We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting place!”
Review of Almendres Cromlech

Almendres Cromlech
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.88*
and up
Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings
More Info
$59.93*
and up
Private Tour: Évora and Almendres Cromlech Day Trip from Lisbon
More Info
$113.86*
and up
Private tour to Évora from Lisbon
Ranked #5 of 145 things to do in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Iasi, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very interesting place!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I read about it, I planned to go there, but what I saw was beyond my expectations. We reached the area after driving throu a cork-tree wood. And there they were: around 100 stones about 7000 years old, located on the slope of a hill going down about 70 m, in the shape of an oval. There is also a menhir nearby. It seems that they are all aligned astronomically and geometrically at sunrise at summer solstice, but there is not much knowledge about the purpose of the megaliths. Some of them still preserve the carvings, which can be vaguely seen in a certain position. Very nice place to go, I definitely recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    326
    110
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Easy to reach in Guadalupe”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a great group of standing stones, and I have never seen so many. While smaller than those in Orkney or Stonehenge, they're very impressive. Great for kids--tell them cave men erected them.

The address in google maps (when you click on directions here) isn't right, but will take you to the general area, and it is easy to follow street directional signs. The road is dusty, but an easy drive FOLLOW ROAD TO END, you cannot pass the car park.

There is a single large menhir about 1.5-2 km before the circle.

Helpful?
Thank santjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great sites to visit, very interesting. The road was fine in late march 2014' so maybe they resurfaced it already. We went on to Valverde to the Neolithic tomb/Dolmen. That was even better in our opinion. Our guidebook suggested you had to back via Evora, but there was a metalled road from Guadlupe to Valverde, which was fine. Much shorter journey.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cornish Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Impressive stone formation from prehistoric times”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This requires a very bumpy and dusty drive for about 3km on a poorly maintained dirt road, but our GPS led us to it correctly. A short (100m) walk from the parking area takes you to the stone formation made of rounded rocks of 1 to 3 m in height placed in an elliptical arrangement which they believe is linked to astronomical (solstice/equinox) dates. One has to marvel at the effort it must have required to find, shape and move these stones from wherever they originated to this site. We went in the morning in March and had the site to ourselves which made it even more impressive and allowed us to get some nice photos.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AKHCERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“off the beaten track but well worth it”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

You reach this from the small village of Guadalupe west of Evora. The site itself is awe inspiring, comprised of dozens of stones in two ovals; some of which are carved. If you have any interest in pre-history or stone dolmens/cirlces, don't miss it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfromric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almendres Cromlech also viewed

 

Been to Almendres Cromlech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing