We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Gadanha Mercearia

Gadanha Mercearia
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Estremoz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant, Wine Bar, tapas. Coffee, chocolats and cakes. Fine food grocery.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Delicious meals presented in a beautiful and original way. And make sure to leave some space to taste the desserts!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jeffrya-ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Different restaurant with a gourmet grocery that has Portuguese products....like food , wines an several things.with a fantastic atmosphere where the staff is sensational with kids.the service is fast and TOP with the food of ALENTEJO in a special way.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank duto2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We stopped here based on a recommendation from our hotel, but without a reservation. Since there dining area (indoor and outdoors) were full they gave us an option to sit at a table by the door and eat from the Soup and Starters section of the menu. We were glad we did! The vegetable and caldo verde soups were delicious. The starters we selected were good also. Attentive service and yummy dessert. A great dining experience - wish we had time to go back to try the entrees!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 457brendac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

2nd visit to Gadanha Mercearia. A lot of good memories from our first visit. And again, it was fantastic. A great meal with a fabulous wine. Amazing desert and wonderful service.
It’s worth every euro.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank FlyingTuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

I had no idea what to expect as my girlfriend was praising the place. First of all you cannot just fall on this place, you have to select it through some of the many sites such as tripadvisor, or by recommendation. Secondly you better reserve.
Thirdly it is an A-typical place and you have this instinct feeling of "this being good".
Good food, fine service and a great choice of excellent wines.
The issue is one of choice; there are so many good places in Portugal; this one merits the top 20. For my girlfriend it was obviously number 1 and it was a lunch not to forget.....well lunch at 15:45 ? Yes tgis is possible in Portugal !

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank catullevirgile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadanha Mercearia also viewed

Estremoz, Evora District
Estremoz, Evora District
 
Estremoz, Evora District
Estremoz, Evora District
 

Been to Gadanha Mercearia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing