We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous home, lovely people!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witless Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 2 Witless Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home, lovely people!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having stayed in many B and Bs, Elaine's was by far the most comfortable I've encountered. Her home is beautiful, and spotlessly clean. With large common areas, it feels like a home, not a hotel. We stayed 4 nights and had wonderful evening conversations with the other guests in the living areas. Breakfast was great. Elaine and Dan are both so friendly and accommodating. I would also highly recommend the Zodiac tour run by Dan and Elaine. We saw many, many birds and several whales up close, including two breaching! It was an incredible experience all around. If you're coming to Witless Bay, don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lds93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
96
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

WOW, the room with a view, awesome. Dan's and Elain's georgeous home here is so welcoming and comfortable, it's hard to believe it's a B&B. The bed was superb (I loved the flower sheets) and the room large and very clean Tthe home lends itself to meeting other guests. Elain was so helpful and accommodating and whipped us up the most incredible breakfasts. You can look out your bedroom window and see whales......fantastic. My favourite B&B of our two week stay on the rock. Dan runs a Whale Watching tour, and it was unbelievable. Geared up in Survival suits and tearing across the bay in a Zodiac, How cool. The best whale tour yet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Elaine's - from the gorgeous room, amazing view, comfortable home and the best breakfast we had in the 2 weeks we spent on the Rock. We sat and sipped wine on the lawn while watching whales in the harbour.

Room Tip: The upper room with the bay window was a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a view. We had a beautiful clean room with 2 windows that overlook the bay. At 530 in the morning the minke whales come right to the edge of her place there is a porch outside that you can sit and watch the whales Elaine came out and joined me and watch them. We saw humpback and minkes in the morning over coffee and tea. Great breakfast and company. Loved staying there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renews, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Elaine's B&B is a great place: a very warm welcome when you arrive, a very clean and cozy bedroom and a fantastic location right on the shore of Witless Bay. And if you want to go whale watching, this is the place because Elaine's husband runs a whale watching business just a few minutes walk from the B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilleret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Elaine's is a pristine home in a stunning location with expansive views of the bay from nearly every part of the house. We saw tonnes of whales from our room at all times of the day. There is a beautiful seating area on the lawn overlooking the bay, where we met several passers-by who wished they were staying there! Breakfast is excellent, and Bosco the dog provides entertaining companionship. The zodiac tour, even though it was more costly than advertised, was a once in a lifetime experience and well worth the money. It is worth the trip to Witless Bay just to stay at Elaine's.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a beautiful view of the bay from two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Newfoundland, and staying at Elain's was a really good choice. She and Danny are warm, inviting and most informative. The place was spotless, the food was wonderful, the vew is spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
Thanks Elaine and Danny!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witless Bay
Bears Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Witless Bay
51 reviews
Comerfords Suites
#2 of 2 in Holyrood
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
267 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea

Property: Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea
Address: Witless Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Witless Bay
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witless Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Elaine's Bed And Breakfast By The Sea Witless Bay, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing