We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place with soul!”
Review of Monte da Fornalha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monte da Fornalha
Ranked #2 of 5 Estremoz B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2013

A piece of heaven where you forget all your concerns...You find wonderful details wherever you look and Orland is a master in hospitality. You will find a fantastic garden in the middle of Alentejo, like an oasis! The breakfast is awesome and full of details. Our room was huge and cosy with beautiful views. A place to remember and to return for sure!

Room Tip: Our room (480) was fabulous and huge (40 square metres). We can stay in the same room with our two d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaRod2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

this beautiful boutique guesthouse is a true gem! Our room was very nice decorated and large, the sitting and breakfast room is superb. It gives you a homestay feeling, which we liked very much. The breakfast was excellent as our host Orlanda! You will need your own car to get there. In the small towns of Borba, Villa Vicosa and Estremoz you will find nice restaurants for your diner. Tip: do visit some vineyards! Anja, the Netherlands

Room Tip: all the rooms are equaly good. some are bigger then others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianaRM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

For the umpteenth time, a lovely stay at Orlanda's place, and we realised that it's almost like a club, meeting not only our friend Orlanda, but other guests we've met before, and all seem to be super company. Not that you have to be in other people's company, because it's perfect for total peace and solitude too, finding a spot by the pool, or just around the garden, lazing the time away, picking a fig or two, taking a cooling swim, planning your next Alentejo castle, or your next Alentejo meal....we love it !

Room Tip: Don't worry about it, they're all stylish and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We highly recommend this place. The owner has such style. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfasts superb (homemade chia seed panna cotta for example) and the pool area is great for lazy days on hot afternoons

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

As ever, this is the perfect place to relax and feel pampered, and Orlanda's style and friendliness add an extra dimension on top of the beautiful rooms garden and pool. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this place and had a lovely time. Orlanda is a fantastic host, the breakfast is outstanding and the place is comfortable and very very quiet. Ideal if you want to get away from it all. We booked the suite on the first floor and it was lovely, spacious. Garden and pool are also very nice. There is not much to do in that area other than visit some of the nice marble hill towns such as Estremoz, Borba, Villa Vicosa and Monsaraz.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjla57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Really beautiful rooms, pool, gardens. Fantastic breakfasts and great hospitality. Wonderful beds and bedding. Service and welcome truly outstanding. No effort has been spared in making this a memorable experience. I would go back tomorrow and stay a fortnight instead of just three nights!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estremoz
16.8 mi away
Torre De Palma Wine Hotel - Design Hotels
5.6 mi away
Pateo dos Solares Charm Hotel
4.7 mi away
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pousada Castelo Estremoz
4.8 mi away
Hotel Solar Dos Mascarenhas
Hotel Solar Dos Mascarenhas
#3 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
128 reviews
6.9 mi away
Monte Dos Pensamentos
Monte Dos Pensamentos
#3 of 7 in Estremoz
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte da Fornalha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte da Fornalha

Address: Estremoz 7100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Estremoz
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Estremoz
Price Range: $128 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Monte da Fornalha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing