We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monte do Serrado de Baixo
Nearby Hotels
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Evora(Evora)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Evora Inn(Evora)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$126
$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Moov Hotel Evora(Evora)(Great Value!)
$57
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$226
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
90
33
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
33
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsfreshly baked breadwine roomstayed here for a weekbike tourfarm animalsrural settingworking farmbase to exploreliving roomstayed longercyclingfarmhousecorkaqueductcheeseproperty
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 133 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My friend and I (ages 24 and 27) travelled to Evora this April and stayed at Monte do Serrado de Baixo for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay! Since we were arriving from out of town on the bus, Therese (owner) arranged for a taxi to come and pick us up from the bus station! She also got us set up quickly with bikes so that we could go into the city centre and explore. She provided us with lots of useful information about what sites to see (Chapel of Bones, The University of Evora) and explanations for why. We really enjoyed the open style of the farmhouse and easily felt right at home. We enjoyed mingling with the other guests by the fire and over meals. It provided a unique, family-like experience so far away from home. We loved curling up on the couches at night with our books and a wood burning fire.

We arranged to have one dinner at the farmhouse and it was excellent. One of the staff members is also a cook and he made us a lovely 3 course meal. It was very fresh and he took the time to come and explain to us what each dish was. Our morning breakfasts were also really special. Bottomless hot coffee/tea on request was a bonus! The fresh bread, jams and other items made for a filling meal.

The one complaint that we had was a lack of separate mirror in the room. We were two young girls traveling together and it made it a bit more difficult for us to get ready but this is a quick fix (you can bring your own). The other important point to keep in mind was that you are unable to pay for the room with a foreign credit card and this was a problem for us being from Canada and we had to go to the ATM to take out money. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay here! It was a highlight of our trip and would recommend it to any of our friends and family in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portugal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our group of six took over the farmhouse for 2 nights and three days. The four bedrooms and common areas were perfect for our needs. Teresa and her family were so welcoming and helpful. The meal Teresa cooked us one of the nights we were there was authentic -- and fantastic.Other highlights include the beautiful rural setting that was still close to Evora and getting to know our wonderful guide for the day, Luis. All of us felt that we could have easily spent more time at the farmhouse, particularly if the weather had been nicer. We would have liked to be able to take advantage of all the places on the grounds to sit outside -- and to swim in the pool. One of the highlights for my son was the ability to step outside the back door, pick some lemons off the lemon tree and make fresh lemonade. We'll never forget sitting around the fire, having Teresa cook us that wonderful meal, and just generally, how helpful and friendly everyone was to us. Highly recommend this as an extremely comfortable place for families and friends to make memories that will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

A lovely country house atmosphere, and the daily activities were tailored to meet our needs. They arranged cheese visits for us, and when our return flight was cancelled went out of their way to help us make alternative arrangements. Waking up to the scent of the flowers and freshly baked bread, and the sound of birdsong will be an abiding memory.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinhamBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at this enchanting farm house as part of a four day cycling holiday. We booked two of the four lovely character bedrooms as a family (two adults and two teenagers). Despite cold weather we had a fantastic time. The setting is rural: cork trees, oranges to be picked, olives, goats and your very own pet donkey. The perfect escape.
Breakfast and evening meals to die for; everything traditional,local and organic. Despite long cycle rides we still came home heavier; impossible to resist!
Teresa is the perfect host; excellent English, knowledgeable and will do anything to help make your holiday the best it can be.
We would love to return to enjoy the beautiful setting in warm weather.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ethan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My wife and I asked Tur Aventur to help us organize a stay at their farm and to assist us with a cheese tour in the region. They were extremely helpful in identifying cheese artisans to visit. We stayed in Portugal for 10 days, 4 days of which were at the farm. We found it to be an oasis from the city of Lisbon where we started the trip. Being cheesemakers, we enjoyed the rural farmstead, the large living spaces and fireplace, the hospitality of the owners and staff and the food that was prepared for us. The breakfast was good each day in a sun-filled room. One night we had a traditional Portugese cooking lesson which was fantastic. On another night the owner, Anna noticed that we were too tired to go out for dinner, so she was kind enough to bring us some soup, bread and wine...perfect! Could not ask for more. We enjoyed having the downtime and not being fussed over. Anna, Maria and Luis were all very helpful when we needed them. They were the perfect hosts. We visited many historical sites and towns in the Alentejo region, in addition to several great cheese and winemakers. They were all very knowlegeable about their country and environs. It was very good to talk with them about their life in Portugal. We learned a lot from them and gained a better understanding and appreciation for the Portugese culture. We would highly recommend this as a great farm stay and as a home base to learn more about the culture of Portugal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews