We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place. One of Those You Can't Miss”
Review of Gadanha Mercearia

Gadanha Mercearia
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Estremoz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant, Wine Bar, tapas. Coffee, chocolats and cakes. Fine food grocery.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing Place. One of Those You Can't Miss”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

What a place! This was one of my last great discoveries in Estremoz (Alentejo). Great atmosphere, getting you the feeling you are going back in time, and great food and wine service. You have it all and you must be strong when it's time to leave. You better make a reservation first because the place is always full and it doesn't closes any day of the week or during the day. It's almost 24 hours a day :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank comerbeberlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleM1, Gerente at Gadanha Mercearia, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our team is grateful for the motivation.
We inform that we have a day off: Monday, and the restaurant is not open on Sunday evenings. But always have a good option: some tapas at the Grocery Store :D
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    157
    34
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GB
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The strength here is the use of local produce. Excellent bread and olives; fabulous rabbit&rice, similarly the asparagus scrambled egg and ham. Beautifully fresh salad. A very happy, relaxed restaurant, by any standard a wonderful place to eat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daytripper14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Spot for Lunch”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

While visiting the area of Estremoz and Monsarez we came across this place. The outdoor seating looked very inviting and without knowing it was a Trip Advisor location we got a table and requested menus. The menu was very nice and the food was great! It truly was something we merely stumbled upon and enjoyed thoroughly! Great relaxing, peaceful spot!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peniche, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice surprize in Estremoz”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I went to Mercearia Gadanha looking for some genuine products from Estremoz and Alentejo, only after entering realized there is also a café and restaurant.

I was pleasantly surprized with the overall quality and nice offer of some gourmet products from Alentejo. I bought the chouriço de porco preto which was the best I've tried so far, the fat melts.

There is small wine shop inside, focused mainly on Alentejo and with some really good quality on display and reasonably priced.

I was worth the visit, must come back to try the restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank CentralPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wunderbar, Surprising, Magnífico”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This small establishment surprised us for it's content: excellent gourmet products, friendly and welcoming young staff, and last but not least an excellent restaurant with traditional menu but elaborated with modern techniques, interesting mix of flavours and delicious taste.

We chose the mixed eggs with sparagus, the green pees cream and the cod fish with regional ham, all very good, followed with local Dona Maria red wine. To end this gastronomical experience we have chosen the creme brulee and the chocolate mousse 70% with red fruits.

We found it a more cosy option than other alternatives with higher standing in town, and thus with the best value for money ratio (48€ 2 pax).

I trully recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Gugu .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadanha Mercearia also viewed

Estremoz, Evora District
 
Estremoz, Evora District
Estremoz, Evora District
 

Been to Gadanha Mercearia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing