We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last night in beautiful New Foundland- and just perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witless Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 2 Witless Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

From the awesome view over the harbor to the room, breakfast, common room and gracious hostess Elaine, and oh, can't forget cute lil Bosco:)- hoping to stay more then one night on our next visit! Only 1/2 hour from airport so worked out well. Thank you, Susie and Keith, Wisconsin

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sus593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Elaine's B&B is a great location for exploring the East Coast Trail. Our room was modern, clean and very comfortable. The guest lounge may be one of the best I've ever been in - a large picture window facing the sea, a roaring fire, and most of the guests would gather here in the evening, to read, play games or chat about the day. It is a very social B&B.
Elaine makes it feel very much like "my home is your home" and guests are welcome in the kitchen to make a cup of tea and to prepare their own light meals in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maplegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We landed in Newfoundland on the 15th of August with no clue where we were going to stay we were driving in the Witless Bay area when we saw the sign for Elaine's B & B and were praying that there was a room available because it was a beautiful site to see and low and behold Elaine came home from town and said yes there is I was elated because this was where I wanted to stay beautiful property and fabulous friendly hosts. Great breakfast and the best coffee and tea that we had in the 2 weeks we spent in newfoundland.

Annie and Wayne Arsenault Milton Ontario

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We knew from the get-go that this would be the most memorable place that we would stay in. Nothing compared after that. Accommodations were great, breakfast out of this world and of course, the hosts themselves were people that you enjoyed spending time with. We have already recommended this place to other friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 190Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Friendly, comfortable B & B with a fantastic view. Full breakfast with lots of choices. Knowledgable hostess can recommend restaurants, attractions in the area. A half hour drive from St. John's you are in the country yet close to the city for sightseeing. Rooms are very clean and well appointed. Guests have a private entrance and share a lovely sitting room with a stunning view - perfect for reading or chatting on a rainy day or in the evening. I highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just one short night but so very much enjoyed. Lovely, lovely room with everything you could want. Fabulous location and property overlooking Witless Bay. Perfect nature watching from her vast yard, comfy Adirondack chairs and benches. Very welcoming hosts. Highly recommend their zodiac whale and bird watching tour....amazing ! Great spot to settle in and visit the Avalon sights and hiking trails. Excellent breakfast. Cannot say more than definitely a place to stop. Book early so not to be disappointed!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Scottie799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Arrived late in evening but Elaine was waiting for us. Dynamic and friendly from the start despite the inconvenience. Large bedroom with King Bed and Bay view. Well appointed and comfortable. Very clean private and community areas. Nice landscaping overlooking the water. Excellent breakfast with multiple choices cooked to order. She adjusted to vegetarian requests quickly and pleasantly. Were able to see whales in the bay from her breakfast table. She was a wealth of information about history of the area and available activities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witless Bay
Bears Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Witless Bay
57 reviews
Comerfords Suites
#2 of 2 in Holyrood
29 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 23 in St. John's
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 23 in St. John's
613 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea

Address: Witless Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Witless Bay
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witless Bay
Price Range: $52 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Elaine's Bed And Breakfast By The Sea Witless Bay, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing