We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christopher Columbus slept here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Estremoz
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Christopher Columbus slept here!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

While we were in Portugal on our babymoon, couldn't pass up the opportunity to stay in a real life castle! Amazing!! We had a beautiful suite, all with original furniture. My only complaint is that it was drafty! But it's a 12th century castle and we had plenty of blankets. Our room was updated with the creature comforts so it was a good blend of old and new. Highly highly recommend. Great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rckwygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    129
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
87
205
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The drive up to this place was very impressive as we drove over a drawbridge to approach the posada.The exterior is also very beautiful and welcoming and there is very good parking right in front.The public areas are warmly furnished with many castle like antique pieces but the upper hallways are dark ,worn and need refurbishing. Our room was very clean with a spectacular view.
Pool was not heated which was disappointing.Did not do dinner there because was advised by others to eat elsewhere.Had a very good dinner in the square beside the posada at a little place called Rosa.Highly recommend staying here at this great location.

Room Tip: Ask for the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mafra, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel soars impressively as you drive into the square where there is plenty of parking, and if you have the legs you can get up into the tower where you will be rewarded by extensive views of the Alentejo. Our room was stately, clean, beautifully furnished and cool in the 35C heat, though the air conditioning rumbled a bit. The reception staff were very helpful and welcoming and generally everyone else was very accommodating, but you get the impression that austerity has cut into staff numbers. The one disappointment was the breakfast which was not up to the standard we expected from a luxury hotel, with kiddy cereals, aroma-only yogurts and fruit salad made with cooking apples. The croissants were great though. Overall, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a king-size bed. Ask for special rate for over-55's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafrense2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our third and last Pousada this trip, and we were glad we had saved it till last as it was the best.
We had a stunning view over the town and were woken each morning by fabulous sunrises.
Our room was spacious and was very well appointed, the staff were friendly and helpful and the pool area was clean and inviting, with more of those stunning views.
We found the town very pleasant and smart, with lots of places to stop for a coffee and watch the world go by.
The food at the Pousada was the average Pousada menu, and like most of the other residents we chose to eat a few steps away on the second evening.
We would return to this Pousada for sure

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tortoisetheterrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We wanted to take in a Pousada while traveling thru Portugal and this was a stellar choice. The castle is grand; furnishings, space, view, all that you need to feel like a king. The staff was kind and helpful. We stayed in the superior room with master bed. This had a green marble bathroom and its own annex in the little tower which had the coolest echo. The breakfast was amazing, and eating early morning in the courtyard shade was a treat. The town itself provided a joyous evening stroll with many historic sights. Nonetheless, I would love to see this place in private hands with a more modern take on the interior as it is a bit run down around the edges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elephantsh0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münchendorf
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Well, what are you expecting from a castle hotel? Excellent location, towering a hill, within medivial castle walls and inner castle city - all that is delivered. Huge lobby, huge bar, huge dining hall, stylish furniture and artwork everywhere, a nice court yard with posibility to dine or have breakfast outside was available as well. The castle garden owns a nice pool with pretty view to the city, the pool can be used without time limit. During daylight the castle tower can be accessed with tremendous 360° view. The lady at the front desk was acting very professional, providing a lot of hints about the city and the region and offering support for any activity. Until here I would give fabulous five points. The rooms are more medivial and a bit old fashioned. The bed was very good and the bed room (northern sided) needed no AC although the day temperatures outside were high. The bathroom is covered with typical regional white and pink marble stone. The service and quality of the restaurant was average only. It´s much better quality and more choice down in the village restaurants. If you like to dine within a stylish medivial castle hall almost alone you´re at the right place. Breakfast was according to average international hotel standard. So for a couple of days this hotel could offer a stylish and quiet stay. Ask for promotion and discounts - due to crisis the hotel seem not be very booked.
The region offers a lot of less known but very attractive medivial cities within intact city walls and restored medivial houses, like Marvao (my personal favourite) or Castelo de Vide. Even in high season those amazing places will never be crouded. The region is also known for some famous wineries or if you´re interested in older things you can explore some of the roman remainings (some roman bridges are still in use!) or almost 7000 year old neo-litic stone rings and menhirs.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with view to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beywinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights and this place is an incredible historic hotel overlooking the country. We stayed in Aug and it appeared empty. The room was OK, but it gave the feeling of being a little run down. The food in the restaurant was excellent good local cuisine. I think the issue with these Pousada hotels it that they are run by the government. They would do a lot better if they were professionally managed and provided a more internationally based booking system.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estremoz
10.3 mi away
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
475 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
0.3 mi away
Pateo dos Solares Charm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
16.6 mi away
Torre De Palma Wine Hotel - Design Hotels
23.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Monte da Provenca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel

Property: Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
Address: Largo Dom Dinis, Estremoz 7100-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Estremoz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Estremoz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada of Estremoz is situated in a privileged place, as is the Castle Estremoz. It is an authentic museum which has a range of antic furniture, wall tapestries, iron decorative pieces and porcelain from other times. D. Dinis ordered the construction of this building for his wife the queen Santa Isabel, which has given its name to the Pousada. Placed in the old city, this was the stage of battles, love and treason. This luxury hotel in Estremoz offers from its gardens and pool, a magnificent panoramic view of Estremoz and the Alentejo plain. Guests can enjoy a glass of regional wine in the castle's spacious dining room or enjoy a game of pool in the Pousada de Estremoz' games room. Nearby activities include fishing, guided countryside treks and bicycle rides. The Pousada de Estremoz has free local parking, at 1.2 Km from the Estremoz railway station and 17.3 Km from the Evora Monte Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel Hotel Estremoz
Pousada De Hotel Estremoz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing