We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A not-to-be-missed experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witless Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 2 Witless Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Elaine's is a pristine home in a stunning location with expansive views of the bay from nearly every part of the house. We saw tonnes of whales from our room at all times of the day. There is a beautiful seating area on the lawn overlooking the bay, where we met several passers-by who wished they were staying there! Breakfast is excellent, and Bosco the dog provides entertaining companionship. The zodiac tour, even though it was more costly than advertised, was a once in a lifetime experience and well worth the money. It is worth the trip to Witless Bay just to stay at Elaine's.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a beautiful view of the bay from two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Newfoundland, and staying at Elain's was a really good choice. She and Danny are warm, inviting and most informative. The place was spotless, the food was wonderful, the vew is spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
Thanks Elaine and Danny!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

During our recent 2 week visit to NL we had the pleasure of staying at Elaine's B&B. This lodging was absolutely the best B&B we stayed on the whole trip. The home is beautiful, the water views are great, the breakfast was top notch and Elaine's hospitality was warm and welcoming. In short, we'd return in a heartbeat if our travels took us in the Witless Bay area again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room upstairs which is a little more isolated and quiet and would again although al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted_in_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We chose Elaine's after finding it on Trip Advisor, so thought we'd add to the glowing reviews on this site to help others decide. Keeping it short...

- Breakfast - fantastic. Delicious bacon, home made blueberry muffins, and an amazing view looking out to sea, whale spotting with the other guests.
- Room - light, spacious, the most comfortable bed and again the most amazing views. We spotted humpback and minke whales every morning and evening of our stay.
- Hospitality - Elaine was a lovely, genuine host - even at 6 in the morning when my wife headed down to make tea! Overall, very relaxed and informal.
- Location - incredibly quiet, and simply the best views from any B and B we've ever stayed in.

There aren't too many local restaurants. The Captain's Table (not mentioned on Trip Advisor) is just down the road, and pretty good. The Irish Loop down in Ferryland to be avoided. Finally, the zodiac trip, which can be booked by Elaine, is well worth the money. A bit more expensive than your usual boat trip, but a lot more fun! And you're pretty much guaranteed to get up close and personal with the humpbacks.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the most fantastic views. We just sat and stared out to sea, spotting Humpbacks and Minke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpennyGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Elaine's B anb B is in a perfect location for seeing the sites, is in a gorgeous setting on Witless Bay, the home is neat, clean, well-organized, and beautiful, the food is good and most importantly, Danny and Elaine are perfect host and hostess! They are warm, welcoming, friendly, and eager to help in every way possible. We stayed five nights with them, and we look forward to seeing them again. Most definitely we would stay at Elaine's B and B again.

Room Tip: We were in room 6, and the view was gorgeous. All the rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The setting of Elaines's B&B is truely stunning - right on the waterfront with far reaching views out to the Witless Wildlife Reserve Islands.
Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean and the roaring fire in the Lounge very welcome after a day out attempting to sightsee in the dense fog and cold weather conditions!!
The breakfast was superb and Elaine made us feel welcome and at ease instantly.
A superb place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Elaine and Dan are lovely people who really know how to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, and they will go out of their way to do so. My wife and I couldn't find a room under $300 in St. John's one night, due to the World Ball Hockey championships booking up an extra 400 rooms in town. The upside to that is that we were able to stay at Elaine's exquisite B and B. The views of the ocean and surrounding coastline are superb, we found our room very comfortable, and the breakfast was substantial and tasty. We are from Pittsburgh and our hockey team was playing in the Stanley Cup semi finals the night we stayed. The TV in our room was on the small side but Dan and Elaine kindly invited us to watch the game with them on their large living room TV. OK, the Penguins lost to the Bruins, but that's not the point!

The night we stayed every room was occupied, but it didn't feel crowded or constrained in any way. We can recommend this place without reservation, as it was one of the very top places we stayed during our two-week trip to Atlantic Canada. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask at time of booking for the nicest room available. Our room was the last one available the day we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed and Breakfast By The Sea

Address: Witless Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Witless Bay
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witless Bay
Price Range: $51 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Elaine's Bed And Breakfast By The Sea Witless Bay, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing