We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design and confort all the way!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Aveiro, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Design and confort all the way!!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

First of all lets talk about the room. It was by far the most beautiful and comfortable room we have ever stayed. A gigantic bed with the most comfortable mattress ever...don't know how to explain..we were very tired because we drive like 2 and half hours from algarve through the Alentejo region. That bed made everything for us.... The room has a glass separating the bathroom from the room, which was excellent because you can see Tv while lying on the bathtub, which we did. And besides the bathtub it has also a shower.
The room decoration was outstanding.Everything in white and some green...even the TV was white. It had a view to the pool and garden and the aqueduct. The channel list was complete with my favorite channels. Also you had 3 capsules of Nespresso coffee to use on the Nespresso machines in the corridors.

The building was nice, very design, very quiet.The outdoors were amazing, the swimming pool very design also.To bad our stay was on totally rain , so we didn't use the pool sadly. The 1 floor bar was nicely decorated and it had also a lecture room with some books.Also it had computers with internet free for use.

We had dinner at the main restaurant and its was like gourmet food.It was well made and we appreciated.Be aware of the prices...we payed 70 Euros for dinner.

Breakfast : One of the most delicious breakfast ever. Its so traditional from Alentejo...with a large variated of home made jams, lots of juices especially true orange juice...some pastry, the traditional english breakfast (eggs, bacon, etc) ...Some variety of cheeses, especially some traditional Portuguese goat cheese which i love and is very expensive . A true Alentejo breakfast . 5* for the breakfast.
We didn't try the Sushi Bar.

Our stay was not to visit Evora but to visit a little village called "Monsaraz" which was beautifull.
Evora we had already visit and i recommend it to all of you.Its a World Heritage city.
The hotel is located INSIDE the city Walls which is important because is hard to park inside the walls, and with a 10 minutes walk you are on the historic center .

The hotel has a private park which has a charge of 5 Euros..... Many say that is not fair to charge the guests because the room price is already to high....Well i paid the 5 euros.I will not comment about this . If you choose not to pay the park you have some parking places near so don't worry about that. In our personal case the private park was a good thing because it rained during our stay so we could did the check in and check out without getting wet because the park is underground.

Definitely one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stay in.The rooms are breathtaking in my opinion.The staff helpful , polite and friendly.
Its expensive yes, but i think he deserves it.
I recommend 100% this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giruip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    218
    38
    20
    3
See reviews for
181
398
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

we were 6 friends travelling Portugal,4 brazilian and 2 portuguese born.it was Carnival.3 days in the Alentejo.evora was chosen to be the main spot.the city is very beautiful.the hotel very modern in the middle of such an ancient place is a nice surprise.
our second day at the hotel was my birthday and the gentleman at the front desk called my name and with an extremely soft way gave me congratulations and at the end of the day I've received a basket of delicious fruits and a greeting card!
by the way the name of the hotel is uncorrectally written at tripadvisor,as it is:
M'AR DE AR AQUEDUTO
after Evora we've been 3days at Guimarães and then the last 3 days in Lisbon.
i've loved the whole trip around Portugal but Evora will stay in my heart forever

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acarajapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

It´s indeed a great hotel but it´s not a 5 star Hotel. At the day of our arrival the room had a terrrible smell and, because it had a door separating the room from other, it was very badly insonorizated. The service and the people in the front desk were extraordinarly polite and professional offering us another room. The breakfast was good and with fresh food. It was a very pleasent stay but for a 5 star hotel it needs some improvement.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galocha78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARDeARHotels, Director of Sales at M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment!
We have already checked the origin of the smell and we believe that it won’t happen again.
There is always space for improvements and we will take note of the sound proofing problems you have mentioned.
It is also important to say that your feedback was already very important for us.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon in M’AR De AR Aqueduto Hotel for another Évora experience!
Best Regards,
M'AR De AR Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We endores the other visitors comment a great stay, we had a lovely state of the art garden room. great pool and breakfast . A little quiet but we asume that is down the current economic climate

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r&kLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Great hotel.
Trendy, modern with huge rooms. Two big beds together and a large bathroom (with a tub and a shower).
The swimming pool has a very good design but it's a little bit small and it should have a little more space surrounding it. The water is not heated up, but it's quite nice to refresh from the hot temperatures of Évora.
Didn't try the restaurants but liked the breakfast wich was not spectacular but had everything we usually eat.
You have parking at 5 euros/night but you can leave the car for free on the other side of the street (outside the city walls).
The staff was nice and available to everything you nedd. The location is great and you can go by foot to any place in Évora. If you go to Évora to visit the city this is the best option because the other top hotels in this city don't offer this location.
Go to Évora, you will like the city, the food and the hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucasousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
632 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Our group (Tauck Tours) was supposed to stay at the Convento do Espinheiro, but due to a large conference were moved to the M'ar De Ar Aqueduto. The hotel is quite modern with very comfortable rooms and a large wonderful rain shower! The quality of the food and presentation for dinner in the dining room was top notch though the service seemed a bit amatuerish though it didn't detract from the experience.

This hotel is in an excellent location with an easy walk to town unlike if we had stayed at the Convento.

I took advantage of the spa and had a massage that was very well done...better than some that i have had in the states.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful and efficient.

When in Evora, my husband and I would definitely stay once again at the M'ar AR Aqueduto!

Thanks to Tauck Tours for arranging such an excellent replacement hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We won a 4 night stay at this hotel including breakfast and a romantic evening meal - so my rating for value is based on the fact that it was free. I can say that it is a lovely hotel and the staff were great - very helpful and polite. We had a standard room which over looked the gardens, pool and aquaduct. The rooms are big, the bathroom has bath with shower and separate shower unit. The beds were enormous and very comfortable. There is a little noise from the road, not enough to wake you but it can be heard and there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The breakfasts and the meals we had in the hotel were excellent. There is car parking but it is quite hard to find as it is down a side road on the left before you get to the hotel and through the gates in the garden wall - then you park under the hotel. We did not use the spa but the pool area and gardens were great and the whole place is spotless. The hotel is within easy walking district of the city centre and its attractions. Evora is a very pretty city: it is not too big and you can get round it in about 2 days - we hired a car and went to the surrounding areas, which were beautiful and with colourful fields of spring flowers everywhere. The hotel would be idea for a romantic break, anniversary or a honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSanderson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evora hotels
2.3 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 26 in Evora
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
M'AR De AR Muralhas
M'AR De AR Muralhas
#9 of 26 in Evora
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Evora
Vila Gale Evora
#10 of 26 in Evora
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto

Property: M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 72, Evora 7000-582, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Evora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#4 Family Hotel in Evora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new and trendy hotel in the centre of the beautiful town of Evora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Ar De Aqueduto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing