We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, but not as exciting as I had hoped” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capela dos Ossos

Capela dos Ossos
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.91*
and up
Private tour to Évora from Lisbon
Ranked #2 of 142 things to do in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The walls and pillars of the chapel, built in the century. XVII, are lined with thousands of human bones and skulls. Ceilings with murals realtivas death. Written on a plaque next to the door, the phrase "We bones that are here for your hope", reminds us how fleeting passage through life
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool, but not as exciting as I had hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I were very excited to check out the Chapel of Bones, but since we've both been to other places with bones, we weren't as impressed. He's been to a church in Rome and I've been to the Catacombs in Paris. It's still a really cool stop and if you're in Evora, you should definitely take a few minutes (we were maybe in there for 15 minutes, max) to check it out. It's a pretty small space, and it was a bit crowded, but we enjoyed it just the same.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzzanadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,492
    1,162
    404
    68
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sinister but very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

In the XVI century, Franciscan friars decided to gather the bones of the 42 monastic cemeteries in order to give other use to the space in town. So, they used the bones to cover all the walls and the eight pillars of the chapel. The ceilings (domes) are painted with allegorical motifs to death.
Demonstrating the transience of life, the sentence over the entrance door: “We, the bones in here, are waiting for yours”. Let them wait for long !!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HANGARinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have never seen anything like this before in some ways quite spooky especially as you can touch the bones

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank T1NT1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thought provoking...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Chapel of Bones does not take a long time to see but is a definite must when in Evora. It's unbelievable that there was a time in history when the construction of this macabre structure would have been considered acceptable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lscheers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Creepy but neat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here en route to staying at a pousada in estremoz. It was a lot smaller than I expected but also really neat. It dates back to the 12th century and the monks created it to make people think about their actions and how they affect them in life. Thought provoking and interesting. Like nothing I've seen before!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rckwygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capela dos Ossos also viewed

 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Capela dos Ossos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing