We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Evora

“The place is amazing! Awesome host- food was delicious- service was excellent. For sure will be back again! Highly recommend ”

Taberna Tipica Quarta Feira
Ranked #1 of 317 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Uma pequena taberna típica alentejana, cujo lema é Chame para a sua mesa um caracter de excepção. Tendo 30 lugares de capacidade, ao almoço servimos no máximo 36 pessoas e ao jantar fazemos somente um serviço, situação que não abdicamos para pudermos fazer o serviço de proximidade que pretendemos.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is amazing! Awesome host! Food was absolutely delicious . Highly recommended. You will treated well here and u will enjoy your meal. Everything was fresh and Fast! House wine was for sure will be back again

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank shirinBehdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
João D, Proprietário at Taberna Tipica Quarta Feira, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Shirin, thank you for your kind words.
See you soon.

João

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2020

We read about this restaurant in Lonely Planet guide book and decided to give it a whirl. It was described as a fixed menu black pork and salad place which sounded like the taverns in Poland and Germany where you get a board of ham hock, salad, pickles and bread, so we went with that level of expectation: good plain host food. We turned up without a booking on a Tuesday night at the end of the first week of January and were surprised that there was no free table. We quickly reserved a table for the following evening. The restaurant has just 26 covers and serves one sitting each evening. The meal is a set menu. As the charming owner/chef joked pointing to me "the only thing you get to do is choose the wine" and pointing to my husband "and you get to pay the bill". The following night we were shown to a small corner table and given the wine list. We aren't familiar with Portuguese wines so asked for a recommendation and were given an excellent unoaked white. Then the food started coming with every dish explained by the attentive staff. We counted nine starter dishes, the highlights for me were sauteed wild mushrooms with garlic and fresh coriander, melted Portuguese sheeps' cheese (buttery and delicious) and chilled shot glasses of pomegranate gazpacho (amazing flavours). Then came hot and creamy carrot soup. For mains we actually got a choice of slow cooked black Iberian pork or octopus, and we opted for the octopus as the lighter dish as were were beginning to feel a little full ;) It was beautifully cooked, tender and tasty and came with roasted veg and sat on creamed spinach. Next came an amazing palate cleanser (which we assumed was pudding!!) a shot glass of something like frozen Caipirinha with Cachaca: citrusy and moreish. Pudding was a sort of chocolate fudge with fresh raspberries and a local almond and egg custard. Maybe a step too far for us, but gorgeous. We wished we had skipped lunch. If only we had known. The whole evening was a delightful event. Equal to a fine dining experience but in an intimate and relaxed setting and at a fraction of the price. The bill was €75, €25 each for the food and €25 for the wine. The bottled water we requested was included in the fixed price. We were also offered coffee but were too stuffed to even contemplate it!! Fantastic value for superb food.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flyer824489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
João D, Proprietário at Taberna Tipica Quarta Feira, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Thank you very much for your kind words.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

while you don't get a menu you have to put your trust in a very likable host and chefs and aside from a host who explains every course with energy and knowledge your in for a great dining experience but more importantly with some excellently cooked food that tickles the taste buds and a good wine for that matter.
if you do go to this lovely little restaurant i'd advise going there when your hungry as you get a lot of portions and i do mean a lot,and while i just turned up and got lucky,i'd advise booking in advance.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alittletoolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
João D, Proprietário at Taberna Tipica Quarta Feira, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Thank you very much for your kind words.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019

In Evora for a weekend away and had dinner at the wonderful restaurant. Our host, Joao, was welcoming. The restaurant is a prix fixe menu. We had Joao select the wine which was a perfect pairing for the food served that night. We couldn’t have asked for a better experience. And reservations are a must.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 487gaylep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed the absolutely warm service, friendly staff who made extra effort to introduce each dish to us. The food was hearty, portions were generous and we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch here. The appetisers were especially good for us, in particular the goat cheese dip as well as the baked chickpeas with eggs.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank ruthsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Tipica Quarta Feira also viewed

 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Taberna Tipica Quarta Feira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing