We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people and stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Armstrong's Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witless Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armstrong's Suites
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice people and stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very clean efficiency. Lovely people. They make you feel very at home. Very good about giving information about the bay and area. There is no breakfast but just for a special occasion made all of us a fantastic breakfast thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We planned on staying at Anita's suites for one night and ended up extending our stay to four nights, mainly because she was really great. The rooms were really clean with a kitchen unit. Anita went beyond the call of duty of a hostess and she made our stay in Witless Bay unforgettable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Anita is a welcoming and gracious hostess. We stayed at the efficiency unit, which was like a small apartment. After being on the road for a few weeks, it was wonderful to be able to make our own meals in the clean kitchenette. The kitchenette had a stove, refrigerator, cutlery, dishes and assorted pots and pans for our use. The B&B is much more affordable than any accommodation in St. John's and is only a 40 minute drive from the city. The location is easily accessible and close to other destinations such as St. John's, Cape Broyle, Cape Spear and Ferryland. We stayed at Armstrong for three nights. A couple of activities not to be missed around Witless Bay is whale watching with Captain Wayne at Bay Bulls (a 5 minute drive) and sea kayaking with Stan Cook (a 20 minute drive). The efficiency unit was clean, spacious and comfortable. The location to all kinds of outdoor activities is unbeatable. We would definitely stay at Armstrong again the next time we are in Newfoundland!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked a housekeeping unit for 3 days to have an affordable place to stay while we wandered around the surrounding area. Anita was a great hostess, and the unit was spotlessly clean and included all necessary equipment for light meals, etc. The decor was basic, but comfortable. We used the unit while we went whale watching one day, to Ferryland Shamrock Festival and lighthouse, and to St. Johns attractions. The price was much more reasonable than staying in St. Johns.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripqueenflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at Armstrong's Bed and Breakfast for two nights. I was initially a little taken back when we arrived as the property is not located in a particularly pretty spot, with a school bus yard right next door. While there is an ensuite in each room, it is a sink and toilet only and the shower is in a seperate bathroom and is shared. However, the rooms and shared shower were immaculately clean and luckily for us, there was never an issue with waiting for our turn to use the shower. The hosts, Anita and Louis were great, and the breakfasts were the best of our entire trip- practically a buffet every morning, including oatmeal, bacon, eggs, toutons one morning and french toast another. Anita also provides delicious homebaked breads and muffins to nibble on in the evening along with cups of tea. I would definitely stay here again if we were in the Witless Bay
area.

Room Tip: Efficiency suites are also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Occasionaltraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

No cats. No carpets. Very clean! All critical for those of us with extreme allergies. Just next door to Canada's Puffin capital and an easy drive into St. John's. Friendly accomodating hosts. Sleep was cut a little bit short due to the early morning rise of some power line workers next door. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
210 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Lodging rates in St. John's are insane, so my wife and I looked for something more reasonable in the immediate area. We found it at Armstrong's. We stayed four nights in a housekeeping unit (you cook your own meals) and one night in a B&B room to which we moved because the other unit had already been booked. We paid $350 plus tax for the five nights. We were very pleased. The accommodations were perfectly clean and well furnished. Anita is a great hostess and very helpful -- even has a phone plan with unlimited minutes, so guests can call anywhere in Canada or the US for free. Wi-fi worked fine too. Location is about 25 minutes south of downtown St. John's (you can also go into the city by way of Cape Spear nearby). It is just a few minutes from the whale watch in Bay Bulls and a convenient starting point if you are going south on the Irish Loop. Just north of Armstrong's is Route 13, a straight shot west to the Trans Canada. We are pleased to recommend Armstrong's.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Armstrong's Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armstrong's Suites

Property: Armstrong's Suites
Address: 236 Southern Shore Highway, Witless Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Witless Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Witless Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 20 year business that aims to please! We offer rooms to rent while you stay in our beautiful area. We cater to your needs and offer anything to make your stay comfortable. Rooms are fully equipped with kitchen essentials and double/queen beds. Come and stay with us, you won't regret it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Armstrong's Suites Witless Bay, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing