We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sweet little cottage nestled in the woods.”
other travelers have booked this property
Gallows Cove Cottage - next to the ocean, minutes walk to East Coast Trail, and Ecological Reserve.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gallows Cove Cottage - next to the ocean, minutes walk to East Coast Trail, and Ecological Reserve.
Cozy 2-bedroom cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Gallows Cove Cottage - next to the ocean, minutes walk to East Coast Trail, and Ecological Reserve.
Cozy 2-bedroom cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Witless Bay, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marilyn K
Oakville
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sweet little cottage nestled in the woods.”
Reviewed September 20, 2019 for a stay in September 2019

A beautifully kept two bedroom cottage on picturesque Witless Bay. Every need was met including a welcome loaf of fresh bread and coffee. We were visiting family as well as sightseeing so it was an excellent central location. Trepassey for Mistaken Point fossil excursion and Cape Race. Ferryland archeological dig, St. John’s for Cabot Tower, Cape Spear, and The Rooms, and St. Mary’s bird sanctuary were some places we visited. Also Woody Island Resort overnight! The East Coast Trail is accessible from a beach just a bit down the road. There is something for everyone. Foodland, a coffee shop, Captain’s Table restaurant, and a walk in clinic/drug store close at hand. 1.8 km from the main road. Loved it so much. Must return next year!

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluesky91...
Evansville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gallow’s Cove Cottage “A Gem””
Reviewed August 23, 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Gallow’s Cove Cottage was the best surprise ever! If you are looking for a getaway to relax and unwind, this is the perfect place. The welcoming yellow cottage is nestled in a quiet and beautiful setting. Opening the door we found delicious homemade bread, tea, and coffee waiting for us. The cottage is a short walk to a beach and part of the East Coast Trail which is a must if you are a hiker. It is a magnificent trail! The cottage is close to a couple restaurants, a Tim Hortons, whale watching boats, the Colony of Avalon, and St Johns. The cottage is well equipped and immaculate. We stayed a week and were sad to leave. Try Gallow’s Cove Cottage. You will love it!

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover2...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely setting.”
Reviewed August 20, 2019 for a stay in August 2019

So glad we booked this cottage. Very clean. Private yard with a barbeque and deck chairs. Everything we needed for our stay and a great base to see the area. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again if we return to Newfoundland.

Date of stay: August 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trek50247...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booked it last minute and loved it!”
Reviewed August 13, 2019 for a stay in August 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived to find a perfect gem. We were attracted by the decor in the pictures, and were happy to find that the ad was accurated. Comfortable and quiet for sleeping. Great restaurant in Witless Bay, on the water. Tim Horton's is only a few minutes. Great spot for end of the day after touring around.

Date of stay: August 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBROBIN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy Cottage near Ocean”
Reviewed July 22, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Wonderful, cozy, quiet cottage close to the ocean. The owner’s description of the cottage was very accurate. We appreciated the freshly baked bread and coffee.
There is lots to do in the area. We particularly enjoyed whale watching and puffin viewing.
Would definitely go back again!

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjlOshawa...
oshawa, ontario
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sweet Cottage in the Forest”
Reviewed June 22, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this sweet cottage in the forest. It was private and incredibly quiet but with easy access to local attractions. Every amenity was provided and the cottage was immaculately clean. While not on the water a short forest walk led to a dramatic view of Witless Bay. We enjoyed an O'Brien's boat tour, hiking at La Manche Park, and the short trip to the Avalon Colony in Ferryland.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Franny19
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was beautiful and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and the washer and dryer was a bonus. The cottage is secluded and quiet. There is a trail off the back yard that takes you to the cliffs for a beautiful ocean view.

Joy was very helpful with throughout the rental process and I would definitely recommend this property.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing