located in the main square in Evora, so it is good to explore the city and its main atractions which are close to it. However, parking in the sorroundings is a nightmare. You will have to leave the car in a private parking or far from the hotel. The people running the hotel are very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Great little hotel overlooking the main square. The room was large and nicely decorated, the common lounge was comfortable. The hotel doesnt have wifi, but there is free wifi in the square below!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KarenT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nice design hotel. Very good beds. Nice furniture and look. Good staff. Small bathroom, no WiFi (and this is 2012!!)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Evora
Ibis Evora
#11 of 26 in Evora
939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
937 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
0.2 mi away
Evora Olive Hotel
Evora Olive Hotel
#7 of 26 in Evora
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evora Inn Chiado Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evora Inn Chiado Design

Property: Evora Inn Chiado Design
Address: Rua da Republica 11, Evora 7000-656, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evora Inn Chiado Design 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evora Inn is a Guest House located in Praca do Giraldo, the Centre of Evora. In this historic building, restored in 2010, was proclaimed the Republic in the year 1910. It comprises 9 rooms (single, double, suite, family rooms for 3, 4, 5 people), all with private WC, air conditioning, TV and wifi. It is a carefully restored building, kept the original architecture of the building but with a contemporary shape. The rooms feature an artistic decor which include designer furniture and fittings. Evora Inn is 100m from Cathedral of Evora and Roman Temple; 50m from the Church of S. Francisco chapel of the Bones. A full check-in is carried out with the guests, providing the cultural agenda, always having a set of custom proposals according to guests: family programs, specific cultural programmes, gastronomic, geological, etc. We keep a direct collaboration with companies promoting guided tours in the city, visits to wineries and megalithic monuments, and bicycles for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Evora Inn Chiado Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing