We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newfoundland Niceness”

Irish Loop Coffee House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Orono, ME
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Newfoundland Niceness”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a stop here on our way around the Irish Loop. The weather outside was fairly grim, but the warmth of the welcome and the homemade food turned the day around. I enjoyed a carrot and ginger soup that was finished just as we were ordering, with a ham and cheese croissant. For dessert, the lemon bread pudding with warm caramel sauce was sweet and tart and dense. This is not gourmet fare, but that's not what they're advertising here. It felt a bit like being in grandma's kitchen, and I would happily visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarpGirl207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    30
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fresh food, delightful servers, unbeatable views”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Small, clean, and wonderful. Homemade meals with lots of variety. The home baking is always just coming out of the oven, and they taste even better than they smell! Breakfast, lunch, a pot of tea, or great coffee...served with a smile and a bit of chat.

Newfoundland friendly...can't get better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great brunch!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stopped here last week while driving around for a late breakfast. The owner was very nice and friendly and the service was quick. The homemade bread toast, the generous amount of bacon and the perfectly cooked eggs were amazing. The view was great as well! if we had a car the whole time we were in St. John's we probably would have driven there again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location was good. Beautiful views. We stopped for tea and coffee. The tea was fine the coffee not fresh. We ordered gingerbread (dry) and carrot cake ( hot on outside cold inside and tasteless)

The service was very slow.

Continue on to Ferryland. Much better

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1retiredlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Not Great, Friendly Staff though”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

There was a friendly atmosphere in this coffee shop. Ordered the Salt Cod Cakes but were served only lukewarm and contained mostly potato and stale bread on the side. I would expect better from a local place in Newfoundland where cod cakes are a staple. Would not recommend this place and would not return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaelonthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Loop Coffee House also viewed

 
Ferryland, Newfoundland
 
Ferryland, Newfoundland
Fermeuse, Newfoundland
 

Been to Irish Loop Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing