We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aah, what a meal!”

Botequim da Mouraria
Ranked #1 of 250 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“aah, what a meal!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

has been the best ever in Portugal thus far...was recommended by Suraya at our hotel ALBERGARIA DO CALVARIO & it was so well worth it. we had veal & lamb that melted in our mouths, pata negra, local fried cheese & the most amazing poached quince for dessert along with delicious local vines. the owner (the maitre'd, waiter, manager etc. etc.) & his wife (the chef) were extremely friendly & went out of their way to make the evening very special. i wish i could be back though sadly i doubt i will.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seattlefoodie_desi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    85
    12
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evora, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exellent food”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

But the place is really tiny, so with 10 people it's packed. Prices are medium-high, but service is allways friendly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rui_NCC1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another great restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a seat at the bar because we were there when it opened! Come any later and you will be disappointed. The owner suggested several items on the menu. My husband had lamb which was juicy and very tasty and I had veal, also very good.
Wine was included in the price and was free flowing. Met an Australian and American couple at the bar and had a great time. The owner took pics of us and was very gracious. This is a really unique and fun experience. Do It!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DogDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
“A favorite and a lot of FUN!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The food is excellent, really good and this is a FUN place to dine! Domingos will prepare your food in his tiny kitchen and you can observe much of it, he claims to not speak much English, but understands quite a lot and make YOU feel you can speak portuguese!! I advice you to trust him to make a selection - we did and it was all very tasty and prepared to perfection - had cured ham, mushrooms, cheese, and steak (cooked to perfection!) he recommended the wine and it was also very good. And he takes a photo of everyone who eats at his bar and we end up on the little digital picture frame on the wall. We went on our last night in Evora, would have loved to be back, absolutely a favorite!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trust the chef”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Restaurant has only 9 stools at the bar so be prepared to go early. As Domingos does not speak much English, I trusted him to make my selection and was not disappointed.
Only place that I have eaten where my photo was taken by the restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kgwieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botequim da Mouraria also viewed

 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Botequim da Mouraria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing